We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT LUXURY DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We planned to stay in luxurious places in Koh Tao for the 1st three nights but I was really dissappointed with Thipwimarn. We spent 4000 baht the equivalent to £80 and I don't feel that it was worth it. We stayed in the superior room and it was really small. If you struggle getting up and down stairs then beware as the steps are steep and there's plenty of them. We only stayed for one night but a couple we met booked to stay for over a week. They wanted to leave after a couple of days and the hotel said they would charge them a fee even though the hotel wasn't busy!? Another couple there were on their honeymoon and thoroughly dissappointed too. There are still works going on next to the hotel so you can hear drills and it's really noisy by the pool.

The beach that the hotel has is tiny and not worth the walk down the many steps. When we got down there we thought it was round the corner, there was nothing there and we walked up the stairs of the neighbouring resort that's being built. I WAS THEN BITTEN BY A DOG!!! So off to the doctors, rabies jabs and I wasn't even allowed to go in the water after it was dressed. When the hotel is busy the food is ok but when it's quiet there is a limited option of choice.

My advice is look elsewhere if you want luxury and value for money ....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j9jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2010

The last email that we received prior to our arrival, from the booking agency that Thipwimarn uses via it’s website, assured us that the management of the resort would pospone construction until after our stay.
We arrived at night and were placed in a room approx. 5 m from the site. At 7.45 the next morning the first worker arrived. By 9 am the site was in full swing.
We felt that management was already aware of our feelings towards the construction and chose not to take it up with the staff because (a) they couldn’t stop it and (b) we were staying there for 5 nights and didn’t want any hostility from them.
The management of Thipwimarn feel that the sounds of drop saws, hammers and concrete mixers does not constitute as a “noise disturbance” and does not interfere in what would otherwise be a beautiful and peaceful resort.
We asked to be moved to another room not only to get some distance from the noise but the room that we were in (which was delux) was 75% bed. We moved to a Romance Suite which was much better but an additional 3000 THB per night, so it should be. Needless to say, if we were going pay this amount per night we would have stayed elsewhere.

The service at this resort is at very best, poor. The staff, who are very nice people, are inexperienced, untrained, unmanaged and possibly overworked.

Language differences makes it difficult for both the staff and the guests. From an emergency prospective this can be unsafe. When my husband tripped over one of the many rocks that protrude the paths and pool decking, I asked the receptionist for a first aid kit and she handed me batteries.
The pool is small and is no longer infinity. The trees around the pool have grown and block the view of the ocean.
Many of the other reviews have mentioned the stairs. Take notice of this. Unless you consider yourself to be fit - don’t stay here!
I cant recommend this resort. Thankfully it wasn’t our honeymoon or our splurge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The first thing that strikes you when you get to the resort is the uphill location. Traveling from the ferry terminal on a lorry can be quite an experience, be prepared for a bumpy ride!

The reception staff and drivers are all warm and accommodating,if you are a dog lover, you would love the adorable 7 dogs there (don't worry, they are clean, friendly and hardly bark, they won't bother you if you don't approach them)

There are plenty of steps for you to climb around this hilly resort but the breath taking view is worth it. I tried the boutique and romance suite, the view may be better at the romance suite but looking at the price, I would stick to the boutique suite for its oh-so comfortable bed. The free wi-fi is good too but don't forget to ask for the password from the reception, not sure if its available at all rooms.

The amenities are good and the rooms are clean and well kept. The infinity pool is gorgeous but what I like best is the quiet and relaxing ambiance of the place, if you are tired of the loud thumping music of the island with the many loud beer louts with bad tribal tattoos in bermudas and their sun burnt bleach blonde girlfriends hanging around.

Its not cheap but worth the price if you want to be kept well away from loud beer swigging college grads that occupy most of the island.

Be sure to enjoy their breakfast, not for the food but for the awesome view over looking the cliff.

I tip rather generously there as I find the staff very accommodating and warm. The location may be a little out of the way so you may have to call the hotel to come pick you up from the main town area and each ride is 50THBT per person. The hotel service is cheaper than the ones offered in town (don't bother bargaining with the local taxi drivers cos they all charge one fee). Just remember that its 150THBT per person after midnite for the ride back from town. The hotel's taxi service ends at 8.30pm.

Didn't try their spa services but do book in advance.

Overall, the view would keep me coming back for more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighthoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed for 2 nights.

The rooms we were given first were terrible, so small, the entrance door had no lock. Then they moved us in a big suite which we shared with our friend. That was excellent.

The restaurant service was very poor.

The view was very nice but you need to climb a lot of stairs from the rooms to the reception. With the heat and the humidity was unbearable.
However almost all hotels in Koh Tao are built in the same way. Stairs everywhere you go.

The hotel does not provide atmosphere to make you want to stay, no music at the restaurant.
The service in general was very poor
There is no beach to swim.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalicyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Our stay at Thipwimarn was our "splurge" for New Years and our final destination after an 11-day holiday throughThailand. We were impressed with the stunning views of the resort. Everything was waterview and the grounds were scenic and well maintained. We stayed in a Superior Room and were impressed with the room and the beautiful view. However, aside from the scenery, the hotel was a huge disappointment. Although we stayed at some remote locations throughout our trip, we never encountered as huge communication difficulties as we did at Thipwarmin. Eating at the restaurant was always an experience because the staff could not describe to us anything on the menu or answer any questions. Everything we asked for led to confusion and miscommunication from selecting an ice cream flavor for the banana split (apparantly it doesn't come with ice cream?) to a Jack Daniels on the rocks (try one piece of ice floating). We ordered dessert with one server only to be approached by another twenty minutes later to take our order...who then couldn't seem to understand when we had explained to him that we had already ordered. The entire restaurant seemed hopelessly disorganized likely due to the extreme communication difficulties. There was only one young girl at the front desk who spoke English well enough and she was brought in as our translator frequently--not something you would expect at a "luxury" resort. The staff was young and overworked (we saw the same servers for breakfast as we did for dinner). Service for the "compulsary" New Years Gala dinner was poor, slow and overpriced and mired in confusion. We were convinced that the same staff serving our meals was also running down to the beach to light off the fireworks for New Years. A wake-up call for one morning never took place, we called the spa to find out they were all booked for our entire stay...only to ask the front desk to recommend another spa in which they suddenly had openings for two people for 2 hour spa treatments that day. The New Years Gala dinner was compulsary for some and not for others. A lot of things about the resort made us very confused and we were not the only ones hugely frustrated and disappointed. Our room had no hot water which was what we had paid for but surprising considering such basic amentities were offered for free at all the budget accomodations we had stayed at before. Overall this resort had the feel of a place newly opened and inexperienced... although I don't believe that's the case. Aside from the gorgeous scenery, there is little positive things I can say about this resort. For this price, I would not stay here again. The scenery alone was not enough to win me over.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryblossom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Thipwimarn was a wonderful hotel for our honeymoon, a hundred times better than our original resort choice (which we walked out of after 1 day) and also a bit cheaper too.

We stayed in a beautiful traditional sea view villa half-way down the hill and had fantastic sunset views from our balcony where we sat with axe pillows while giant butterflies flew past. The grounds are like a well-tended botanic garden but on a very steep hill (lots of steps!) Every night we'd see bats and during the day there would be frogs and squirrels around the grounds - but never did we have trouble in our teak room with bugs and geckos.

The infinity pool, the excellent spa and the hammock area feel perched above heaven and are amazing places to return back from after a day out on the island. The reception terrace and the restaurant also have wonderful spots and the staff here are so kind and attentive that they more than anything make this feel 5 star. There are also some incredibly cute and well behaved dogs and rabbits here too!

The new rooms that aren't villas but in a very small condo set are now finished and don't impact at all on the ambiance. They look fantastic value for money considering the luxury and service of the resort, they were all booked-up too.

You need to be fit to stay here given the number of steep steps between rooms and reception and definitely if you're planning on taking the steps down to the sea to snorkel in the private shared small bay (which is reasonably good for fish and coral). I'd also recommend renting a motorcycle too as the resort is away from the rest of the island and Koh Tao is too hilly and hot for walking. Staff can easily help you with that. Of course, you'd have a great relaxing time if you never left. Dining at the restaurant at least one evening is a must.

The highlight of all highlights proved to be the buffet breakfast on the stunning terrace every morning. Lying back on axe pillows while ambient music played and being offered custom-cooked eggs to go with our dim sum, pancakes, toast, soups, salads and fresh fruits... no need for lunch after that, something really worth waking up for.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomEeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Went there after having read the reviews here on tripadvidor, we choosed this hotel, hoping to find a lovely place with high level and so.

The result was not that nice...
First we arrived in the early morning, so hungry, we wanted to have a breakfast. They served us but did not say how much it would cost...
Then, the bathroom was not in the same place, and this is not very practical especially in the dark (sunset is at around 6PM)
There was some work and our view was not that nice.
The beach is not there, it's 20 min walk from the ressort.
The swimming pool is small.
Everything is added to your bill.
If you want to change your mind and stay 2 days instead of 4, you have to pay a big amount of extra charge.
Then we broke the stuff were the shower gel was. They added it (big price) on the final list.

Well, to summarise, we did not appreciate much that place. We would have prefered to pay 1/4 of the price for something close to the beach...

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juyane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
327 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.8 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
551 reviews
2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £27 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing