We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and disappointing with fabulous views!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing with fabulous views!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We were really excited about this part of our trip- Thipwimarn was to be the luxurious and decadent part of our backpacking honeymoon! We had booked the superior room for 7 nights and when we checked in the staff were great, the views from the main deck to die for and we couldnt wait to jump into the infinity pool. Our room, however was a complete disappointment- the room was tiny, tv tiny but the worst part was the bathroom flooded everytime we had a shower. We had little visitors (geckos etc) but that was to be expected given the surrounds. Given the price we were paying we decided we could do better at another resort down the road (and also be closer to the main st and not have to pay for a hotel taxi everytime) and approached staff. They were very polite but adamant about no refunds on our deposit so we were just going to cut our losses and leave anyway, when the manager stepped in and offered us the seaview studio for the same rate- which we jumped at. The room was a vast improvement but overall, i didn't feel the rooms themselves justified the rates- we were essentially paying for the view. The bathroom was separate to the room itself but facilities modern and the room itself was nice. The restaurant food is amazing but exxy for Ko Tao prices and after the episode with the room the staff were sullen and not so friendly. Ah well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go_team_bliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    49
    36
    30
    41
See reviews for
15
130
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Our room (honeymoon) was secluded and private with a beautiful view of the ocean. The view is stunning & the total resort has an "eco friendly" feeling with great service. The food in the restaurants was all delicious; staffs were impeccable and so friendly. The scenery from the hotel was breath taking and the place was so beautiful. The hotel does not have a beach front because it is located on a cliff top. However, the spectacular views from the swimming pool more than makes up for a beach front. I highly recommend this place for couples seeking a quiet getaway with plenty of privacy and breath taking views.

  • Liked — Breath taking scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

Pros:
- Wonderfully quiet because it is away from the main drag on Sairee beach and yet fairly close to town
- Lovely breakfasts with a view of the surrounding reefs
- Staff are delightfully pleasant, with the exception of one receptionist but most likely due to language difficulties

Downside:
- Unless you have a motorbike rental, the hills and the heat make it difficult to go back and forth from town
- Steps, steps, steps everywhere and they are steep! Thankfully you have lovely staff to help with luggage otherwise it is almost treacherous if you have any luggage of size.
- Power sometimes erratic which leaves lights and A/C flickering a lot during the night
- Having to trade-off between water pressure v. temperature when it comes to the shower

Generally great idea but not particularly well planned and starting to look a little run-down

  • Liked — Tranquil and quiet
  • Disliked — All the steep steps
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DFWTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

I stayed in this hotel in May 2008.
It is a very nice hideaway in the jungle.

We stayed for the first night in their new boutique rooms, which is impressive !
Big bed, flat screen, fully working/powerful AC, astonish seeview
After, we stayed in their honeymoon room.
We had a nice terrass with our own sunbeds.
The room was nice as well (TV DVD player)
The only thing is that the bathroom was outside of the room, and when it is very dark at night with a storm, it is not great.
And the bathroom, is not up to the other hotel commodities.
It is a little old and as it is not properly closed, and there might be some bugs in it.
But overall, it was fair and clean.
And this island is pretty wild anyway.

The sea is not easily accessible (150 steps) and you would need a vehicle to go to Sairee where the restaurants are.

The restaurant of the hotel is wonderful and the service their is good.
The girls from the reception are less friendly, unfortunatly.
Both thaï and occidental food are very good... and cheap for this kind of high class hotel (2 to 4 euros for a main dish)
It is so relaxing to have lunch there with this wonderful view on the beach in between session at the swimming pool.

Last but not least, the swimming pool is great ! Like on the pictures !
It is small but beautiful, and anyway, it is never crowded.
The only drawback is that you don't have much sun around the pool because of too many trees.

To go to the enterteining places (mainly around sairee beach) you can easily rent a moped (around 4€ a day). It would take 3 minutes. So not very anoying.
But far better than those crappy bungalow on Sairee beach !
Restaurant on Sairee beach are ok, but don't go to the Mexican restaurant recommend by the lonely planet, on the main road.
It is aweful !

Overall, it is a very nice, clean and remantic small hotel that I would recommend.

Enjoy your stay !

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The bugs, mosquitos
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnouckParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

Wonderful place... we went to ko tao in our honeymoon trip and when we were planning our trip we found this island and this hotel... I strongly recomended it... we were before at Ko Samui and then here.... what can I say? Good room (not a five stars hotel, i have to say, but really special one), wonderful restaurant, services, swimming pool... but the most special thing i can remember is the restaurant: we had dinner every day at the hotel... really thai food, good price, and my husband fished and they cooked it for us... wonderful coctails at night! i really recommed this place!

  • Liked — being alone in the jungle
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank exmba2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in early April and found the resort lovely. The restauant staff and most of the reception staff were very pleaseant.

We had mailed them posters to display in our son's room for his 30th birthday wich they had done and had decorated his room nicely for which we were very graeful.

However, an enjoyable stay was marred by what happened on our last day.

When it was time to be transferred to the ferry port, our luggage and that of our son's and his girlfriend's was placed on the back of the Hotel's truck and my husband and I were ushered into the front - on other occasions we had travelled on the back of the truck. (we were meeting our son and his girlfriend at the ferry port as they had been scuba diving).

Naively, we left all our luggage, including hand luggage, on the back of the truck. After a while, my husband remarked that it seemed to be taking a long time for the driver and his assistant to sort out the luggage. - it was virtually all on the back when we got into the cab.

At this point we became very anxious and on meeting up with our son and his girlfriend (wich was almost as soon as the driver had gone) my son's girlfriend found her purse,with 10,000 baht in, had gone missing from her hand luggage. (it was definately in the bag in the morning!) .

We phoned the hotel and the receptionist who came to see us was less than helpful and rather aggressive - blaming the fact that other people were about and could have taken it. The hand luggage had not left our sight all morning other than when it was on the back of the truck!

As we had to catch the last ferry to the next island we left without solving the mystery and felt very upset and let down by the resort staff.

Our advice to anyone else staying here is to have your hand luggage with you at all times.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

We had the best time. A view to die for, and extremly friendly and helpfull staff. They made our stay unforgetable.
There is currently being build some new buildings, and I wonder if it will keep its soul once the are ready.
Our room was clean, with A/C and hot water. Small and cossy
The resort is located secluded from the rest of the nearest town. A motorbike is recomended, but they are very cheap to get by.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kms_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#24 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Property: Thipwimarn Resort
Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing