We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Absolutely fanstastic experience overall, after never having dived before we decided to give Bans a try after reading some of the reviews and so glad we did! We started our Open Water course with 3 other couples and our instructor Anthony, who I cant recommend enough! He is hilarious and made our diving what it was - lord of the sea! We went on to do our Advanced and will definitely be returning! A real high point of our trip through Asia. Resort is beautiful but be sure to eat in some of the restaurants down the yellow brick road such as Soiree cottage. Oh and if you want a resort with a pool for relaxation - dont stay at a dive resort!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chlo525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    502
    202
    118
    109
See reviews for
96
720
409
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Even that Koh Tao is quite an active island, it wasn't easy to find any yoga places there...One of them is at Ban's. I have to say was quite impressed! The place is enormously beautiful with a great instructor. Started each of my day with a yoga class and was fully energized for the rest of the day.
Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Most organized, geared for divers with variety of dive masters to cater to all different nationalities. Best of all huge discount on diving package when staying at the hotel. 2 Dives including equipment and Drinks, biscuits for ZAR400-00. Getting to Koh Tao on slow boat is a mission as thousands of backpackers having the same idea. But alternative is speed boat. Hotel run by 2 sisters for 18 years. We were upgraded at no extra cost when complained about being to close to restaurant where music and partying went on until early morning hours. Bans accommodation varies from diver room, very basic and cheap to 4 star villa. Ali the dive instructor from USA patiently answered all questions and very relaxed with divers who could not equalize. To be commended. Loved the dive one of the best diving experiences yet. We will definitely be going back for a longer period. Ko Tao open all year round with April and May being the warmest months. Divers/backpackers Paradise

Room Tip: Cheaper room down by main beach and diving center. Bathroom just has a shower and no curtain, so ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Rooms very nice , but staff not very helpful with one question i had or very friendly for that matter ... Also if you plan on using one of the 2 pools for relaxation forget about it as most of the time there is divers in the pool under instruction ... But if this don't bother you then its a good place to stay .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Recently myself & friend done our Open water diving course then went onto do our Advanced Open water. Our instructor John O'Brien (lil John) was fantastic! It was nice to have such a kind & understanding instructor as at times we were nervous & he totally put us at ease.

The resort is conveniently situated, with short walk to a gorgeous beach and a variety of bars & restaurants. The staff are very helpful & friendly.
Ban's is a great place to gain your PADI,can't reccomend it more!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle-308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

this place is pretty cool. We dived with their 'sister' diving company called Sunshine Divers, and i liked this approach as it seemed we had smaller groups. I could be wrong though. This also meant we got a discount on the room. We went to check into the room, they were full for those basic rooms, so we got upgraded to the 'deluxe' room. This was cool obviously, it was up on the hill and had an amazing bathroom and i think it had this private sauna room, but i never used it. As fancy as it was we woke up to see this big Roach on the wall, lol.

2nd night we bumped down to a standard air con room, nothing special. still got the discount from diving with Sunshine. Staff was fine and friendly. Staff in Thailand is never hyper customer service style in my experience anyway. but these folks were nice enough.

Cool bar and restaurant. AMAZING fire spinning show after 9 PM. I can't imagine a fire show being better than these guys and i saw a few different examples. If your room is near the bar you will hear it....it's a bar. And there is kind of a 'Main drag' street/path that is near the restaurant so you will hear that too. Try and get a room up by the pool (or try and get upgraded;)

one complaint is the not free wi fi. Can't help but "moan" about this as i use it a lot and places all over had free Wi Fi...some hotels just choose to still charge. i would say 30% of my hotels in Thailand still charged for wi fi. minor complaint i suppose.

I would stay here again and wish i was there again right now watching the fire show.

Room Tip: choose a room up from the bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priekule, Lithuania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are not divers, but stayed at this wonderful place during our holiday in Koh Tao. Staff and service was very good.
They offer daily yoga classes for 400 Bht per hour on the hillside place with a stunning view over the ocean. Yoga was not very good, I've had much better and cheaper classes before. Well, I understand this is divers' place not yogis' :)
In general everything was good except the reception area which was never clean though they require to take off the shoes before entering. I did not feel myself ok without my shoes on the dirty floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing