We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing experience, enhanced by Lucy & Bridget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ban's Diving Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly amazing experience, enhanced by Lucy & Bridget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner at Bans for 6 nights on a great recommendation from a friend - we were not disappointed!

We booked the hilltop suite, although on arrival we were actually shown a deluxe suite instead, but this was quickly rectified. The room was lovely - big, clean and a huge balcony overlooking the sea where you can see the sunset. The only issue with the room was the water and electricity going off a few times due to shortages on the island, again rectified within 10minutes.

We both did the open water and adventure diving courses; we had Lucy a senior instructor and Bridget who was helping as a diving assistant. Both were absolutely fantastic and made it such an amazing experience.

Lucy has a very calming effect as she teaches which puts you at ease straight away and makes the diving so much more enjoyable, her knowledge of the dive sites is vast and she is just generally a pleasure to be around. Bridget was also great fun and extremely helpful. Bans is lucky to have these two members of staff, they really did make our trip!!

Thank you so much, Will & Toni x

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    472
    193
    112
    102
See reviews for
92
670
385
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The garden is beautiful and location is good. But the stuff is not nice, aunts in the room, smell of sewage every where ( we changed room twice), the restaurant is slow. Not recommended at all to all kind of vacation

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moran o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had an incredible time at Ban's and on Koh Tao! The island is amazing, and Ban's is situated right in the middle of the main strip. The rooms are clean, spacious, modern, and very reasonably priced. We stayed in a bungalow on the beach our first two nights, then moved into a room in their main hotel area when another friend arrived. We stayed in a room with two twin beds, no AC but a fan, and the staff brought a twin mattress in for our third friend.

We all took the intro open water scuba diving class, 3 days long, which was SO much fun. Instructor Hampus Wickland. Then we did one fun dive once we finished the course. We got to hang out with a turtle underwater as he ate his lunch. The divemasters tend to rotate, so it will probably be a whole new crop, but they were all fun and safety is a priority. I really had one of the best experiences of my life here. A must go.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Ban's for about a week in December 2013 with a friend and booked the Advanced Open Water course, with which you get a standard fan room included in the price. Do yourself a favour and pay the £13 or so extra a night and get an air con room. My friend described the fan room as "a prison cell" and he wasn't far off. On the other hand, the air con room was pretty comfortable. Hot shower, decent beds, balcony, daily housekeeping and, as simple as it sounds, a cupboard made this room really worth the money. But if you're just looking for somewhere to collapse at night then the fan room would probably do the trick. The diving at Ban's is also really great. All the instructors i met were really friendly, speak a wide array of languages and seem to know their salt. The restaurant was pretty decent too (although they're all much of a muchness to be honest) and the new Fishbowl bar at the end of the restaurant was one of the better bars along this stretch of beach. It is also worth pointing out that Ban's is probably one of the best value dive resorts on the island. Definitely worth checking out if you're diving in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I chose this resort because I wanted to learn diving, and it turned out to be the biggest mistake ever. It is incredibly noisy here, very poor soundproof so every time someone close their own door you can hear it. The worst part is, the resort is only 20 meters away from many beach bars,(totally 3 or 4 of them) where they have loud crazy party with clubbing music almost every night until 2-3am! It would be great if you're a party animal but if you're trying to get some sleep, sorry but you have to wait until those party animals finish their party! But the nightmare doesn't just end there, I stayed here for one week, and 5 out of 6 nights I was woken up by drunk people at about 4 or 5am. They're so drunk and excited that they don't care if other people are sleeping or not. So they'd talk and laugh out loud together as if they were the only guests at the resort. Last night a guy even tried to break into his own door (apparently his buddy was wasted inside the room so couldn't hear him), the "bom bom bom" sound started form 4:00am, then we tried to tell that moron to get the key from the reception cuz he's waking everyone else up (we indeed heard from several rooms around "silence" "enough" etc.). He stopped for 20 minutes then started bumping very hard on his door again. Finally stopped at 5am when his roommate came back also totally drunk from his party (he was not even in the room!! So much for all the banging).
The rooms are basically clean but seriously, if you want to get at least a few hours of sleep, DO NOT COME HERE. It will absolutely ruin your vacation. Again, if you're a party animal, this is the place for you, but if you're not, this will be the nightmare of your vacation cuz not only you have to deal with those never-ending parties with super loud music every night, but also the drunk party animals who doesn't respect others at all. The diving course was great so if you wanna learn diving with them, choose another resort and you can still take their courses.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99Annina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Everything else on the Island was full so we stayed her for one night, and it was clean and ok, but it was loud music the whole night and we didnt get any sleep. Terrible! Would never stay here again. Can just imagine how awfull it must be to stay her, not get any sleep, and get up at 05.45 in the morning to dive. Does not seem safe or nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I wouldn't stay here just for accommodation, but it is a perfect spot for scuba diving. Equipments are in good condition and everything related to scuba diving is working well. Atmosphere was relaxed and joyful, people in all ages stay here. At least some diving resorts at Sairee Beach/Koh Tao are mainly full of young people, which means totally different atmosphere (and more parties and noise - sure?). I liked it here and ended up to finish OW and AOW courses, starting from zero. I was instructed by Pekka Heiskanen and I cannot imagine a better instructor! You are so lucky, if you get him as your instructor. He is trustful, calm and simply very good at what he is doing - and funny. :)

According my experiences after staying at Ban's for six nights in three different rooms (in the area between the main road and beach road), the problems of Ban's are in accommodation. They have plumbing problems, that are quite common in Southeast Asia though, but during my long trip those problems were the worst at here. Rooms with air-condition are nice and clean, but basic rooms with fan are pretty terrible - at least during a monsoon season. First, everything in room was "outdated", floors were dirty, holes in the curtains and room smelled terrible. The same smell was in the bed sheets and after one night in all my clothes and other stuff. Maybe the smell is gone during the dry season? I also faced some problems with fans, air-condition and plugs. I recommend to pay extra and stay at room with air-condition. All common places were clean and nice.

Anyway, with all problems in accommodation, I would recommend Ban's diving resort for scuba diving and I hope I'll be back there some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing