We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn how to apologise ”
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Learn how to apologise ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile


I have such mixed feelings about this place. Upon arrival they didn't have any of the details of our booking. Instead of apologising about clearly a mistake on their behalf (as the payment for the room here had already been taken) they simply were unhelpful and told me I need to get the reservation details... Lots of things I needed to do. But during this time my phone and laptop had died which made it really difficult to retrieve the details I expected them to have. In the end we were given a room which was an apparent upgrade from the one we booked but it was for one night only and we then had to move rooms again. I was seriously unimpressed. The resort seemed dead and they wanted us to switch and change rooms, pack and unpack. No apology was given and we were made to feel a huge inconvenience.

Facilities are pristine rooms are beautiful. We actually preferred our original booked room over the upgraded room. The garden view villa is much more spacious than the sea view villa with a much easier layout. Rooms were very pleasant during the day. But by night not very user friendly... They have no 'main' light - so it's impossible to do anything aside from create a romantic mood. Packing the night before in the dark was a nightmare. The gardens are also dotted with lots of miniature ponds which literally attract hundreds of VERY NOISY frogs. The ponds look nice but prevented us from getting any sleep. The wifi was also quite frustrating. It was advertised as having Wifi and for the cash you'd expected so. Literally Wifi was only available at the reception and half of the restaurant. Not throughout the resort.

It's a nice resort but honestly it's quite far away from the main beach and town. Service is hit and miss. Although the guys in the restaurant very attentive and friendly - front desk. Not so much. We had high expectations here. Which just weren't met.

An apology would have gone a long way.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    40
    30
    45
See reviews for
16
135
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is little far from main noise of Sairee beach area but the rooms are beautifully desiged, closer to the sea and you can see very good view of the sea from your room. Best place for relaxing times are either in swimming pool or at the reception area, feeling the cool breeze and view of the sea. the staffs are friendly and nice, the breakfast is very good and is buffet system.

the only problem was the AC of our room which was very noisy. We reported it to the management and hope next traveller won't have to suffer noise of AC

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabingrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived on 13th June 2014. This was the last 3 days of our 3 week honeymoon. 2 nights and 3 days of relaxation and chilling before back to the UK.
On arrival we were both shattered from Full Moon party and were grateful for a comfy bed. We slept for 2 hours in the afternoon and when waking realised the air con wasn't working. We reported this as the weather was extremely humid and uncomfortable. Nothing was done and we were told that the electricity was bad on the island. That was it. No resolution or offer of any help. Basically, deal with it.
Needless to say, we had an absolutely awful nights sleep. We had stayed in accom that was £7 a night the week before and it was more comfortable and we slept better.
The following morning we went to breakfast and I complained about the the a/c again. Having showered in the morning it was apparent that the shower leaked very badly, there was a large any infestation and we had lizard poo all over our bathroom. There was also questionable stains on the curtains and from 8am there was workman using electric tools that could be heard throughout the complex. Basically, no peace and quiet could be found.
Breakfast was..... OK and I use this term very loosely. There was a huge selection of things to eat but none of it was to the standard I would except. The hot stuff was warm, at very best and the bread was stale. We had to ask for coffee.
All the staff we very pleasant in the restaurant area but seemed to have little training and needed direction on everything.
When we complained again we were told that there was nothing we could do. No apology or offer of resolution.
There was another group also complaining and they checked out early due to the hotel not being as described. They offered them and us an upgrade and they responded as we did. "We don't want an upgrade, we simply want what was promised when we booked"
We asked for a refund and checked out. Getting a refund for the night that we hadn't even stayed wasn't easy and the lay kept saying that the owner (who wasn't around and didn't speak English) said we couldn't have a refund. When I asked why based in the complaints we had, she said she would refund the night we haven't stayed.
I was completely furious at the complete lack of respect, professionalism and customer service at this hotel, which seemed to be a nice place on first arrival.
The worst accom I have stayed in and it was one of the most expensive. DO NOT STAY HERE. There are much nice places on the beach area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkkate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

And we were absolutely blown away.

We spent new year here, had a beautiful meal on the terrace overlooking the ocean and stayed for a few days. The lodges are amazing, one of my favourite places in the world, and I've done a bit of travelling.

Do yourself a favour and book this if you ever go to Koh Tao, you won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were given complimentary drinks as we waited for our details to be finalised. As we arrived to our room they noticed that a bird had poo'd on our bed but they dealt with it very quickly and changed all sheets immediately. There was a nice decking area that looked out to the sea. There was a lovely pool with lots of places to sit. Staff were extremely helpful and would always greet you warmly when passing. A good range of food for the complimentary breakfast, cooking eggs when requested. Overall a very good stay, good value for money, although slightly out of the way and you would probably require a motorbike if you wished to go into town frequently! Would come again though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel with a small but clean and beautiful infinity pool looking out over the trees to the sea. Very friendly staff at breakfast and who come to clean your room.
The hotel seems a little bit tired now, the wooden floorboards are all quite scratched and it could do with a lick of paint perhaps, but it felt clean and I was perfectly happy there!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stay one night during 19-20 April 2014 in Villas Garden (Villa 1) which is very peace and privacy. Room provide a standard facilities with a private bacony and you can see the sea view from the bacony even you booked Villa garden view.

The hotel staffs is very helpful (i think most of them are Burmese but could communicate both Thai and Eng) so we did not have any trouble in communication during stay. Since the hotel is a bit far from Sairee center so we decided to have dinner at hotel restaurant. Really enjoy the sunset view but the taste of food is average and quite expensive (European food is not available in the menu) so we just had a simply Thai food. Breakfast is average.

Pros -There is free shuttle service from/to Mae Had Pier -Thipwimarn Resort
- Good room with reasonable price
- Good location with a panorama sea view

Cons -No European food
- Eletric power dropout 2 times at night but only 1-2 mins which is acceptable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liew_sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Property: Thipwimarn Resort
Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing