We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service but not really good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lipanaa Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lipanaa Villa
Ranked #65 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service but not really good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Overall are good, helpful, spacious, excellent service altitude, but not the price of accommodation at Koh Tao. It seems to be marked overprice. At this level of amount can have much more options to get somewhere else in Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were really looking forward to our stay, it had been booked for 4 months. I had been emailing to try and arrange the transfer from pier but didn't get a response until the third attempt, with 3 weeks til our stay.
They replied to say our booking had been cancelled, because of construction work. They did offer us an alternative hotel room, but we wanted a villa with the outdoor space offered and didn't want a small room up in the north far away from everything. It wasn't an 'upgrade' as they tried to convince us.
So we were left to request a refund, with so little time left all the decent accommodation on the island has been booked, all the good value villas were gone already. We were very disappointed to say the least.
I asked them to refund the full amount that I had paid in pounds. Unfortunately they didn't or wouldn't do this, and so I actually lost out over £30 in the conversion. Not a huge amount, but its the principle. They won't reply to my emails asking what they will do about this amount that I have lost through no fault of my own. Very annoying.
So be aware and consider if you can lose out on money and your accommodation - it happened to me and it could easily happen to you too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shininglight151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

As a Scandinavian who travel every year during summer, I've visited many countries and hotels across the globe. I found this place to be one of the best and memorable with all amenities available at your disposal. Me and my wife really had great moments here. I'd definitely recommend this place to any one who is visiting Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikko_PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Its a must visit and highly recommended villa if you are choosing to visit Thailand. We are so happy that we chose this for our trip. It was an unforgettable experience with everything available. Property and services didn't demand any compromise, hence we had a great time there, the memories of our stay here would be long cherished.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti011983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were travelling as a group of 4 and were looking for our own place to relax in on Koh Tao. We stumbled upon this villa after days of looking and couldn't quite believe our luck.

It really isn't too good to be true. It has 2 good sized rooms with en-suites, a lounge, kitchenette and a good outdoor space with a small pool. Cleaners came round to clean nearly every day and provided us with fresh towels.

The villa is situated about a 10 minute walk from the main town area and Sairee Beach. The walk is fine but can be dark at night so worth taking a pocket torch. The villa is in a more residential area and is surrounded by a tall bamboo fence. Although a bit more remote than your average resort, we felt the location was great as we weren't too far from the main restaurants etc but far enough away for peace and quiet.

We were welcomed at the villa by San who was keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay. He was extremely welcoming and helpful.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay on Koh Tao with your own private space (all at a reasonable price) then this villa really does the job. We were so happy with it and would definitely return.

P.S. if you're looking for a good, quick lunch then Through the Looking Glass cafe on the way into town also comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We came to the island a little earlier than expected and therefore had to find alternative accommodations for two nights. With good fortune the resort we had booked was able to recommend this private villa and were kind enough to shuttle us there and back. You would not find the villa by yourself as it is settled inside a nice and quiet residential area not far from the main area of Sairee Beach and actually so close that you can walk everywhere and avoid using Koh Tao's dishonest motorbike scammers. It took us 5 minutes to walk to The Gallery Restaurant and 10 minutes to walk to Sairee Beach and swim.

The villa has a nice large and green garden complete with a private pool and lovely outdoor lounge area. The pool gets sun nearly all day, so it's a perfect spot to lay back and relax. We were only two persons but the villa has two bedrooms. We used the second for our bags so we could keep our master suite uncluttered. It was nice and large, well kept and beautiful. Same with the en suite bathroom.

Staff came and cleaned the villa daily, so at just about 4,000 THB per day it was a pretty bargain !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoryLeeChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Look forward to visit this place again. Lovely property, superb food, world class service. The rooms were spacious and had no complaints for anything whatsoever. Kids had the best time ever in this trip of ours. Had a great experience at Lipanaa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satyajit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
#32 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lipanaa Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipanaa Villa

Property: Lipanaa Villa
Address: No.17 Moo 1 | Sariee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated and luxuriously refurbished romantic pool villas are nestled in an old coconut plantation in the heart of Sairee Beach on Koh Tao's Northern End. Located just 600 meters from the beach and a few minutes walk from restaurants, night life and markets - the villas offers tropical luxury in a tranquil setting. Set within in landscaped gardens, you can enjoy a private pool and all the amenities of home. Enjoying the villa's private pool and garden guests can view a beautiful sunset with green clad mountains and coconut palms as a backdrop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing