We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family fell in love with this place!”
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our family of five stayed at the Charm Churee for the final week of a five week tour of Thailand and Cambodia, and it was the icing on the cake. We had adjoining rooms with a shared deck which was perfect for a family. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent, and the rooms were funky-cool. The location is unbelievable. The best snorkeling you could ever want, right off the beach, yet only a 15 minute walk to town. The dive shop is excellent, with a good variety of dives available and a great staff. Our only caution is that the resort is spread out with a lot of steps and ramps. We loved it because that's what makes this place fit into the natural beauty, but if you have difficulty with stairs then this may not be the place for you. If we ever return to Koh Tao we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Rooms instead of Bungalows. Cheaper but was perfect for a family, with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

The check in was poor. We got a room with 3 beds and 1 extra bed. It was one of the newest rooms. Strange room, really. The shower room didn't have a door, and the toilet was separate with no basin. No curtains on the small windows. Poor breakfast.
Exhausting climbing all the stairs from the beach to the room. A lot of noise from the road - cars and motor bikes starting late and early.
Sadly the coral reefs had died due to a periode of high temperature in the sea. Too bad really, because in our opinion, the coral reefs and the fish is what makes people come to this place.
Don't think that we want to return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

After 14h flight and 2h ferry trip, arriving to this resort makes you honestly feel like you are away from EVERYTHING! When we finally arrived to our "room", which was a bambuu cottage with large terasses right at the water on the smooth rocks of Koh Tao, we did feel like we would be in Robinson Crusoe. Altough with benefits of modern living. Taking shower outside on rocks under bambuu roof, really gives a nice kick start for a holiday where you want to forget everything else for a while. BREAKFAST at he hotel was filled with exotic fruites in addition to continental buffee. I think I ate fruites for a whole year in one week. Resort offers private beach, good restaurant with full sea view, and a 5 star PADI Dive center. Would not recommend this to people walking disabilities, due to hundreds steps you will have to take to get anywhere at the resort.

Room Tip: Ask rooms at the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bamboohuts at the pool villa, the room was very chic, big opened bathroom, lots of space to lie down enjoying the view of the blue sea, and very nice rounded swimming pool with jacuzzi. The view from our cottage was breath taking, it was heaven on earth, perfect for a couple get away.

Our villa was away from Charm Churee lobby, but there's 24 hrs car transfer. We also like to walk around as the resort was full of trees. We walked to the other side of the resort which led us to Sai Nuan beach, nice white sand and quiet.

The restaurant was a good value of money, yummy and big portion. Breakfast was included and variety of choices. Staff were very friendly and helpful, always around. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mergulhadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have been there 3 nights in a sunset cottage which I think that was the best room with the best view to the beach and also to enjoy the sunset moment, it is a rustic resort a perfect example of suitable development, great choice for couples and people who wants to escape from stress and noisy town. I did have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel because the food was delicious and at reasonable rate, very friendly staff. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get ready your mosquito repeller and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This resort is really nice, the rooms have charm and a welcoming feel. It's a huge place and it takes a few days to know your way around. Even though I stayed here with a large group of friends I would say it is more of a romantic getaway resort. You get a cd player in each room with a thai cd which I thought was a nice touch. Also, you'll be left with beach towels and a sling back which you can take out with you. At this area you are more at risk of mosquito bites and there was a net hanging over the bed which you could use to cover yourself at night, i liked that extra thought. There was a good range of breakfast served at the restaurant and the seating area looks out onto the beach. There is a lot of walking and steps to walk up and down in this resort, and it can get quite tiring, but nevertheless it adds to the charm of this place. I was let down by the fact there was was no wifi access in the rooms, you had to pay for this and use the PCs in the reception area. The resort is a little out of the way from the main town, you would most likely take a taxi and it's a 10 minute drive to get to the main bars and clubs. Thats why I feel this resort is more suited to couples.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaoJao38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Three reasons to stay elsewhere: the resort is overpriced, the food bad and the beach average to bad!
We stayed here for 5 days in 3 different rooms.
At arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was very nice of the staff but it seems to be a pattern according to the reviews. This room is located next to the reception and is everything but a 4 stars deluxe. You will be woken up by the cars/trucks comming to the reception, people talking in the front of the reception and hearing your neighbor flushing the toilet and caughing middle in the night won`t give you a very deluxe feeling. Interior of the bungalows is very cute tho. So we requested a stand alone bungalow which is standard and where we did find the rest. Above all the standard had a better view and is better located to the restaurant and jansom bay. Last night we discovered a gigantic spider in the room and were moved to another room, a gesture we appreciated.
The breakfast buffet is divers and the food is ok. You will definitely enjoy the location and the view of the restaurant but don`t go there for dinner. The food is very very poor and over-over priced. You will have more and way better dining options in the village.
You will pay a fortune for wi-fi which is not even provided in the room.
If you don`t like to walk many stairs to the beach, to the restaurant, to reception, don`t go there. We didn`t mind that much but it can be exhausting after a long day of swimming and snorkeling.
Jansom bay is not what they say it is. The coral is almost dead and the walk into the sea is more rocky than sandy. The bay is very small and there will be many people on the beach and in the sea as the resort guests have no other option than to come to the jansom bay. Everything is out of the way and you will spend a lot of money taking taxis to the village. You will do that because the restaurant food is so bad.
The reception staff is trying to be proffessional probably because they were instructed so due to its 4star but don`t have the know how...which in the end makes them rude.
We wish we booked another resort but due to our short stay didn`t move.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flamence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £21 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing