We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving, great location - only let down by the accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunshine Divers Resort
Ranked #19 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great diving, great location - only let down by the accommodation”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location of the dive centre is great and we had an amazing time learning to dive for the first time. The instructor and other divers were friendly and welcoming. Only complaint was the rooms, not very clean or comfortable at all. However it is one of the cheaper centres on the island and if you don't mind that then it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_d3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    33
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
45
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

On recommendation from a friend 4 of us stayed here which turned out to be one of the best parts of our trip, while accommodations are not a 5 star hotel they were great for what we paid. The atmosphere is great here and small class sizes when learning to dive make this place much better than most on the island. Staff were great at all times and the location is great. If I return to ko Tao I will stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelupndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Sunshine Diving Resort is located on the south of the island far far away from the busy overcrowded Sairee Beach. Arriving to Koh Tao, you can arrange a pick up in the port and everything necessary will be arranged to take you to the peaceful bay.
Whole bunch of courses are available. If you are new to diving take a Open Water and Advanced Course. What you can be sure to find in Sunshine is PRO staff and small groups of students. ( max 4 per gorup)

Should you be looking for a profesional training as a Divemaster, Instructor Development Course, r Master Scuba Diver Trainer do not look anywhere else. You have found the right place. The Course Director, Natalie Hunt, is a super pro. Her guidance, patience, vitality, smile and encouragements will get you exactly where you want to find your-self one day. So if your desire is to be a confident, independent Diving Proffesional, make your way over there.

I have taken my IDC course there myself. Demenading weeks of preparation will make you ready for the challenges ahead of you. Great bunch of team/course mates, paradise like atmosphere of the southern bays of Koh Tao made it difficult to leave after the job is done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justapassanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This recommendation is for the dive school only we have never stayed at the resort. My girlfriend and I originally came to koh tao looking for bans divers but couldn't go past the friendly and professional atmosphere at sunshine. We did our advanced open water in 2012 and immediately felt part of the sunshine family. Our instructor at the time Tamara was very focused on teaching us everything we needed to know to complete the course while still showing us a great time. After this holiday we realised that we did not want to go to any other dive school. We came back a year later (in July 2013) to complete our emergency first response and rescue course. As soon as we stepped foot at the dive school we were met by Natalie and Kim who welcomed us back as if we were family. our instructor Kim van winkle made the efr and the rescue course one of the most enjoyable experiences of our lives. After our courses we couldnt get enough of the gorgeous dive sites in koh tao so we did fun dives everyday untill we had to leave. We met great people and saw dive sites that left us breathless. We are planning an around the world trip, with koh tao and compleating the rest of our dive courses with sunshine divers our top priority. Much love Abby and kael

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Sunshine Divers was a great diving experience. I was able to get my advanced on a flexible schedule due to illness and my travel buddy got her open water. The instructors were fun and professional, taking all the precautions neccessary for scuba diving.
We stayed in the bungalows provided that were reasonable for the price. Bonus that you get a discount for diving there.
Situated on a quieter side of the island, this was the perfect place to learn to dive. 7 am comes early, and its nice to have a quaint place to relax while doing the course.
I would highly reccomend Sunshine Divers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice, friendly and experienced employees, study on the beach and perfect training equipment. Also the socializing part with other (single) people was nice. And lessons are available in many languages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank willemdeklerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our Instructor Tom was brilliant, very professional. We always felt 100% safe. I highly recommend diving at Sunshine Divers resort!!!!
The resort is situated on a quiet and relaxing beach, away from the main touristy area of Sairee.
We did our Open Water and Advance course in less than a week.
There are lots of dive masters, who chit chat with you and help you out.
There also are a few cool bars and some good restaurants near the resort.
We are going back for the Dive Master course in March, max April 2014!
We love diving thanks to Sunshine Divers Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#71 of 139 in Koh Tao
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Divers Resort

Property: Sunshine Divers Resort
Address: Chalok Bann Kao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Sunshine Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing