We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Book!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sai Thong Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 March 2013

They claimed not to know about the booking (http://www.saithongresort.info/) and we had no choice but to pay again. Other than that the resort was lovely, the experience just put a bad taste in my mouth and somewhat spoiled it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luke4sythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Sai Thong Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

High season but still for 600tbh, the room was not worse the money. Dirty. Only briefly swept between guests ( years?). Full of Moskitos and ants. The area around the bungalows is not well maintained. The restaurant is surrounded by flyes. The food is not very tasty. The staff not very friendly. They seem to make money and,that's it. I do not recommend it. Much nicer places around the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Sai Thong for 2 years now, and it is one of our favourite places in Thailand. The property is beautiful, the food is quite good, and the family that runs it is considerate and quick to fix problems. The snorkelling is fantastic - it inspired us to buy our own gear for our second visit. The sunsets can't be beat - having a nice cold Chang and and relaxing in the evening are pretty much the cure for whatever ails you.

The resort is a bit off the beaten path, and a little difficult to get to, but well worth it - take a water taxi if the water isn't too choppy. There is a path that leads into town, and it takes about 20 minutes at a quick pace. The Banana Bar right next door is a great place to relax and watch the water.

Some people seem to be concerned about the price, but we thought it was reasonably cheap, considering you can hear the ocean from your bed, and you're literally in paradise. Compared to almost everywhere else in the world, you couldn't find a better value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcthfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a Front Beach Fan for 1200 Baht, and although it's described as 'rustic' and 'old school' we thought we'd get more than we did. You're basically paying for the location, which, granted, is beautiful.

We paid 500 Baht for a larger, nicer, two-story bungalow at Bottle Beach on Koh Phangan so we had our hopes up for Sai Thong. Unfortunately, 15 minutes after checking in we went on the prowl to see if we could find somewhere else to stay. Right next door is another resort, Cookies, who had bungalows for 500 and 700 Baht. If I were you, I'd go there.

We ended up eating at Cookies every breakfast, lunch and dinner as Sai Thong's food wasn't all that and the staff (bar one lovely girl) really didn't seem to give a monkey's about us. We had to leave at 8am in the morning to make our boat to Koh Samui, so booked a taxi boat the evening before. Sure enough, 8.10 rolls around and no boat. Finally got one at 8.30 after asking the guy to call again - no apologies, nothing. Couldn't care less.

Our bungalow was very basic. I'm still kind of shocked that we paid so much. If we'd paid 500, then fair enough, but almost triple that?! Crazy. It's the kind of place where there are holes in all the walls and joints, and we had an army of ants in the bathroom. There were so many it was actually kind of impressive. Nonetheless, the bungalow was right by the beautiful beach, and while there was no AC we did manage to sleep OK by having the fans on and windows open.

You can walk into town along a lovely path in about 20 minutes, so it is a good location, and the beach really is gorgeous and quiet, but before you book, just look around at other options. 1200 Baht is FAR too much for what you get. Far, far, far too much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We arrived at Sai Thong after a very long trip from Australia and were not immediately impressed with the feel of the place. Being on a small island, prices for accommodation are not really comparable to those of the mainland, so we were prepared to pay a bit more than what we thought the place was worth. We initially stayed in a Sea View Bungalow, then upgraded to a Beach Front Bungalow. This change was well worth it! To wake up early and have the whole Sai Nuan Beach to yourself was magical - worth every little extra THB. The resort is family-run, and we saw the father fishing off the rocks catching many Squid and a MASSIVE Barracuda, which was served as a special for dinner! The restaurant was good and the staff very friendly.

As a whole the rooms are basic but comfortable. Don't let the sight of some insects in the bathroom upset your stay, because the beach and the snorkelling is absolutely amazing. We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Get up early and enjoy the beach before the day trippers arrive!
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We tried to book a stay here for a few nights in January for my husband and I and our small baby. We filled out the online form and entered all our card details then we were sent a booking reference alongside a standard statement saying unless the payment would be taken by the hotel unless it was fraudulent etc etc, then days later, the day before we were due to travel from Bangkok we received a generic email saying that their were no rooms available and any payments would be refunded. There had been no indication in the booking system that this was subject to room availability and in fact I have booked other hotels in koh tao since and called to confirm after receiving the same confirmation email on the same system and they have told me its is booked as that is confirmation. It caused us no end of problem as I then had to find suitable accommodation with a days notice in peak season and wasted my last day in Bangkok on the internet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in what can be no more described as a wooden shed on some rocks and for this were charged 1500 baht per night. To put into context we are now in an air con room in a hotel in Chumphon where we have fridge tv and 2 breakfasts all for the total of 580 baht. This so called resort with other guests while we were there complaining of rats running around their rooms which I must say we thankfully did not have is to my opinion highly overpriced. Not worth what they charge. The restaurant I must say does make good food but again is 2 -3 times more expensive than normal Thai street prices but yes that is often the case when eating at bungalow restaurants. The problem with this place is that once you are here there is little opportunity to venture away and eat at alternative outlets. The location however is spot on and if you dont mind feeling overcharged then its OK to be here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
Koh Tao Bamboo Huts
#35 of 142 in Koh Tao
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Thong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Thong Resort & Spa

Address: Mu 2, Sai Nuan Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £13 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Sai Thong Resort And Spa
Sai Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing