We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving course, not so great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great diving course, not so great room”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We arrived at Koh Tao wanting to do some diving, so on the boat started talking with a guy from Ban's who took us there. On the outside the hotel looks very very nice and the reception staff gave us a warm welcome at first. Basically we got a basic fan room for free with the Open water course for 4 nights (normally 500 baht), but we upgraded to an A/C room for an extra 500. This is in total 1000B, so about 25€ which is definitely not cheap for Thailand! Unfortunately the room wasn't very good value for that money. It was a small, old room, not really well maintained... There must be some newer parts in the hotel, so definitely ask to see your room first before you get the key. After the course we asked if we could stay an extra night (paid in full of course), but they replied very arrogantly that they were fully booked, which I also heard them say to other customers. (Someone came in asking for a triple room, to which they replied they only had one for 2500 or 3500 B without even looking at that customer). So all's good when you're diving with them but otherwise...

About the diving course then: felt very comfortable, they had very nice class rooms, some good training pools, equipment looked well maintained. We had a Dutch speaking instructor, which is in a way very reassuring to be able to learn this in your own language. He was definitely professional and not rushing things. We were in a group of 6 which is a good size I think to learn your diving

Conclusion: excellent diving course and nice dives, not very happy about the rooms though.

Room Tip: See your room before you book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    513
    209
    120
    110
See reviews for
105
737
413
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Ban's has some great rooms, however it is excessively priced. The staff really don't give a stuff about their guests - there are 1000's of people coming through their resort everyday and you're just one of those many people. Don't expect a greating at reception or in the dive shop.

Ko Tao overall is beautiful, but there is really a lack of good quality accommodation, unfortunately if you want a nice clean room, you may have to pay through your nose... a payment that will go towards a bunch of people who really don't care about the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great resort if you want to get your padi. The two pools were packed with divers all the time. No room enough for swimming. Beware of that. Don't go to koh tao if you are a certified diver. The dives were very disappointing. Nothing to see there. Overall it was a great vacation. Nice staff and a great (family)room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groningen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

In 2006 i went to this place for my first dive instructions, four years later i went back together with my girlfreind.
When we arrived with the Lomprayah the pick up truck was waiting for us to bring us to the hotel. At the hotel we were welkomed very enthousiatic en we booked our dive and hotel en we could change the courses to fit it for us both.
Since 2006 they build a extra pool en new villa's. We took an new villa with an fantastic view over the bay, ik is great waking u in the morning with such a view.
The dive course is good, they really take care of you and give good safety instructions.

At the restaurant you can eat good but we only took the brakfast here becourse we liked to walk the boulevard en eat in other restaurants.

We liked the fruitshakes! especially when you return from a dive the cool fruitshake nothing is nicer.

Room Tip: you get a big discount on your room when booking a dive course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I was a big dissapointed to noticed that only diving is the most important bussiness at Bans, boats are completely full with students, dive sites are over crowed, pools should be called diving instruction pools, since no swimming is possible because they are fully occupied with diving instructors and students. If you want to dive in combination with relaxing, sunbathing and swimming by the pool , than Bans is not your resort. cerificationv

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansvanheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I saw this resort whilst researching for hotels, and I remember going to it last year to get my PADI open water.

I had a good time here, I went just two days after the full moon festival and it was full of backpackers and young college students - I felt a little out of place.

Getting there was a bit of an adventure, went from the airport transit bus to ferry and then ferry to island. Geez, it was tough but finally made it after a bumby ride in a ute from the ferry stop to Bans Diving resort.

I stayed in the newly renovated section, the walk up the hill was annoying but at least it was not shared accomodation and had a/c plus hot water.

I had a good time and it was relaxing and I would recommend others - just the laid back sunshine and beach atmosphere made it all. The dive and classroom training, accomodation and food is so so but what do you expect when your paying a fraction of the price to get your PADI license?

Overall, it was a good break and I want to go back to get my Advanced license!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreignerInSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed in Ban's while we were doing our PADI (Open Water) and were very happy with the experience. This is one of the places where the PADI is cheapest in South East Asia (around 220 euros per person), and the accommodation is included. We stayed in nice clean room, with AC and satellite TV. All the instructors are very professional and you always feel safe. The people who run the place are extremely professional and helped us to enjoy our stay.
Location is good, next to restaurants and a nice beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing