We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable location, average service and food”
Review of Blue Heaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Heaven Resort
Ranked #28 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The absolute pluspoint for this resort is the location. It is built on a hill, so the bungalows are on different layers and without structure. This makes it really close by nature and because of the view (over Shark's Bay) you def will be amazed when sitting in front of your bungalow.
Sunrises that wake you up; romance it is! The other aspects of this resort, cleaniness, service and food were really average. Nothing special about that. Staff is sometimes hard to find; food and drinks take a while and cleaners are probably not often there...
But what makes everything good is the beautiful island, the amazing view from the rom and from the terrace (= the restaurant). We had booked a romance room (it was called something like that), this was a more expensive room, but you will be just above the sea on a bngalow with a outside bathroom. Privacy guaranteed!! The only thing is that the bungalow had cracks etc; so if you affraid for bugs or insects you may wanna think again. The mosquito-net in the bungalow is also def. a must!

Though we're a little spoiled, I will def consider going there again

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nora-amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2009

First of all, I want to make known that we are not snobbish in any way and that we would like to warn others instead of singing praises! New Heaven came highly recommended by family who stayed there a year before we do and we planned our whole trip to Thailand around our stay at New Heaven. Upon arrival, we greeted warmly like only the Thai people can and we initially thought it was going to be great to be there! We were taken to our sea view bungalow with fan AND WAS TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED!!! Besides not looking like the pictures on any of the websites, they did not provide any furniture on the verandah... the one triangle cushion they did have hanging over the railing was so dirty and mauldy that I really didn't want to use it at all. Staying in a bungalow was a real treat for us, but we did have some surprizes... The bungalow was dirty upon arrival with cob webs everywhere and literally no where to unpack our clothes. We stayed at New Heaven for 7 nights and really wanted to unpack our backpacks, so we had to use the towel rack that was in the bathroom and although they had one bamboo railing hidden away in the bungalow, only one old wire hanger was provided. I have to say that when we complained and asked reception to clean and to provide us with some hangers, they were eager to help and she gave me hangers from her shop which was much appreciated! I still had nowhere to hang the clothes besides the curtain raillings so we felt like we were camping instead of staying at a resort!!! They brought us one chair and we were glad they brought us a reclining wooden one instead of a plastic chair they originally proposed when we asked. One chair does not really make for romantic lounging for two and when asked for another one, they could not help us. The biggest surprize was the fact that we had no hot water. I emailed them before hand because they don't stipulate it on the various websites when I booked our accommodation and they said yes. When we queried the hot (or should I say cold) water situation, they said that only aircon rooms have hot water. Although it was refreshing, I just wanted a nice hot (even luke warm would have been greatly appreciated) shower every now and again. The other big issue for me was the amount of worms!!! I am sorry, but that really was unpleasent!! They come in over the walls in the bathroom (because it is all open, which is nice to have an open shower) but if you don't close the bathroom door, they are everywhere in the room!!! I had to make sure not to step on them whilst going to the restroom. No plugs were provided for the wash basin and yes, your blanket on you bed is a towel!!! Needless to say, besides the great disappointment we experienced, the staff was very friendly and even gave me the most beautiful music that I listen to often!! Koh Tao is a wonderful island to visit and New Heaven has the best setting on the island, but unfortunately it was not what we expected at all! We left Koh Tao to go to Koh Phangan for our last few days in Thailand as planned and experienced the most incredible resort for THB 150 more than New Heaven AND IT INCLUDED AN ENORMOUS BREAKFAST!!! I would recommend New Heaven to those who are willing to rough it as it is an experience, but if you don't like dirty, wormy and cob webby accommodation with cold water - stay away! I think the honeymoon bungalow and the Seaview Romantic with Aircon should be the first choice, but for their prices on those rooms, I would much rather stay at the 5 star resort we stayed in in Koh Samui which is the same rate as New Heaven's fanciest rooms. IT DEFINITELY WAS AN EXPERIENCE WE WILL NEVER FORGET!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bella2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We only had 2 nights in Kho Tao and found this little gem on top of a hill with views overlooking the sea loaded with reef sharks.

There are only 7 Bungalows - I had number 7. they are just GORGEOUS. Your shower is OUTSIDE and whilst you shower you look right out to the ocean in complete privacy. the rooms all have AC and are extremely clean with mozzie nets.

the only draw back is that the bungalows are built on the side of the mountain so if you are elderly or battle to walk this is a real NO NO which is a pity

The food is brilliant and good prices. the staff are so friendly although the waiters did battle with english but we still got what we wanted.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cazzz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Luam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mattia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marek_Sulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#8 of 79 in Koh Tao
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
#46 of 79 in Koh Tao
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#34 of 148 in Koh Tao
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
1 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#13 of 50 in Koh Tao
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Resort

Address: 37/14 Moo 3 | At Lang Khaay Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly New Heaven Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best views and some of the best food on Koh Tao . In atmosphere that cannot be beat, run by the same owner and staff that you know and love from New Heaven Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Heaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing