We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with lots of steps”
Review of Blue Heaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heaven Resort
Ranked #30 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Helsinki
2 reviews
“Beautiful view with lots of steps”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed four nights in Honeymoon bungalow, which was closest to the sea, but also had the most steps to climb back to the reception/restaurant. The air conditioning in our room wasn't effective enough so it was pretty hot during the nights. The patio was spacious and the view amazing. The private beach was small and there are lots of sharp corals/rocks, but there was a nice beach a bit further away. The food was ok, but the restaurant is really all about the views. Staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is a bit far away from the Sairee beach, but it can also be a good thing. The closest seven eleven and pharmacy are about ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kooleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabolah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent a week in the romantic room, with uninterrupted views onto Shark bay. The room was beautifully decorated and the outdoor coconut shell shower a real winner. The snorkelling in the bay is second to none, we even swam with sharks on a couple of days. The restaurant boasts amazing views over the bay, and the food is fresh, and tasty. The New Heaven dive school is definitely to be recommended. Not as busy as those in Sairee beach, and has smaller groups.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We spent 3 weeks in Koh Phangan and planned a 2 night trip to Koh Tao. After much reading on Tripadvisor, we chose New Heaven Bungalows (www.newheavenkohtao.com). Here is our view of the resort:

The Good:
• We booked on line using www.sawadee.com. Their booking system, service etc was very good. Quick and easy to use, secure, and communications were excellent.
• We stayed in the Seaview Honeymoon. It is a very nice room with a fantastic open-air bathroom and shower. There was a small refrigerator and ample storage room
• The view from the balcony was fantastic especially in the morning for sunrise
• The bed was comfortable and maid service was good
• When the power was working, the air conditioning worked well
• Although we didn’t really use it, the TV worked well with several English channels
• Good electrical outlets for charging iPods and cameras
• In room kettle and instant coffee was great to have (considering the 130+ stairs up to the restaurant)
• The robes and slippers were a nice touch
• Breakfast was included for this room. It was simple, but good.
• The small beach was very nice and private, but could use some daily clean-up
• Snorkeling at the beach was great. At 07:00 one morning I managed to see several black tip reef sharks just off shore

Not so good:
• The location is in an area with not much to see or do in walking distance. It’s in a nice beach area, but if you want to get to Sairee beach and see more places/restaurants, you have to drive or take a boat
• The ride that was supposed to pick us up at the pier wasn’t there and we had to get someone to phone the resort for us (while fending off the barrage of relentless taxi operators)
• The Honeymoon suite is closest to the water, but farthest from the street. If you plan to go out much, there are over 130 steps uphill to get to street level, or the restaurant
• Even to get to the beach, it was up many stairs, then down some more. All OK unless you want to do it a few times daily especially in the heat
• Staff greeting was less than warm upon arrival-we almost felt like we were bothering them
• Their website is not very user friendly. Most of the links don’t work, including the email link. I could not contact them which is why I ended up using Sawadee to book
• There is a berry tree growing over one side of the deck. The berries were constantly falling on the deck and into the open bathroom. They would get stuck on our feet when we walked outside or had a shower, and attract ants on the deck and into the room. There was no broom provided to sweep them off (we ended up taking one from the grounds which helped)
• Extra chairs for the deck would have been nice (other than the wooden recliners which weren't too comfortable)

Other:
• The island seems to have some issues with power outages. The resort of course can’t control that, but their back-up system did not function well. Other hotels seemed to have better back-up generators as they did not have problems during the power failures. One night the A/C didn’t work at all. They did end up giving us a good discount for that night in the end. They had free WiFi, but unless you were up close to the main office, it did not owrk very well, sometimes not at all (perhaps also because of the power issues)
• The showers had a hot water control, but there never was any hot water. We didn’t mind this since it was so hot and only took cold showers anyway. But some people may want to have hot water, especially if they are paying for it

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay on Koh Tao. New Heaven was good generally speaking. If we return, we would probably stay closer to Sairee Beach, up on the north end of the beach away from the really busy south end. If you want a more private beach adn don't plan to venture around too much, then this might be a good place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Balks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town,
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The rooms are great. We stayed in a romantic ocean front villa and it was beautiful. The staff are not friendly at all, but we didn't let that us bother us. Not sure if they even speak english, we never heard them utter a word! The restaurant has a fantastic view. The only problem we found was that their website didn't inform you that in order to get to the beach, you would literally have to swim there from the tiny cove in front of the hotel. Luckily we had a lilo with us to float our towels and camera's etc to the beach. The value for money was pretty good

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philgray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We just loved this little resort build on the hill with direct seaview! We initially booked for 4 nights only and ended up staying for 10 just because it was pure bliss. During our stay we moved 3 times due to availablity and went from Ocean View Bungalow with fan over one without fan to the cheapest Garden Bungalow. All types of accomodation were nicely decorated and had a beautiful feel to them. Yes, there is no hot water, but who needs hot water in the heat anyway. I truely enjoyed taking my cold refreshing "open-air" showers.
We hightly recomment this place to everyone who is going back to nature and likes to experience beautiful people, the best food on the island and a beautiful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

This is the only hotel where my wife and I has ever retured to. Many times when you travel around you want to find new places, get new experiences. But why keep looking if you found Heaven?!
We have been there twice, stayed in a Sea View Bungalow for five days the first time and ten nights second time. Absolutely amazing! Fantastic view over the lagune. Great small hidden beach right there with superb lunch place (Pad Thai, Fried Rice etc and smoothies).
The hotel is very peaceful and quite. We sleept with the door wide open so you could listen to the waves below the bungalow. The padio is amazing, acctually the place where I proposed to my wife.
The staff is super nice. They remembered us from one year earlier. Very personal. And Mr Check (The Rasta guy) playes awsome music in the restaurant. Food is fantastic!!

Basically I could go on and on about saying how nice this place is. Bottom line is GO THERE and enjoy yourself!

Don't miss to go diving with the small diving shop New Heaven (they also have a great bakery across the street). You can also do yoga with the owner of the diveshop on their back padio. They also helped us going on a snorkling trip around the island. That was one of the best days EVER!

We absolutely love New Heaven!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StockholmMathias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I stayed with my boyfriend at New Heaven Resort for three nights in mid-January.

We had the air-conditioned Honeymoon Bungalow which is their best room. The uninterrupted view of the aqua water, lounging on the sunbeds of the balcony, comfy king size bed, mozzie net (but didn't seem to need it), outdoor bathroom was great, going to sleep with the sound of the sea crashing onto the rocks below your balcony. It was heaven...wish we could have stayed longer.

The only downside to the Honeymoon Bungalow is the fact that it is right at the bottom of the mountain which is fine on the way down but a completely different story on the way up. They even provide seats half way up if you need a rest.

It was quite a fair way out of the main areas such as Sairee Beach, so we did spend quite a lot getting taxis to and from. We would get scooters next time in order to avoid this expense.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#10 of 77 in Koh Tao
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#32 of 140 in Koh Tao
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
#57 of 77 in Koh Tao
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#38 of 140 in Koh Tao
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Resort

Property: Blue Heaven Resort
Address: 37/14 Moo 3 | At Lang Khaay Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly New Heaven Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best views and some of the best food on Koh Tao . In atmosphere that cannot be beat, run by the same owner and staff that you know and love from New Heaven Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Heaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing