We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place, we love it!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sai Thong Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had booked 3 nights but stayed for 6. This place is great if you want a quiet bungalow. The kitchen is good and restaurant is very cozy. If you want luxury go some where else. Tabere good oppotunities for snorkling. We saw 3 sharks! It's a great place for children. The family that runs place are very friendly, and we felt very welcome.

Room Tip: Try one of the two bungalows on the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fallemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was by far my favorite place in all of Thailand. You can hike along the shore for about 25 minutes up and down, up and down to get here from the town where the ferry lands, but just take a long tailed boat taxi (about $5 per person unless you can get more people on the boat, then the price usually drops a little) and you'll be there in less than 10 minutes without breaking a sweat. It's a great boat ride and you get to see some of the coast. At Sai Thong there are bungalows that line the beach, then spread up a hill behind the beach, about 30 in all. We stayed in two of three adjoining bungalows up a hill furthest away from the ocean (about $20 a night, high season). There are nicer, more expensive bungalows closer to the ocean, but they were booked when we got there and we didn't have reservations so we took what we could get. I was actually happy with the accommodations, as primitive as they were. Be prepared: there isn't any hot water (wasn't ever needed) or air conditioning, our bungalow floors were smooth bare planks and the walls were thin between the adjoining bungalows (sound carried between rooms), but most of the bungalows were stand alone so noise wouldn't be a problem in those. There were holes in the roof (which, amazingly, didn't leak in a downpour), and the windows were only covered with shutters (no glass). The locks on the doors were small luggage locks, there weren't any safes or other amenities in the room (bring your own soap), the beds can be very hard and you got one sheet, a pillow and a towel. What the bungalow did have was electricity with a large fan that you can direct at the bed, a private bathroom, mosquito nets over the beds (I had to sew up a couple of holes - not a bad idea to bring needle and thread), a small broom to sweep the sand out that you track in every day, a super comfortable hammock on a large deck with a table and some chairs. One room that we stayed in had two foam mattresses (comfortable) the other a very hard bed, so you might ask for a room with a foam mattress. The managers were a very nice couple who were cheerful and spoke English well. I thought the food at the restaurant was delicious (try the banana pancakes with honey) and there are three other places nearby to eat at if you get tired of the food there (the nearby Banana Rock Bar, Snake Bar or the next resort down which you can hike over the hill to get to, or paddle to in a rented kayak from the Banana Rock Bar). Eating dinner at the Banana Rock Bar when the sun is setting is an amazing experience and we repeated it several times.

The bungalows are nice and have a charm of their own, the restaurant area in a lovely spot with cushions on the floor and low tables and a great view. But what makes Sai Thong really, really special is it's location. Sai Thong is a modest establishment on one of the most beautiful series of three small beaches and coves I have ever seen in my life. There is a pathway running over a small bridge and through a garden area connecting the three beaches. The largest beach is white sand with tall palm trees and clear water (this is where the water taxis usually drop people off). The next cove is much smaller with large boulders and is what you look out at from the Sai Thong restaurant. The next cove down is where the amazing structure of the Banana Rock Bar rises up at the water's edge and it is a mix of white sand and boulders.....and some of the best snorkeling I have ever experienced. The water is warm, very buoyant, and very clear. And the fish are beautiful (bring a face mask that fits)!

If you want a Best Western, lots of amenities with a lot of other Americans around, stay somewhere else. If you want to discover a breathtakingly beautiful spot with modest bungalows, great snorkeling, beautiful sunsets and great food, all at moderate prices, give Soi Thong a visit.

Room Tip: Splurge and book one of the nicer bungalows near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

They claimed not to know about the booking (http://www.saithongresort.info/) and we had no choice but to pay again. Other than that the resort was lovely, the experience just put a bad taste in my mouth and somewhat spoiled it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luke4sythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

High season but still for 600tbh, the room was not worse the money. Dirty. Only briefly swept between guests ( years?). Full of Moskitos and ants. The area around the bungalows is not well maintained. The restaurant is surrounded by flyes. The food is not very tasty. The staff not very friendly. They seem to make money and,that's it. I do not recommend it. Much nicer places around the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Sai Thong for 2 years now, and it is one of our favourite places in Thailand. The property is beautiful, the food is quite good, and the family that runs it is considerate and quick to fix problems. The snorkelling is fantastic - it inspired us to buy our own gear for our second visit. The sunsets can't be beat - having a nice cold Chang and and relaxing in the evening are pretty much the cure for whatever ails you.

The resort is a bit off the beaten path, and a little difficult to get to, but well worth it - take a water taxi if the water isn't too choppy. There is a path that leads into town, and it takes about 20 minutes at a quick pace. The Banana Bar right next door is a great place to relax and watch the water.

Some people seem to be concerned about the price, but we thought it was reasonably cheap, considering you can hear the ocean from your bed, and you're literally in paradise. Compared to almost everywhere else in the world, you couldn't find a better value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcthfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a Front Beach Fan for 1200 Baht, and although it's described as 'rustic' and 'old school' we thought we'd get more than we did. You're basically paying for the location, which, granted, is beautiful.

We paid 500 Baht for a larger, nicer, two-story bungalow at Bottle Beach on Koh Phangan so we had our hopes up for Sai Thong. Unfortunately, 15 minutes after checking in we went on the prowl to see if we could find somewhere else to stay. Right next door is another resort, Cookies, who had bungalows for 500 and 700 Baht. If I were you, I'd go there.

We ended up eating at Cookies every breakfast, lunch and dinner as Sai Thong's food wasn't all that and the staff (bar one lovely girl) really didn't seem to give a monkey's about us. We had to leave at 8am in the morning to make our boat to Koh Samui, so booked a taxi boat the evening before. Sure enough, 8.10 rolls around and no boat. Finally got one at 8.30 after asking the guy to call again - no apologies, nothing. Couldn't care less.

Our bungalow was very basic. I'm still kind of shocked that we paid so much. If we'd paid 500, then fair enough, but almost triple that?! Crazy. It's the kind of place where there are holes in all the walls and joints, and we had an army of ants in the bathroom. There were so many it was actually kind of impressive. Nonetheless, the bungalow was right by the beautiful beach, and while there was no AC we did manage to sleep OK by having the fans on and windows open.

You can walk into town along a lovely path in about 20 minutes, so it is a good location, and the beach really is gorgeous and quiet, but before you book, just look around at other options. 1200 Baht is FAR too much for what you get. Far, far, far too much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We arrived at Sai Thong after a very long trip from Australia and were not immediately impressed with the feel of the place. Being on a small island, prices for accommodation are not really comparable to those of the mainland, so we were prepared to pay a bit more than what we thought the place was worth. We initially stayed in a Sea View Bungalow, then upgraded to a Beach Front Bungalow. This change was well worth it! To wake up early and have the whole Sai Nuan Beach to yourself was magical - worth every little extra THB. The resort is family-run, and we saw the father fishing off the rocks catching many Squid and a MASSIVE Barracuda, which was served as a special for dinner! The restaurant was good and the staff very friendly.

As a whole the rooms are basic but comfortable. Don't let the sight of some insects in the bathroom upset your stay, because the beach and the snorkelling is absolutely amazing. We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Get up early and enjoy the beach before the day trippers arrive!
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#38 of 50 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#32 of 50 in Koh Tao
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Thong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Thong Resort & Spa

Address: Mu 2, Sai Nuan Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £14 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Sai Thong Hotel Koh Tao
Sai Thong Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing