We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views; bit of a hike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stunning views; bit of a hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Charm churee's accommodation is beautiful and rustic. An Eco-friendly resort, the grounds are serene and almost romantic.
The villas themselves are quite basic, but have everything you need for your stay. The wifi is strong as well.
The onsite restaurant serves delicious food, both local and western flavours.

An important note is that the resort has been built in to the side of the mountain. Similar to the accommodation in the Greek islands, the reception area is located at the top and then it is a very steep and windy walk down to the rooms, even further to get to the private beach and restaurant. At the time of staying, I had a knee injury and found it near impossible to leave my room, which was disappointing.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, so long as I am physically fit

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    303
    154
    63
    62
See reviews for
146
469
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Everything in here was so good.
The beautiful private beach comes with coral and a lot of animal in the sea. Employees was so good about service mind they were impress me. Restaurant was good too. Love this place much. Hope to come back here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrAew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Charm Churee with friends for two nights before moving onto Koh Samui and we were very impressed with the overall look and feel of this "beach side" hotel on entry, however we were quick to discover that the location of this hotel can make your stay quite painful, Jansom Bay beside the hotel is an absolutely delightful place, the free snorkel hire allowing you to appreciate the fish that inhabit the waters. However i could not possibly recommened this to an older customer as there are very steep paths and a lot of steps in order to get to and from this bay, and other parts of this very spread out hotel. The rooms were flawless and clean with massive four poster beds and a huge balcony area more or less the same size of the room with a lovely view of the sea in the distance. We were also told on arrival that the town and main nightlife was only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, again we found this to be a much longer and hilly 25/30 minute walk, a very tough one in the climate of Thailand, and the nearby taxi drivers will pull your arms off with the fees that they charge to get into the town. All in all if you are looking for a hotel to purely stay at and relax, or have the money for taxis to and from the town, and dont mind the hilly enviroment, i would still highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CitrusDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Trip advisor needs half stars! I feel charm churee is a 3.5 star "resort"! The actual resort is beautiful! The views even more amazing! The beach with free snorkel hire was picturesque! The rooms were big and spacious. The balconies have doors which can be opened to connect adjacent rooms! Another highlight was the food! Every meal we had at charm churee was amazing whether it was al la carte, part of our tour or breakfast the food was delicious!

The only let down was the shower! It felt dated and frankly unappealing!

Also the coral at the beach is extremely sharp! A fair few including myself have cuts on Kees, feet and fingers! So just be careful out there,

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Feels just like camping/being at the cottage. Very open concept (you may have geckos in your room). The bathroom was separate from our room, but still private. Very natural setting (among the trees on the shoreline). We were very close to beach. Excellent for scuba diving; lots of colourful fish and corals. Colour of the water is beautiful. Easy to navigate the trails between cabins, lobby, restaurant, etc. Feels like hiking because very hilly; lots of stairs. Lots of wildlife. The staff are easy to reach and very accommodating. I went with friends, but perfect for a romantic get-away. I would recommend this villa to anyone with a sense of adventure!

Room Tip: Consider walking/hiking involved depending on where you want to go within the villa (beach, restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa8750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Charm Churee Villa on a group vacation/tour. I would first like to point out the pros, and there are many! The location is stunning. It's ocean front, on it's own beach with stunning view of the mountains and sea. They have their own dive school on site. The restaurants are delicious and the service is fantastic from the waiting staff, cleaning staff, and all others. The rooms are beautiful, very clean and spacious and we were in the bare minimum priced rooms.

The biggest con was the walking up and down hill to get to the beach/reception/restaurants. They weren't easy walks. You had a path but it was extremely steep. It deterred me several times from going out because I knew what I had to do to get there. You wont run back to your room if you forgot something, trust me. I think a well organized shuttle system would benefit this hotel immensely. There was also lack of wifi in the rooms, which didn't bother me, as they had it in the reception area and restaurants, but once again you had to hike there. If you are in good physical shape and don't mind walks in the heat then I absolutely recommend this place! We certainly earned our meals. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone elderly or with small children. Or business people requiring service often. But I personally loved it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This resort I loved.
It was absolutely beautiful, the view is breath taking.
There is a lot of walking around and it is probably not ideal for disabled and wheelchair users.
The private beach is lovely.
Bathrooms very good.
Mini bar is well equipped.
Balconies are slightly 80s retro but nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.2 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Property: Charm Churee Villa
Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing