We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an really awful stay, can't understand why people say this is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just an really awful stay, can't understand why people say this is nice”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We got recommend this resort, so we paid over the odds. But they said how nice it was, do we didn't mind. Once we got there no-one helped us with anything, there is a huge hill you have to clime up and down to get anywhere. The rooms where not nice at all, I got bitten so many time. The rooms are all in gardens and the smell of what they use to fertilise the plans just smells like sewage. When eating in the restaurant you have to ask fir menus, then go ask them to take your Oder. They just look at you and walk away. I have been traveling over a year now and never had service like this. The pool it shows you on flyer isn't right at all. It's dirty no beds and they use it for the diving, so forget laying round the nice pool. It doesn't exist. Just awful place... If you are bad on you legs or wanting a nice pool & room. Stay away

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    513
    209
    120
    110
See reviews for
105
737
413
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Every day they open a course, me and my friend did out adv. open water here.
it was nice to do it in our mother language (Hebrew) with an Israeli instructor.
but the class was crude with about 12 student (2 instructors)
although it was professional and we had a good time.(we had a nice video in the end)
the room was very basic,(hill top) but you get what you paid for (3000b)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while doing a diving course. The fan room is free when you do the course. It is clean and facilities are very good, with a nice restaurant, just by the beach. Forget about using the pool though as it is used for the diving courses. Location is great just in the middle of all the action. Staff is helpfull and they can arrange your ferry transportation. Averall it was a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Dive master for the discover scuba course I did was great - I was really nervous and he stayed beside me through out the whole dive we did checking I was OK and finding cool things to show me. The diving instructor and assistant instructor were very confident and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_ellie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our little bit of luxury in our two week trip to Thailand. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer! This is a gorgeous hotel resort on the beach, with swimming pools, restaurants, shops, a great bar area with a fantastic live band! The rooms were fab- really clean and air conditioned. We were here for Songkram- Thai new year- so got involved with the giant water fights around the resort and local town. Great for people of all ages- there were lots of young people as well as families with young children- there is something for everyone. I would definitely go back here to explore koh Tao further and try the amazing diving facilities!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The front desk staff were a bit rude, and the rooms were meager at best. I am a backpacker, so I've seen a lot worse.

That said, the diving instruction was absolutely phenomenal! Ask for Mario! I went with the intent to get my open water diving certification only, but I enjoyed it so much that I stayed on to get my advanced open water. I would have probably stayed all the way thru my divemasters if I didn't have a prebooked flight to catch. As I continued my travels I used my certification several times from SE Asia to Australia and Europe, and everywhere I went I was definitely one of the best trained divers in my group.

Ban's also has one of the best beach bars on the island, for those who are into the night scene.

Room Tip: The diving instruction at Ban's make it well worth the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen_Wanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It was craziness from the get go. Everyone is different and if you like that, awesome, this place is for you. But if you want a more relaxed feel, go somewhere else. We didn't book any courses with them, so I can not comment about their instructors. From our first impression we stayed one night with them in their cheap/ not very nice accommodation and left in the morning for our new dive school. We went down the road to a smaller dive school and had a ball. We stayed longer than expected doing more courses. It looked like a great place to meet people. It was located in the busy club/bar section so you are in the heart of it. Just a bit to full on for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOMADasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing