We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those who love nature and wish to escape from everyday routine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sai Thong Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sai Thong Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For those who love nature and wish to escape from everyday routine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

me and my partner stayed at Sai Thong this November. We booked 500 baht basic bungalow a little further from the beach. it was basic - with bed (mattress a bit hard!), shelving and fan - all very basic but this is enough if you are not looking to stay indoors all the time. Bathroom was also very basic - but served its purpose. The most amazing thing was the nature that surrounded us - geckos, birds, insects, lizards. You can also enjoy clear waters, snorkelling is as good as in the special places where they take you during the tour. I have even seen the sea turtle in the area of this resort.
Food is good as anywhere else in Thailand.
I would recommend this resort for more adventurous people who love nature.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    46
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
16
67
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in a basic bungalow with fan, no hot water but electricity.
The beach and snorkelling are outstanding and your right on them, towns a good 25 min walk but only need to go is to buy a good snorkel kit.

Staff were very relaxed and friendly, restaurant is cheap but excellent.
Bed was hard and wifi only works by reception in the restaurant.
Excellent place to relax and chill out.
Would stay again

Room Tip: Booking a room is much cheaper in person or over the phone, you can get a great deal as opposed to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a lovely time here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was excellent - it has its own beach so it takes all of 30 seconds to get there from your room. The restaurant/cafe was great and reasonably priced, and you have the option of going to neighbouring resort's restaurants too, which are also pretty good. It's a 25/30 min walk into the town via a winding costal path, but it's pretty fun and a really scenic route so we didn't mind that, plus you don't really need to go into town when you're staying at Saithong! There is quite a nice vibe, especially at night when the restaurant fills up.

Note: when you get off the ferry at Koh Tao, make sure to get a taxi boat to the resort- it's FAR quicker and cheaper than getting a normal taxi, and it drops you off right on the Saithong beach, instead of chucking you out at the top of a mountain path which you then have to walk down with your luggage (cars can't drive down this path!).

Rooms: our room was a simple bungalow with ensuite. It was clean but very basic - this is no luxury resort. There were cracks between the wooden planks that made up the hut, so insects were an issue. It was also quite dark. We just hung out in our room to sleep - the rest of the time we were by the beach, or dozing in the hammock on our porch.

Conclusion - if you want some peace and quiet in Koh Tao for a reasonable price, then stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieKSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 3 nights in a beach view bungalow this week and had a wonderful time. The setting of the resort is simply stunning. I timed 15 seconds to walk from our balcony to the water which was quite warm and clear blue.

A word of warning to anyone who is looking for a plush beach retreat, this is not it! If you have never camped or are afraid of creepy crawlies then I would recommend somewhere else. The bungalows are very basic, basically a shed on stilts with a simple but clean bathroom. We saw some insects and a lizard which lived on our ceiling but to us it didn't matter. To be woken by the gentle lapping of waves in the morning made it worth it. Most of the people we saw staying there seamed like outdoorsy, easy going folks - I don't think high maintenance couples who need several plug sockets and air conditioning in order to get ready for a night out would like it here. There are plenty of other resorts further up the coastline which seemed more up market.

There is a good mosquito net around the bed so you needn't worry about being bitten in the night, unless you happen to be unlucky while visiting the bathroom.

The food was excellent and yes a tad more expensive than other places but other places probably don't have the amazing sea view of the restaurant here.

The staff were lovely and despite being run off their feet all of the time ensured our every need was catered for.

To get into town just walk along the coastline and you'll be there in about 20 minutes. It's a most beautiful walk and there are plenty of photo opportunities along the way.

We would certainly not hesitate in booking this resort if we eve return to koh tao.

Room Tip: A sea view was worth it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, clear blue water, nice little beach, coconut palms, has everything you'd want from a tropical paradise. Well suited for couples, families. If partying is your thing then a place in Sairee is probably a better choice.
The bungalows are simple and primitive. If wifi and hot water in the bungalow are musts then go someplace else. There is electricity and a mosquito net over the bed.
The best way to access is by boat from the pier in Mae Haad. Costs 300B.
The staff were friendly and the restaurant decent. There's a better one a few hundred metres down the beach just by the water.
All in all it's highly recommendable. We woundn't hesitate to go back there in the future :-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a 500baht bungalow with fan. It was poorly built, very open so that every insect/animal could get in. In fact, one night we were visited by a little squirrel/mouse.
The staff was rude, not friendly at all, even the owners.
Food is expensive but good.
Bungalow was not crazy clean nor dirty. They are very dark, you can not open the windows because there is not mosquito net in them. The bed had mosquito net, though.

The beach is amazing!! The best in Thailand for us. Very quiet, palm trees, clear crystal water, almost no one around, excellent. Great snorkeling!

There are another 2 resorts in the area. We recommend Siam Cookies (which is right next door, 5 minutes walking). Great bungalows, great food, great price and, most important, great people! We stayed there 14 days!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Upon arriving at Saithong the staff were miserable, uncaring and really gave us an awful start to a stay we were really looking forward to - it was meant to be paradise and a holiday of a lifetime and they ruined it for us. The price is extortionate for the awful upkeep of the place - mosquito nets with wholes in, dirty bathrooms and old bedcovers - don't go here if you're at all afraid of creepy crawlies - we experienced mites over every single vertical and horizontal of the bamboo bathrooms the first night, a snake the second day and mosquitos everywhere. We're happy to rough it as long as you're having an experience but even the food was horrific (LOADS of flies making it impossible to enjoy your food) and a really poor standard of food compared to elsewhere in thailand. The beach is STUNNING and pracitcally private to the resort and waking up to that view (after a night not sleeping) almost makes it worth it. A piece of constructive advice for the owners would be to open reception earlier than 8.30am - my husband was severely ill we couldn't get water or toilet roll or any help until they were open.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.8 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Thong Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Thong Resort & Spa

Property: Sai Thong Resort & Spa
Address: Mu 2, Sai Nuan Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 146
Also Known As:
Sai Thong Resort And Spa
Sai Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing