We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible staff, nice location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Tip Diving & Water Sports IDC Resort
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Valkenburg ZH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible staff, nice location”
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We were at the Black tip for 4 nights. The staff is very poor and not friendly at all. Especially the staff of the restaurant. The did'nt smile at all, not even once. Room wasn't cleaned at all in 4 days.

However the scenery is great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirjam1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We loved the beach the snorkelling, then location and the food, we were disappointed in the office staff attitude, we thought after a 16 day stay, they could have smiled at least once, however the cleaners and ground staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and tidy although over priced in our opinion.
We were not informed of the fact that we had to pay cash for all our meals.
Overall a beautiful remote quiet location and very much to our liking.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

So the only reason I went to this resort is because my awesome friend Kunpiya is a dive instructor who taught me how to dive at this resort.
You can spend all day snorkeling on the little reef in the bay. We have seen black tip reef shark swim by us.. it was awesome.

To get to the hotel, you have to walk down to the dive shop, and they arrange a pickup to take you to the hotel about 30 minutes away. Part of the road is non existent, so I would'nt suggest this hotel to anyone who has a weak stomach. But I found it exiting and felt as if at any moment we might just fall off the bumpy roads and off the cliff... he he

The rooms are average, I think the main problem for me is that I got badly bitten for three nights that I spent there. Not by mosquitos unfortunetly, but by two different kinds of insects that look like beetles. The owners gave us a slight discount to make up for it. But I just wanted them to fix the problem for future residents. My back, hands and face were bitten and I had large swellings and didnt sleep those nights. After that however it got better.. I was only bitten once or twice in a night.. on the rest of the nights. They sprayed the room and as did I with some bug spray.. but the wood has spaces and cracks through which the bugs get in..

The diving in Koh Toa is amazing we saw whale shark on two dives. For those who have never been diving though, beware of sea lice that are invisible to me but sting and these little blue fish called cleaner rass/bass.. they tend to nibble at your open wounds or ears.. next time I wont wear a shortie.


The food is yummy my favorite was the Thai style steak, and the Massaman Curry.. Near by there are two other hotels with restaurants. no night clubs its mainly just a Diving BAY..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gayle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I loved being on the secluded side of Ko Tao. The beach was lovely, the scuba-diving and snorkeling was perfect and the hammocks all over the property made me never want to leave. The shower water was warm at first and the bungalows are lovely. The biggest complaint was that after a grueling trip on a vomit-filled ferry followed by a looong bumpy ride in the back of a truck, we were exhausted and nauseasous and NEEDED to rest and freshen up. However even though we'd arrived with reservations in advance well after check-in time, our rooms weren't ready. We had to wait around outside with all our luggage for an hour. Also, their laundry service left something to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilburs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights in the Black Tip Resort on Koh Tao. And what a great time we had!
The hotel is situated in the Tanote Bay, which in my opinion is the nicest bay on the whole island. Went snorkeling and diving and had a great time.

Hotel:
Nice and clean bungalows. We had a bungalow with a fan which was absolutely efficient enough. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The pressure of the shower was not that good but you managed to get clean eventually :-) Mosquito shields were installed in every window and you have a nice little terrace. Be advised that due to the small land mass water shortage can occur, so use the water economically.
The room was cleaned whenever you wanted it to be. The staff was very friendly and funny. Most of the staff in the restaurant didn't speak english that well but the menue was huge and the food was great (never had any sickness problems). The receptionists spoke english fluently and was very helpful.
The pool is reserved to diving instructions in the afternoon. When we were there in February we never saw more than 20ppl lying on the beach in this bay.

Diving:
We only had time to take the "Discover Scuba Diving" course. The underwater environment is magnificant and the guides really take care of it and inform you about the policies. The course was great and our instructor (Australian) very friendly and helpful. Safety is a top priority and in the group it was just my girlfriend and I.

How to get there:
When you arrive with the ferry you can just take a pick-up taxi or arrange pick-up with the hotel. We paid 50 bht per person. The road are catastrophic and it's an advanture getting there (especially by night).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geo_matt_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

I took my PADI OW here and I enjoyed every single minute. The hotel is located away from the crowds (pros & cons) with a nice beach. The bungalow was nice and clean - bathroom better than expected (absolutely worth the price). The mattress a little hard, however you are almost asleep before your head hits the pillow after a long day of diving :) Lunch and dinner is superb (thai food), took a couple of days before I managed to get a decent breakfast (language problems...). Really nice staff and professional diveteam.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank db05292014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riederich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Just came back from my Thailand Trip.
I stayed 8 nights with the black tip divers. The bay itself is very beautiful but there service is terrible! Since they are mostly full booked the year around, they don’t care. So don’t expect a service for your 20 € a knight!
Also the dive with them is not well organized. The dive master are mostly unmotivated und have no contract whatsoever. They have 3 dives a day 14 days before they get a day of! Of course they don’t care much. But this can be a Sirius problem since my girlfriend refused to dive behind the guide trough a cave you couldn’t see the end, and the dive trough where very small. Make sure you take the responsibility for what you are doing. By the way the spots aren’t that exciting anymore!

.. there are 4 other resorts in this bay...

have fun

Martin

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the people
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Tanote Bay Resort
Family Tanote Bay Resort
#53 of 74 in Koh Tao
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#34 of 49 in Koh Tao
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,079 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanote Villa Hill
Tanote Villa Hill
#22 of 74 in Koh Tao
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Tip Diving & Water Sports IDC Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Tip Diving & Water Sports IDC Resort

Property: Black Tip Diving & Water Sports IDC Resort
Address: 40/5 M.3 | P.O. Box 8, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Tip is an eco friendly PADI Gold Palm IDC resort located in Koh Tao, Thailand. We are committed to quality, safety and fun. We provide the full selection of PADI courses. All groups are kept small for more enjoyable dives. We have a range of diving options for certified divers. We have several styles of bungalows available to suit all budgets. We also have a full range of water sports activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Tip Diving & Water Sports Idc Hotel Koh Tao
Black Tip Diving And Water Sports Idc Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing