We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charm Churee Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlawn Villas(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
373
323
165
66
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
323
165
66
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjansom bayelvis barstarlight restaurantprivate beachtropical fishwalk into townbeach baran upgradeoutdoor showermosquito netsuperior roomsairee beachrecommend this resortstayed longeramazing viewsjunglebamboo
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed here 3 days in August 2008 and is very difficult for me to express my opinion because the place was wonderful but lacking in comfort.
This Hotel is located in Jansom Bay, just a short walk to town, about 15 minutes, through a trail that goes through the resort and nearby hotel Sensi Paradise (to be able to walk in the night the hotel provides torches in the rooms).
The hotel is built on the hills and there are a lot of steps, so walking towards the town or the rooms, beach, restaurants can become tiring.
The resort has a fabulous bay (but not “private” because non-residents may enter paying 100 Bhat),which is great for snorkelling and swimming, it offers crystal clear water with rich marine life, there are a lot of amazing fish in the coral. Snorkelling equipment is available free to guests.
We stayed in a Sunset Villa (n.32) on the rocks just a few steps away from the beach, with fantastic views of the sea and the sunset, also at night we could see a beautiful starry sky. Our villa was rustic and consisted of three huts: bedroom- hut, toilet- hut, and living room- hut.
Bedroom- hut was quiet small and had a canopy bed with mosquito net (really useful because we found spider and a very big gecko), there were no phones and no tv; outside there were cold/hot showers and washbasin; living room- hut had sofa, CDplayer and mini bar.
The Villa had a fantastic terrace with view , two beds and direct access to the sea with a wooden stairs.
We bought an internet card but in our room did not work so we went to the internet cabana.
We enjoyed the meal, we had lunch in Elvis Restaurant (on the beach) and we had dinner in the Chaba Restaurant which is built on the rocks with romantic ambiance, the food was delicious and cheap (we ate hamburgers, chicken with vegetables and peanuts, shrimp with asparagus, rice, mixed vegetables). Instead breakfast was poor: little food and poor quality.
The staff of the hotel was nice and very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed six nights at this hotel and all in all it was a very good experience. However for the money spent per night (roughly 4000 baht) we had expected somewhat more. THe rooms are cosy with excellent views but quite basic and feel a bit worn down. The beach was nice but they have built a little too many new bungalows so the web page pictures does not resemble the real deal anymore. But the friendly staff, the excellent outdoor restaurant and the breakfast compensates for these things. However, once again have a look at other hotels which does not charge as much. Maybe you will get as good service for less.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedetraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

This place is a bit rustic for something that bills itself as "boutique." The location is fabulous; the fish literally come to greet you when you dive into Jansom Bay and the views are truly spectacular. However, the rooms feel a bit like you are camping, an outdoorsy feeling with lots of critters (I saw a 5 foot long lizard come out of the cliff under my bungalow and deposit itself in the sea, a very National Geographic moment that I was not expecting). The food at the hotel is over-priced and terrible (go into the town instead). This place needs an upgrade if it wants to bill itself as a boutique experience, but the Disney-like snorkeling (incredible fish and coral!) may mitgate its shortcomings.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ozonelayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

If you are looking for a holiday more peaceful than Charm Churee Villa, consider booking yourself into a Chinese child-care centre situated somewhere between a lawnmower workshop and a Harley-Davidson dealer. Add a car radio centre to this combination and you almost have the correct picture.
We booked a Premier Beach Villa for a special holiday - we were attracted by the idea of being in one of just a few private villas on Koh Tao's most secluded and peaceful beaches - just as the photographs and website suggested. Disappointment hit us the instant we arrived at Jansom Bay when we found that the owners of Charm Churee Villa have exploited this tiny cove at the SW tip of Koh Tao into a large resort where every corner and crevice of the once beautiful cove has either single, double or even triple deck bamboo units built into it. They are still expanding it up the hillside.
On our first night we endured booming loudspeakers until 3am - thankfully this was the only night that happened.
But on a daily basis, unsilenced motorboats ferry tourists back and forth past the beach almost nonstop all day starting as early as 5:30am through to midnight or later. The walls in our 'premier villa' were a single layer of woven bamboo - we could hear our neighbours grunting as they used their toilet. The sun rarely makes it onto Jansom Bay being in the shade of palm trees by day and sets behind the hill shortly after 3pm. Breakfast was average to poor, the hot selection was barely lukewarm as was the service of the staff. We were saved from this being a perfect hell by the relatively low occupancy of the area; in high season this would have been truly unbearable for a couple like us seeking a peaceful escape. To her credit the manager transferred us to a superior bungalow after our complaints about the above - this offered greater privacy and was almost worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My wife & I spent almost two weeks at Charm Churee, staying in a villa just a few steps away from the private beach, & with fantastic views of the sea, & especially the sunset, which was amazing every evening. The villa was great, with a large private terrace, & we had a very, very relaxed time whilst there. The beach is clean, uncrowded & the snorkelling superb. I have noticed some of the grumbles about this place, & would agree that the cleanliness of the rooms could have been better at times, & that the music played in the breakfast & dining rooms left a lot to be desired (I now hate Cat Stevens after hearing his Greatest Hits every morning for breakfast!). For the price point & the market that the resort is pitched at there should be a higher level of English amongst the key staff at the front desk & in the restaurant, as most requests invariably with lots of nodding & saying Yes, but very little follow up. The main bulk of the staff are from Burma, are very sweet & willing, but unfortunately their Thai is as bad as their English so your phrase book or crash course in Thai will do you little good. As for complaints about the wildlife in the rooms, well the resort is built into the jungle, & unless you want your jungle sterile, fauna is part of the deal. The Gekkos are to be welcomed as they keep the bugs down, the Asian squirrels are cute & only visit if you leave food out, & as for the monitor lizard that sunned itself regularly on one of the rocks by the terrace, well that is an extra you just couldn't buy! It loved the bananas I left out for it & it was an honour to be able to watch this beautiful animal. What with that & brightly coloured tropical fish eating from your hand you can't get more at one with nature than that bar going on safari. On balance, a beautiful & very relaxing resort & we will be staying there again when we visit next.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SouthOfTheThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews