We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At a push 3 stars”
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Looking at the website and Reading the reviews on t/a I thought this resort was going to be something really amazing.... Was I wrong, the truth is that the bunglows are so old they need ripping down they have plastic sheets on the roof to stop the rain coming in ( very rustic), holes all round the windows and doors so the mossies let their self in and over all like a 400 bt beach hut but because it has air con, slippers and a robe they call it five stars.
The beach had more coral on the beach than in the sea, the floating pontons you see in the photos are to sit on so you don't damage the coral.. WHAT CORAL.. And the powder White soft sand on the beach must have been bought by some other resort because my daughter cut her feet twice in three hours on that coral beach.
It's a very long walk to anywere up and down hills and when you have to carry a 4 year old it's not that enjoyable.
Book somewere else and have a good hoiladay

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danifyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

One of our worst experiences ever.
the rooms are small and old fashioned, the all hotel seems to fall apart. We saw 2 snakes! in 2 days! Food is at least 3 times more expensive than everywere else on koh tao. it rained and water came from the roof and all this for 300 USD a night...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelineetStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Me, my husband and 13 year old daughter stayed at the beach front and wow what a experience! we travelled thailand for 3 weeks and stayed at charm churee for 4 days and wished we had stayed for longer. it was bea-u-tiful!
The staff were the friendlest people we have ever met. Our villa was 7 steps away from the turqiose sea! The food was gorgeous! ranged from mild to very very spicy! the starlight resturant was gorgeous! There was a wedding on the beach one day, and wow! the amount of effort the staff put in it was outstanding! it was like something off telly, my 13 year old daughter said thats where she hopes to get married! i recommend this to all people who want a unique, gorgeous holiday away! defffo going back asap!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymacdonald208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed in the bamboo bungalows which were built in really bad taste a bit like the flintstones.The accomodation was overpriced , the mattress was awful and we slept really badly.
The rooms are are a really big hike from the restaurant and reception , walking through a building site and lots of bulding material scattered everywhere.
we have been travelling through Thailand for 3 weeks and have stayed in some fabulous resorts including the Chedi in Chiang Mai (fabulous) and The Salad Hut in Koh Phangan (Highly recommend) and transferred out of CharmChuree (as soon as we could) to Thipwimarn resort in Koh Tao which is much better value and real 5 star accomodation at a cheaper price.
one positive thing about our room at Charm cheree was that we were right next to the sea on the rocks.
If I were forced to stay there again I would request one of the original rooms in the original part of the resort with the hope that it would be better !
But honestly there are so many great resorts and much cheaper , try Sensi in Koh Tao or Thipwimarn 1st.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulziandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed here in Feb 2010 and was really looking forward to it after seeing the photo's online but it didn't live up to my expectations.

When we first arrived it was about 4pm so we went down to check out the beach. The beach was rather small, although very pretty, and was already in the shade. There was also a lack of sun loungers about and ones that were about were arranged in a circle with a group of about 15 hogging them. Sai Thong( i think ) beach, about a 30 minute strenuous walk over the cliff, is a much nicer and quieter beach and is sign posted on the way to the Charm Churee beach.

The room was fine with everything you might need but you definately need to be fully mobile at the Charm Churee as some of the paths around the complex are very steep.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special and if anything, very basic. Staff at breakfast seemed very suspiscious every morning about whether or not we were staying at the hotel even after showing our room key. Bit weird eating breakfast whilst feeling like you're being watched. The outdoor breakfast area was a very nice way to start the day though with great views towards Sai Ree beach, which is a great beach to spend the day at.

The location of Charm Churee, whilst maybe what some might like, was a little bit too out the way for us. We didn't eat at evening in the hotel because we prefer to look around and try different restaurants. It was a good 20 minute walk to the nearest restaurants with not a lot else to see on the way so if we go back to Koh Tao again we'll look for somewhere a bit closer to the restaurants and Sai Ree beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in October and really loved it.
We had room 32 which to me was the best room and is listed as a sunset villa. The room is huge and has a private deck with beautiful water views and a private landing with ladder to enter the water. I agree with the other reviews about all the stairs at Charm Churee - this didnt bother us as we are quite young but the resort with not be suitable for older people or disabled.
The water quality was not the best for diving at the end of October when we went but I am sure it would be a lot better in the peak months. We still got a couple of dives in but unfortunately the water quality was not there.
The breakfast here was lovely and is served in the restaurant which also overlooks the water. The only this this resort is missing is a pool.
All in all I would recommend this to other travellers, especially honeymooners as it is very private and romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

we stayed at the charm churee in july and really enjoyed it. our view from our bungalow was amazing...it felt like we were in the jungle and we could see the ocean from our room. the beach is small but quiet and calm and great for families. we actually had the best scuba diving/snorkeling in jansom bay right off the hotel beach rather than on the other side of the island. the resort is very hilly so plan to walk up and down hills several times a day to get to and from the beach, etc. the resort restaurant is good but pretty expensive. we found some great food that was much more affordable in town which is just a walk away. we would totally go back and stay here again. when we left, we wished we didn't have to leave.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,263 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £17 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing