We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but relativly expensive”
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Wonderful resort with nice intergration in the surrounding natur. Short way to the town/shops/bars (15 min) Magnificent small privat bay with clean beach, might be a little bit overcrowded sometimes, nut plenty other beaches in walking distance. Beautiful small reef with plenty of fish in snorkeling distance. Great diving school mith reasonable courses in small groups (open water diver arround 9000 TBH). Many steep steps which might be a problem for baby carts or handicaped people. Great spa (better to make early reservations)! Accomodation is quite costy, but service / food very moderate. AC Bungalows simple but really fitting to the nature concept. Great personal service. Appartments next to reception (small steep street) might be harmed by noise due to people and material transport (8:30am-8:00 pm) by motor golf cart. The rest is very silent. Mosquitos!


- wonderful peaceful resort, a little bit costy due to good recommendations in several travel guides.
- not unique, other good resorts with same concept in the surrounding
- for honeymooners, families and other people who just want to relax with good comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjoern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2010

My family (my wife and two 18-year old sons and a 13-year old daughter) and I stayed in Charm Churee for the second time. Although rather much had changed since last time (in 2008), all the important things were the same. Fantastic snorkeling directly from our cottage, perfect weather all 8 days, and extremely nice and friendly staff, especially Ms Jane Chontawee who always greeted us with a smile and help us in every possible way. Ms Chontawee an important reason why we are considering to go back to Charm Churee.

Koh Tao is a very pleasant island with lot’s of nice restaurants and shops. Two restaurants that we especially enjoyed were café del sol (really nice pizzas and drinks), Big Blue East and Papa’s Tapas (the two chefs are from Sweden and the food is excellent). Big Blue is a good place if you want to try scubadiving.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Charm Churee Villas was not what I was expecting and so I was disappointed. It is not a beachside resort with romantic view points however it is very jungle-like, secluded and closed in. The rooms were very clean, you get three bottles of drinking water every day and the grounds are kept quite well. There are a lot of stairs to go everywhere and you sometimes feel that you are lost in a maze. The beach was quite far from our room and was not sandy nor sunny; it is a small pebbly cove with very clear water, tons of fish but very quiet, no waves. The buffet breakfast was very good but the one time that we went to supper the food was poor and overpriced, the service was terrible and the loud music was annoying. No pool! There is a lovely trail that takes you right into town, approx 10 min walk, very nice. It is a nice enough resort if you are looking to pay for all the little extras but it is not a beachside, tropical retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The room was very beautiful and comfortable, the shower was something i have never seen - open completely. Its a little bit wird in the begining but after it is prety nice. the hotel beach is a little small and almost all the time in the shade but in total a b great place to stay if you are on a honeymoon or just seeking quiet time alone.

I got special deal with this hotel..?
I sugested for best rate please visit http://www.kotaohotels.net

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wie-yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

All in all a lovely place to stay. The room was lovely, we had a garden room, one of the cheaper ones but it still had a real boutique feel, rustic yet chic decor with. Positioned up the hill slightly in the trees and built sllightly into the rock. The bedroom was decorated simply but prettily with bright pink cushions that corresponded with the wall around the bottom of the bed. The bathroom was fine, we had no problems with the shower and had plentiful hot water but we were there during a lovley sunny period. The little veranda was great for chilling oout in with a cold beer from the outside fridge mini bar.

In terms of location we thougt it was perfect and allowed us to be far enough away from the action of Sairee to feel secluded yet you can walk there along the beach in 20 mins if you want to be somewhere a little more lively (with the port etc en route so a fun walk). Janson Bay itself is small and steep with great fish so wonderful for those who like to snorkel. I am more of a laze on the beach and paddle girl so it was not so great for me as there wa limited sun bed space in spaces where there was actually sun instead of shade alo I found the fish a bit nippy - if you stayed still in the shallow end they tended to nip you - call me stupid but I didn't even know that fish could bite / suck hard, much to my boyfriend's amusement.

There is a another beach - I forget what it's called but as you walk down to Jansom you will see a sign for it saying 800m. My boy and I though that would be a piece of cake so took the trail to the other beach. Be warned it's not a simple trek, it takes about 20 mins and at times I was on my hands and knees but it was lovely when we got there, pretty quiet and much bigger than Jansom but make sure you leave enough time to get back before dark scrabbling over the rocks or,, as we did, get a boat home.

Other only thing to probably mention is the whole resor is built into the side of a steep hill so there is a lot of up and down when walking around, not a biggy but something to bear in mind. The whole island is a little like this so just representative of that really.

We had a super time in Koh Tao all in all and would definitely recommend - not just foro divers - over and out

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkey3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This was the last real stop on our tour of Thailand and I'm glad that we chose to come here. All we wanted was somewhere close to the beach on a Thai island and were recommended to go here. When the boat docked we were met by the hotel staff and driven to the hotel and on arrival I said it would be nice to be right by the sea and I don't think we could have been closer. Our room was 3 steps, yes 3!, away from the beach/sea, and at high tide the bottom step was under water :-) I was in paradise. Our room was cosy and built into the rocks with additional access to the shower from beach so no traipsing sand through the room. We were in heaven, it was a beautiful location right next to the spa, near a bar, we had our own private sunbeds. Although we had a fairly small room it was just what we were after following a long trip around the country. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was nice enough, the standard breakfast in Thailand hotels. Dinner we had once by room service which came quickly and was still hot, once in the main restaurant, which you sat on the floor on mats with a little bell to ring if you wanted anything, which was odd but fun and once we walked into town, which only took about 15mins via the beach path and we just followed the signs in. The hotel were even nice enough to supply a torch to see on the way. We hired a kayak from the hotel and paddled to Shark Island, which was hard work but beautiful. My other half had 3.5 hours in the spa and I must say it was expensive compared to the rest of the country but it was spa hotel. However she did say that it was worth every penny and they were really knowledgeable and good a what they did, she came back glowing and totally relaxed.
We were also lucky enough to see a wedding on the beach whilst we were there and what a location to have it. I must say that the staff were great, really friendly and helpful and I thought the location, although lots of steps, was out of this world.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caliente1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We arrived and were picked up from the boat by the Hotel staff. The check in was smooth and went to our room. The place is just wonderful, peaceful and huge.
The pricing was acceptable for the location and the service. The staff all are just wonderful. We went snorkeling and the Hotel provided us with free snorkel gear ( no flippers as it is not allowed on the beach). The beach is private so it never gets crowded and there is a bar and spa close to the beach. I tried the Spa and though the prices and it was worth every Baht. Fantastic professional service.
I felt true luxury in staying here, no so much with amenities, but the mere fact that I am thousands of miles away from home, lying on a deck stair, the waves beating upon the rocks on a tropical island... this is what my holiday is all about. My wife opted to do a scuba course and this was offered by the resort by foreign professionals which she described as excellent.

Pros: This was the highlight of my trip to Thailand. I stayed in lots of hotels and resorts and for me this was the best.
The selection and quantity and quality of food available at breakfast was superb.

I'd go back there any day.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank SydneyBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £32 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing