We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ожидал от острова больше”
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

were on the island for two days tao. The hotel is decent. bay in which it is quite narrow (50-70 m), very close to each other are building, both within and on the beach. normal entrance to the sea, sand, granular. superior room is huge, with a huge private balcony overlooking the sea without tv! clean. groomed grounds, the breakfast buffet. normal range of dishes. to the city for about 15 minutes on foot. Sairee Beach walk half

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sergeykovalchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for our son's wedding and had a beach view cottage (22 and 23) One small double room downstairs with separate outside shower and sitting room, upstairs: open balcony with seating, four poster bed with mosquito net and another balcony, separate loo, open bathroom and shower and another outside shower on different levels. Cleaning of the rooms was a bit spasmodic but they came as soon as we rang reception. It is a VERY steep descent to the beach but once down there is a friendly bar and spa and the bay is crystal clear.
Breakfast buffet was good (located half way up the hill, and the wedding dinner on the beach superb. Cottages are located all over the hillside with appropriate views. Only a 15 minute walk to Mae Haad where the boats come in if you want to eat out in the evening, taxis were easy to get.

Room Tip: Recommend beach view cottage 22 and 23 (chosen from tripadvisor reviews!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T00ts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I decided to upgrade to a Sunset Cottage as the Deluxe Room was dark and with no view. The pictures in their website was clearly taken when the hotel was newer

I think it's way overpriced for the condition it's in, this place need renovation, and fast. Despite this the place is quite nice, as it's immersed in nature, Jansom bay is also nice, and plenty of fishes can be seen just snorkeling.

The diving center within the hotel is a little more expensive than elsewhere, but equipment is nice and they have a nice and comfortable steel boat, compared to those old wood boats all the others diving centers have.
Being a smaller center you can enjoy diving in smaller groups which is a very good thing and well worth the 200ish bath price difference to other places. Divemasters are also very nice people, and I will recommend to try a beach dive from Jansom bay, it's not deep but real nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilvispo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Positives

- beautiful little bay with crystal clear waters and good snorkelling;

- the dive centre staff were very helpful and went out of their way to plan a day trip for us;

- the setting for breakfast was a lovely spot to look out over the water;

- the main restaurant in the evening looked stunning though the food was slightly overpriced for what it is (including the crepe suzette which can only be described as a pancake sitting in warmed up orange juice(!));

- the waiting staff were polite and very well meaning, but could really benefit from proper training if the hotel wants to be seen as a 3/4 star resort;

- the location is great; far enough away from the town so that you feel secluded but close enough to walk in the evenings (about 10 minutes), though the 'party' area of the island is quite a bit further away;

Negatives

- we tried booking via email and despite us accepting an offer of a room, we arrived to find our booking did not exist; however, they did offer us an upgraded room at the same rate though, to be honest, is way too pricey for what it is (especially in comparison to other hotels in Thailand);

- a lack of advertisement of the trips offered by the dive centre around the hotel by the hotel itself meant that we could not go on the speed boat trip as we were the only ones who wanted to go (minimum of 4 people was required);

- despite the Do Not Disturb sign being on the cleaning staff came into our room on 2 out of 4 days (and in one instance entered our balcony from another room to peer into the window when my wife was sleeping on the sofa and barged their way into the room when she went to see what they were doing).

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

at the first that we check ours room(standart room, number 15) we was at mute, so far from everything! and the room looks so dirty!
the lady at the reception was nice and give my a good discount for the suit with the pool, olso far but nice place to be and relax.

a lot fo small problems that repaired only at the last night

Room Tip: only but only the pool suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank דין ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Dated rooms, poor state of repair and poor location were the principle reason that we cut 5 nights down to 1 and even that was only because we couldn't catch a ferry until the following day. The 'rustic' description really means very dated and in parts, broken or worn and it's just an excuse to over-charge guests for a poor standard of accommodation. The layout on a hillside means that there is a lot of steps which is fine but still very annoying when you've trailed along them to get to the incredibly small and cramped Jan Som Bay. I can't comment on the general means here as I only had breakfast which, in fairness, was more than acceptable. The staff too were very helpful and if only the standard of the hotel lived up to the room rates charged, I'm sure it could be improved. In the end, we gave up on Koh Tao and tried Koh Phanagn which by contrast is lovely with an abundance of fairly priced good accommodation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DaveLePecheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had excellent views from our room , which was fantastic. They have managed combine basic luxuries with a very rustic feel. As long as you don't mind a few bugs and the odd rat scuttling in the roof, which comes hand in hand with staying in the forest! The Janson bay beach is a bit disappointing for swimming or snorkeling. Nice and close to town although you still feel miles from the chaos of Mae haad.
I had an important work call and the staff were really helpful in sorting out a quiet spot to do this over Skype . It's a long story I won't bore you with although involved one of the waiters changing light bulbs and rearranging the hotel lobby for me!
Good spot, I felt it was marginally expensive given the lack of pool and decent swimming beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleverbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £28 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing