We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful hotel”
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 19 December 2010

recently stayed at thipwimarn for 9 nights. found the hotel to be very quiet and secluded, nestled in the hills overlooking sairee beach.we stayed in a seaview room which although a little small was very clean and attractively furnished with a stunning view of the sea.be warned there are a load of steps to climb to get to your room. the staff were without exception, politeness personified and although language was occasionally a problem it was overcome very easily.the pool was absolutely stunning with views that are amazing. it is a little small but it is not a big hotel and it was not a problem.breakfast was very nice but the restaurant had a limited menu in the evening. getting to the hotel from the village(about1.25mile) was a little diffulcult if you didnt want to pay for a taxi(£6.50). mopeds were a good option if you were brave enough. food in village was varied, cheap and usually excellent. Just to finish the Thai people we encountered in Koh Tao were fantastic, very friendly and open, always willing to help. have fun

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

We (my husband and I) spent 4 days in this hotel (came from Samui) in Sea-view studio. When at home I booked this hotel and especially this kind of room because of romantic view and the whole atmosphere. So, on the whole it really corresponds:
- full of greenary
- romantic view of the room, (neighbouring a very cool salamandra in the hut for whom we turned on the lights at the balcony in the evenings to help in its hunting for insects), restaurant, etc.
- direct view of sunsets
- in the evenings it seems as if you are alone in the wild tropic forest with all its noises
- polite and friendly staff
- very good breakfasts
- free pick up from-to the pier
BUT - there is a number of "-" about which I would like to write - so that people be aware:
- there is no beach at all!!! first day just on arrival we descended the steps to the seashore - there was just a handful of dirty sand with different trash. A bit further there was some kind of deck with woody beach beds without matrasses and umbrellas. All in the direct sun, without any shadow (you cannot get from the staircase directly to this deck - only to walk a few steps in the sea with the water up the knees). So, nobody of course, there.
- The only thing you have to do - go to the swimming pool. It nests in the middle level of the hotel, very small; with only a few woody beach beds. Umbrellas are deadly fastened (you understand...)
- the hotel is situated along the mountain, to get from-to you should walk the staircase, quite abrupt - so, if you are senior people or have infants or some health problems I would highly do NOT recommend to stay here.
- the hotel is situated far from the main area (shopping, eating, rent, normal beaches, etc) - you should either walk ~ 30 minutes along a dusty sideroad without any pedestrians' pass or take a taxi which is expensive enough. We have taken a motobike for 2 days - the review please look beneath in the topic "Rent of motobike".
- all the Koh Tao hotels send their cars to pick you up from the pier (free of charge). The only thing you should do - to inform the reception beforehand when you would arrive. We were the only people to come to this hotel with that ferry - we were not met (though we had been in correspondence with reception girls and they had assured me that we would be met). I had to find a guy from booking shop whom I could explain what I wanted(Thai people even if they speak any English, are generally hardly understandable-moreover by phone). He called by my phone to the hotel's reception, and 10 mins later the car happily arrived. At the reception a girl (with whom I was in correspondence) told me that the car appeared to get into a traffic jam?! I wonder where there are any traffic jams in Koh Tao.
And now about our practice with rent of motobike via reception of Thipwimarn Resort:
as I have written the hotel stand far away from the civilization. So, if you want to rent a bike you should firstly get to the main street with all its possibilities. when I addressed the reception girl with the question on the bike rent, she said that they had been working for a long time with a rent office. if we wanted a guy from that office could arrive and pick us up to the office. so, we went to the suggested rent office. when the guy arrived he firstly reminded us if we had take an original of the passport with us. With the help of reception girl I tried to pursuade him to take a copy of passport or credit card or driving license original. Firstly he was absolutely against, further on he proposed to take a driving license original + 7000 Baht as deposit. Fortunately we refused...
We were given a bike with ~ 4000 miles (generally considered not a bad one). Ordinary price - 200Baht/day. We were given a contract to sign - first part all the data about the client and dates of rent (at Samui we also rented a very good bike - without any problems, with only a copy of the passport and the contract covering only general information), beneath there was a table with a list of spare-parts prices in case we would break any. On the other side of the contract there were big detailed pictures of a motobike - front and side, where they shaded the parts which were already (!) scratched enough. Plus when my husband tried the bike - he said it was technically much worse than at Samui (the brake whistled when applied, etc.) The guys told that the brake was oppositely quite a new one, just changed, and after some riding these sounds would disappear for sure. (Not at all as later appeared). All these things should have made us alert to change for another one or go to the other rent office, BUT... we did not do it...
So, 2 days of rent passed - here are the results - quite negative experience in material, financial and moral aspects:
- this bike was destined to fall (later on my husband - his profession concerns technical matters - identified the motobike to be after overhaul, which affected its speed and capacity. for example, it could not take both of in to the mountains ). so, it fall twice, we were both injured (me - the whole shin, husband - elbow). The bike itself was not broken, a bit more scratched.
- pilferers from rent office examined the bike when we gave it back and told us it did not matter that it was not broken. If we had some more scratches we had to pay for their full change by their crazy prices. They ignored the reason why then we were given already scratched bike, just answered 1). the spare-parts had been ordered, but ot takes a long time to get and change them 2). to mind our own business - the passport was at theirs... so, no chance!
The only thing we could get by hard bargaining was just a small reduction of their crazy rates.

Finally, a piece of advice:
- do not accept scratched bikes (at least you will know afterwards that you pay just for your own faults)
- do not accept (or change them as soon as you get it know )the bikes which have some problematic issues/you somehow do not like
- try NOT to give passport as a deposit
- do not go to the rent office suggested from Thipwimarn Resort hotel!!! better try to find another yourself!
- in case of accident try to estimate the damage in one-better two independent service centres (if possible to get a paper with these estimations from them) before you return to the rent office.
Best regards and cool holidays!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ekaterina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaeky, Reception at Thipwimarn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2010

We would like to apologies about motorbike rental shop we think it misunderstand between you and us.

We need to explain about motor bike rental at Koh Tao first:
- every where they will ask for keep your passport (it depend on you that you agree to leave you passport or not).
- they have form for you to check and sigh before rent motorbike if you think it not a good bike you can ask for change. Every shop they use the same form.
-rate for a bike start from 150-250 baht/day (24 hr.) depend on the bike.

At first you ask for rent a motorbike so we recommend this shop because they're not charge too much and they have good service (many guest recommend for us) and we never said that we had been working for a long time with a rent office, we just said that they are good service and they have free pick up if you need to rent the bike or you can take our taxi and we charge 50 baht/person (taxi from outside charge around 100-150 baht/person).

After you rent a bike you told us that not a good bike so we told you to return it to the shop and take another one or rent from another shop in the town (the shop in town already and you can walk to another close shop) because we don't know they have new motorbike or not . We don't know what happening after you return the bike if we know it not a good shop we will not recommend to other guest.

Thank you for your commend.
Best regards,
Thipwimarn Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We were recomended for this hotel to a couple of friends. The location makes the hotel. We booked a boutique room and it was very nice, clean and with a beautifull view. But there was anything else than this. The swiming pool is beautifull too, but is so small that with 6 people is full. You don´t have place to sit. The beach doesn´t exist, so if you want to refresh and the pool is packed you have no options. But the thing that really impressed us in the bad way was the staff. After traveling for two weeks in thailand, and get along with the reality of really nice and genuine staff wherever we´ve been, the staff of this hotel was very rude. In the restaurant they don´t speak english, so it´s very hard to communicate. At first we thought that the girls at the reception were shy and didn´t speak english, but we were wrong. they were realy rude. With nothing else than the view, you have nothing to do in this place. We were paying €169 (in thailand is a lot) per day and with a backpacker service. You don´t get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoCoutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My vacation in Thailand consisted of 4 days in Bangkok, 4 days in Koh Samui, 5 days in Koh Phangan and 3 days in Koh Tao. If I were to do it over again, I would definitely spend more of my time in Koh Tao and in particular, at Thipwimarn. We stayed for 3 nights at Thipwimarn and my only regret is that I had to go home.

The resort was lovely - set amidst lush and beautifully manicured gardens. The accomodations were quite comfortable (although I have to admit I was a little scared of the wildlife at first!). Our bungalow had a nice balcony with seating, overlooking the ocean. The staff were incredibly friendly, accomodating and spoke English very well. The food was delicious. The views are fantastic, especially from the restaurant and from the infinity pool. The location is fantastic. It's at the north end of Sairee beach, so it's very quiet but not at all isolated. It was a short (yet hilly) walk into and home from the main town. Alternatively, a short taxi ride can be arranged through the front desk.

My only word of caution is that if you have trouble with steps (e.g., if you have bad knees, small children or a lot of luggage), this may not be the resort for you. Depending on what bungalow you`re staying in, it can be a bit of a workout to get up and down all the steps.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Thipwimarn Resort is the most beautiful and peaceful hotel for a honeymoon on Koh Tao. Unlike all the dive resorts it's quiet and private. The only noise you'll get out here are the waves hitting the little bay down the steps and the natural wildlife that lives among Thipwimarn's flower-filled gardens.

I would recommend a stay at Thipwimarn for any couple who wants a relaxing time away. They have a great spa, beautiful views, easy access to a private beach and the best sunsets on the island. It's a true gem. I want to be there now!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thicha_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Very friendly staff
Very good villas, beautiful garden and sea view
Great food

Not directly at the beach but just a very short walking distance. The atmosphere and view at Thipwimarn is amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotta_ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We planned to stay in luxurious places in Koh Tao for the 1st three nights but I was really dissappointed with Thipwimarn. We spent 4000 baht the equivalent to £80 and I don't feel that it was worth it. We stayed in the superior room and it was really small. If you struggle getting up and down stairs then beware as the steps are steep and there's plenty of them. We only stayed for one night but a couple we met booked to stay for over a week. They wanted to leave after a couple of days and the hotel said they would charge them a fee even though the hotel wasn't busy!? Another couple there were on their honeymoon and thoroughly dissappointed too. There are still works going on next to the hotel so you can hear drills and it's really noisy by the pool.

The beach that the hotel has is tiny and not worth the walk down the many steps. When we got down there we thought it was round the corner, there was nothing there and we walked up the stairs of the neighbouring resort that's being built. I WAS THEN BITTEN BY A DOG!!! So off to the doctors, rabies jabs and I wasn't even allowed to go in the water after it was dressed. When the hotel is busy the food is ok but when it's quiet there is a limited option of choice.

My advice is look elsewhere if you want luxury and value for money ....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j9jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
373 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing