We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very "rustic" experience - and overpriced...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very "rustic" experience - and overpriced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Charm Churee advertises as "a rustic boutique resort" - and that's what it is. Our bathroom was outside the villa adjacent to open rock and built around a tree, with the consequence of some flatmates: Fred, the friendly crab, and Mary, his mate, watched us carefully each time we entered the bathroom. Additionally, be prepared to find scorpions in the bidet or the sink... just small ones, but irritating. Furthermore, some hundertfeets were visiting from time to time.
Cleanliness is not at such a high level: a killed scorpion remained on the floor for 2 days in the middle of our living room, until we wiped for ourselves.
The aircondition stopped working one day and it took more than one day for someone to fix it - meaning basically a night with no sleep.
Since there is NO FRESHWATER POOL and no lights in the bay, swimming after 6pm is hardly possible. The water at Jansom bay is quite shallow, but with corals everywhere, so better wear shoes.
Also, the area is quite big - from reception to our villa it was roughly a 10-15min walk. Annoying when arriving late at night.
Two times the beach was closed at the evening due to a private wedding event, so we felt a little bit disturbing among the celebration's guests.
Also, Internet access is not free as advertised, but costs 100 THB per hour. Diving courses offered at the resort are 150% more expensive than in most other dive shops.
The goods: Exquisite snorkeling site in the bay. Lots of fish, quite safe. Villas with more bedrooms available, so suitable for groups or families. The restaurant is quite well located, overlooking the bay, but as expensive as the rest of the resort.
Overall: There are comparable possibilities in Koh Tao at half the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waldorf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    303
    152
    62
    61
See reviews for
146
466
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hotell is a bit strange. Our room was very spacious, even with two extra beds. I think that the rates are a bit too high for this hotell, and the breakfast wasn't appealing to me. The best thing about this hotel is the beach - not the lack of parasoles, but the amazing coral reefs and the fish. Snorkling was just so much fun! We even saw a coral shark 3 times! Location - it's just 10 minutes to walk to town. We ate at a small restaurant called Paprika which had very good food. If you have bad knees, this isn't the right hotel for you - there are a lot of steps everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

something very different. the highs:
- night restaurant was spectacular (service, food and especially the location)
- Janson Bay is great
- the rooms although rustic are something really different and the views are awesome

The lows
- was travelling with a 6 & 7 year old and a 60+ granny. the kids loved it although no pool. however the walking got a little much for the 60+ person. we were close the the bay (4 villas away).

during our stay we had no phone service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarianMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

We got to Koh Tao in the morning after a overnight ferry because the ferry to Koh Pangan was canceled.
So we decided to take a walk leaving our baggage at the ferry office hunting for a home.
Over the small mountain we checked out few resorts on the island.
But this resort pulled me in despite of the price range. Because they used what the location was offering rather then discarding them like other resorts.
Yes it might look more rustic then it could be but if you really want to feel where you're it's a good place. Yet all the rooms were very clean too.
If you're only traveling with your partner please book room number 23.
Among all the other expensive rooms at the resort's private beach, it's the cheapest room in the resort-around100 USD. The room is right in front of the beach- unlike others that you need to walk a fair amount of sweating - I'm not even mentioning the view from your lounge.
The moment you enter, you will see a rock behind your sitting area, when you go in side the bed room, you will see the other half of the rock right next to your bed, you go into the toilet, you see another big rock next to you and the shower is hidden between rocks outside. I loved the character of the room after seeing few rooms in the resort.
The food at Starlight restaurant was good too. - Lamb salad was the favorite.
Feeding bread to the fish after breakfast was another good reason got me out of the bed.
Snorkling wise - we went on canoe to the other side of beach as well - Mango beach takes about two hours of relaxing rowing - but I have to say just in front of the hotel isn't bad at all. Since it's a private beach people might not know to compare. But the Mango beach was recommended as the best one in Koh Tao and it's similar to the hotel!
Rent a Canoe and row out a bit, to the three rocks in front, around the corner and the restaurant area. It's a lot more fun then swimming inside.
I'm not sure when I will go back but I hope the room #23 will be still available for me. :)

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank curiosaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Beautiful villas sensitively set in the hill around Jansom Bay. Very friendly staff, nice (although pricy) restaurant. The only warning - staying at Charm Churee involves a lot of walking up and down stairs - due to the design of the place. It is worth it though ...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had just a one night stay recently, and had a ball. The place really is rustic, but very comfortable and clean. The big drawcard was the great snorkeling right there at your doorstep...the little bay has wonderful array of fish and coral and the visibility is very good.
We spent the first few hiours just snorkeling at the reesort before making the short walk into town and getting a long boat just for us and went right around the island stopping at three spots for more snorkeling.

Once back at the resort we had a great dinner at very reasonable prices with a beautiful view of the water...I would highly recommend this place particularly if you are looking for snorkeling and great service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

Before we got to Charm Churee I cut my foot on a coral reef so I wasn't able to walk normally and had to walk around on wooden crutches.. Charm Churee is on a hill slope (which is quite charming in normal cirmcumstances!) so for me it was quite a challenge to go around.. but, wow! the service at Charm Churee was so good.. we got an upgraded room so I could move around the resort more easily, free room service, etc. The personnel was always considerate and helpful (saving and providing rubber bands for my improvised heel protection :)). So though I couldn't snorkel or swim, I still had a great time at Charm Churee!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.2 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Property: Charm Churee Villa
Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Sawasdee and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing