We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!”
Review of Blue Heaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heaven Resort
Ranked #31 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was the best and most original stay that we had in Thailand. The hotel is located in a hill next to the shark bay, it is five minutes walk from chalok bay. From the shark bay you can barely see it, it is almost hidden! So nice to see a hotel, nicely integrated to the environment- not like other bad taste hotels in the island. Our double bed, sea view, fan bungalow with cold water was fantastic. The view was amazing, you could see it from the bed. The open air bathroom was really entertaining, you could listen all the birds outside, it was like talking a shower in the middle of the jungle! I did not mind the cold water at all, the weather was really hot so it was refreshing. The fan was excellent, no need for a/c in August in this island I think. The restaurant of the resort offers fantastic meals, the view is amazing, the music as well. It is a little bit expensive for Thai standards but we did not care...The only negative of this hotel was the short access at the main beach: you had to climb some rocks in order to get there. If you rent a motorbike, you might try the main road, it might be longer but easier. This place is recommended to young or mid-age people with adventurous mood. It is not recommended to people that cannot stand a lot of stairs, do not like staying in the middle of the nature and bother with some ants in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    36
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We steyed there for 5 nights at the romantic seaview room with fan. Nice view even from the bed but the room was too small and full of insects. Room also have a nice balcony.
My biggest problem was the cold water in the open-air bathroom which I couldn't stand it late in the afternoon (notice that in july sun goes down at 6).
Fan was old and made a lot of noice.
Maid service was good.
From room 4, the access is not easy neither to the beach nor to the restaurant because of many stairs.
Food at the restaurant was expensive and average.
Free internet is only available in the restaurant close to the modem.

If you don't have a bike or a car is not easy to see the island from New Heaven.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

New Heaven is a resort in Koh Tao (Surat Thani-Thailand).
There is a wide terrace where you can have your romantic dinner, listening to unforgetable light music, and watching the moon rise into the wide dark sky.
In each resort on the cliff you will have your private open-air shower under the moonlight, or open-door bathroom viewing to the sea.
You can walk from your resort down to your private beach.
The owner and his family and the employees are very nice. Ask them to tell you the story of the founder, a loving "Iron-Lady" who sings and dances like angels in HEAVEN !

Helpful?
Thank wallada2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We visited Ko Tao for a week of diving and relaxation. We had a 6-month old baby with us and stayed in a "Sea View Bungalow" which we booked on sawadee.com. The hotel is set amongst lush tropical landscaping on a steep slope, with each bungalow designed to maximise views of the bay while maintaining privacy. The grounds were swept clean every day. The restaurant had a great view from a large balcony, with excellent dinners and prompt service. Breakfast and lunch were above average but not "wow". The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the 2nd largest beachside "village" in Ko Tao with a wide range of scuba diving centres, cafes, shops and a pharmacist. The main drawback was the lack of pool and direct beach access, but these are again about 5 minutes walk away. The room was clean and nicely laid out, with a large attached bathroom. Electricity in all of Ko Tao is variable (ie lights flicker and the fan cuts out occasionally). For a young family or couple looking for simple accommodation without the trimmings (ie. room service, super hot water, bar fridge, wifi, tv) this is a great place to stay and relax. There were several other families with kids staying there at the time, and we felt very welcomed by the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed four nights in Honeymoon bungalow, which was closest to the sea, but also had the most steps to climb back to the reception/restaurant. The air conditioning in our room wasn't effective enough so it was pretty hot during the nights. The patio was spacious and the view amazing. The private beach was small and there are lots of sharp corals/rocks, but there was a nice beach a bit further away. The food was ok, but the restaurant is really all about the views. Staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is a bit far away from the Sairee beach, but it can also be a good thing. The closest seven eleven and pharmacy are about ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kooleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabolah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent a week in the romantic room, with uninterrupted views onto Shark bay. The room was beautifully decorated and the outdoor coconut shell shower a real winner. The snorkelling in the bay is second to none, we even swam with sharks on a couple of days. The restaurant boasts amazing views over the bay, and the food is fresh, and tasty. The New Heaven dive school is definitely to be recommended. Not as busy as those in Sairee beach, and has smaller groups.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We spent 3 weeks in Koh Phangan and planned a 2 night trip to Koh Tao. After much reading on Tripadvisor, we chose New Heaven Bungalows (www.newheavenkohtao.com). Here is our view of the resort:

The Good:
• We booked on line using www.sawadee.com. Their booking system, service etc was very good. Quick and easy to use, secure, and communications were excellent.
• We stayed in the Seaview Honeymoon. It is a very nice room with a fantastic open-air bathroom and shower. There was a small refrigerator and ample storage room
• The view from the balcony was fantastic especially in the morning for sunrise
• The bed was comfortable and maid service was good
• When the power was working, the air conditioning worked well
• Although we didn’t really use it, the TV worked well with several English channels
• Good electrical outlets for charging iPods and cameras
• In room kettle and instant coffee was great to have (considering the 130+ stairs up to the restaurant)
• The robes and slippers were a nice touch
• Breakfast was included for this room. It was simple, but good.
• The small beach was very nice and private, but could use some daily clean-up
• Snorkeling at the beach was great. At 07:00 one morning I managed to see several black tip reef sharks just off shore

Not so good:
• The location is in an area with not much to see or do in walking distance. It’s in a nice beach area, but if you want to get to Sairee beach and see more places/restaurants, you have to drive or take a boat
• The ride that was supposed to pick us up at the pier wasn’t there and we had to get someone to phone the resort for us (while fending off the barrage of relentless taxi operators)
• The Honeymoon suite is closest to the water, but farthest from the street. If you plan to go out much, there are over 130 steps uphill to get to street level, or the restaurant
• Even to get to the beach, it was up many stairs, then down some more. All OK unless you want to do it a few times daily especially in the heat
• Staff greeting was less than warm upon arrival-we almost felt like we were bothering them
• Their website is not very user friendly. Most of the links don’t work, including the email link. I could not contact them which is why I ended up using Sawadee to book
• There is a berry tree growing over one side of the deck. The berries were constantly falling on the deck and into the open bathroom. They would get stuck on our feet when we walked outside or had a shower, and attract ants on the deck and into the room. There was no broom provided to sweep them off (we ended up taking one from the grounds which helped)
• Extra chairs for the deck would have been nice (other than the wooden recliners which weren't too comfortable)

Other:
• The island seems to have some issues with power outages. The resort of course can’t control that, but their back-up system did not function well. Other hotels seemed to have better back-up generators as they did not have problems during the power failures. One night the A/C didn’t work at all. They did end up giving us a good discount for that night in the end. They had free WiFi, but unless you were up close to the main office, it did not owrk very well, sometimes not at all (perhaps also because of the power issues)
• The showers had a hot water control, but there never was any hot water. We didn’t mind this since it was so hot and only took cold showers anyway. But some people may want to have hot water, especially if they are paying for it

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay on Koh Tao. New Heaven was good generally speaking. If we return, we would probably stay closer to Sairee Beach, up on the north end of the beach away from the really busy south end. If you want a more private beach adn don't plan to venture around too much, then this might be a good place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Balks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
POP Villas Koh Tao
POP Villas Koh Tao
#14 of 138 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#46 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#38 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
PD Resort
PD Resort
#18 of 76 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#43 of 138 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#15 of 76 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Resort

Property: Blue Heaven Resort
Address: 37/14 Moo 3 | At Lang Khaay Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly New Heaven Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best views and some of the best food on Koh Tao . In atmosphere that cannot be beat, run by the same owner and staff that you know and love from New Heaven Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Heaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing