We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we had been here for learning 'AOW' and we're very satisfy with the all service i.e. room, food, transfer from pier-hotel-pier and also the 'AOW' class that Ban's Diving provided us the very experience instructor. We had a very most happiness time here.

Room Tip: I suggest to get 'top hill room' number 203-204, this room can see panorama view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsaleesung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Beside from the diving centre (wich is great and works efficient) the rooms are not that great. We had the 600 bath room and got it for free during our divecourse, which is great, but the 600 is a bit overcharge for the quality you get. The rooms were basic but clean. The one we had, was a bit uphill and 5min walk to the beach. The worst thing about the room was the lack of hot water. With so much money going around in Ko Tao and Bans, a cold shower is a shame. You can sleep cheaper, and if you don't dive with Bans, I suggest you book at an other place.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had a wonderful experience taking our dive courses at Ban's. The instructors were great at teaching diving and fun to hang out with after the day's activities. The rooms that come with the program aren't too flash. We upgraded to an air con room on two separate occasions, during our two different stays and they still weren't that great. However, they were cheap and we didn't spend much time in the room in Koh Tao anyways. The garden view rooms looked much better but didn't appeal to us based on the price difference and our evaluation of how much time we'd be spending in the room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rutty6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a 1 star course of diving at Ban's. Our instructor was David Cohen, and honestly, we couldn't ask for a better instructor!

He was gentle, funny, good teacher, very patient and professional. We were in our honeymoon, and it was definitely the highlight of our 1 month vacation, a lot of it thanks to David!

We were a group of four people, all Israelis, and he speaks Hebrew as well so it was awesome. If you want to take the course in English, he teaches English groups as well so go for it!

Totally recommended!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was an ok place to stay. It's a nicely decorated resort and the rooms are clean and simple. The staff were really friendly and helpful in booking our rooms last minute in high season. Its worth staying there if your going to dive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Overall- the resort is only ok for the price you pay in high season. Decent rooms, good breakfast but long check-in. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic and athentic Thai place- this is definitely not the place. It reminds more a timeshare in Florida than a Thai hotel. Nothing wrong with it though. Our room was located good 10 minutes walk away from the reception on a very steep hill. Keep that in mind if you have any mobility problems.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel_Addict365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Ban's for 4 nights in December. The room was free for each night that we stayed, as long as we dived. The rooms were pretty bog standard - toilet, sink, shower combo, balcony, limited furnishings, safe, comfy bed, noisy air-con (700 baht per night extra) but that didn't bother us.
The service was quite good, we were upgraded to an amazing room for our first night as they were fully booked. The front desk were friendly, maybe a little uninformed. The manager who sits on the left side of the desk, knew her stuff.
The diving instructors were super - Hannah, Ryan, and Santi. They were extremely helpful, friendly, fun and attentive. They were great at creating an enjoyable and happy group atmosphere. As it turned out, diving didn't agree with me on one of the days so I didn't get my PADI, however, Ryan was good enough to offer to take me out the next morning, one on one, at no extra cost, if I wished to do so. I didn't in the end but I was taken aback at his generous offer. The guys have a genuine and deep passion for diving and want students to take this away with them too.
The location was perfect, within a short walking distance to all the best beach restaurants and bars. The Fishbowl bar, connected to Bans had a party atmosphere, did great cocktails and the fireshows that people joined in with made for an entertaining evening.
A couple of negatives - the two advertised pools can't really be used by sunbathers at any time as they are constantly in use by people learning to dive. The restaurant food is ok but I wouldn't recommend, lunchtime is a little manic so avoid as it takes a long time for standard orders. Take a 5 minute walk in either direction to a street stall for some tastier, cheaper and faster food.
Overall, a great location, great instructors, well priced for back packers (dived in Ko Phangan a couple of days later and was FIVE times the cost). Would be a great place for anyone learning to dive.

Room Tip: Try and get one further away from the beach - i.e. further from the noise. Get an aircon room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Address: | Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £30 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by a local family Ban’s Diving Resort has a very special family oriented hospitality that keeps customers coming back year after year. Within our resort are all the amenities needed to make your holiday on Koh Tao both comfortable and fun. Our facilities include a dive center, beach front restaurant, Darawan Restaurant, spa and hair salon, 24 hour mini mart, 4 swimming pools, and the Fish Bowl bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing