We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diving course in Ban's Koh Tao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

it was amazing! the instructor Shay Nevo was really good and caring!
would recommend everyone to go take there diving course there and in particular with Shay!
the hotel and hotel rest was really good to!

Room Tip: deluxe pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ori275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights, and were very disappointed when we arrived at the resort. According to the pictures on the ad the resort looked really nice, but it was nothing like that. It appears that the pictures in the ad is from when the resort opened in -93. We did not get a warm welcome, and the reception was cluttered and noisy. Our room was far away from everything, but still a nice view. The breakast at Darawan Restaurant was poor and not very good, so we skipped it the last day. Waiters did not bother to say hello, and was just bored at work. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, whilst visiting Koh Tao. Great location about 50 yards from the beach. The room was nice and clean. Bathroom was a little dirty. Wifi was great so was the accommodation by the side of the pool. The restaurant was great, nice food but staff could do with a bit of training. Near nightlife and shops which was good for me. Room was cleaned every morning which was good service plus the hotel staff were very helpful. Would love to come and stay here again when I come back on my travels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpiefan1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The diving was incredible, we did our PADI open water and then went on to do our advanced with Josh Sparkes. He was really friendly and knowledgeable, request him as your instructor if possible.

The courses on the island are pretty much all the same price, and most give you free accomodation too. We were pretty dissapointed with our room, it was dirty and when we used the water there was a horrible smell coming from it, but it was free so cant complain.

Make sure you ask for a smaller group too as its far better, we went from a group of 10 to a group of 3 after requesting it and it was so much better. Far more personal, and you get to see a lot more rather than just swimming around following a big group.

The location was good, on the main beach and they do a free pick up and drop off service to and from the pier, if you book a transfer at the reception which we did, and again they seem to be all the same price around the island.

Food at the resturant was good, the service was a joke though. You literally have to shout at them to get their attention. Majority of them are asleep, and the ones who are awake are playing on their phones.

Would reccomend it though and probably will be back at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception as its a LONG walk up that hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomWRDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I came here 5 years ago for the very first time and I came back allready 3 times. Biggest Dive Center in the world but it doesnt feel that way. Its very relaxt and familiar but still VERY professional. The restaurant is ok but not he best arround. Rooms are nice and clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have rooms on lower and upper road. Try to get a room on lower road. Otherwise its a far walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a very professionally run dive centre.
This is the largest dive centre in Koh Tao, there was a taxi from Bans waiting to pick up new customers from the pier on arrival.
The rooms here are OK. We chose a fan room, which in hindsight was maybe a mistake, these rooms get really hot, but this was free with the Open water course - have to pay extra for AC (I recommend doing this).
Very good location in the middle of everything, very good staff, and nice lobby area. Wifi worked most of the time in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The best place I could have learnt to dive at,the people were friendly and helpful and the diving was one of the best things I've ever done. Our instructor Josh Sparks was very knowledgeable and an around good sort. Will be going back to do my dive masters in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W109SBericc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Address: | Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by a local family Ban’s Diving Resort has a very special family oriented hospitality that keeps customers coming back year after year. Within our resort are all the amenities needed to make your holiday on Koh Tao both comfortable and fun. Our facilities include a dive center, beach front restaurant, Darawan Restaurant, spa and hair salon, 24 hour mini mart, 4 swimming pools, and the Fish Bowl bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing