We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but the rooms need sorting out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Tao View Cliff Resort
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, but the rooms need sorting out”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Staff were helpful and nice.
Location - off the main strip but close enough to walk to so it was relatively quiet at night.
The view from the bottom of the resort was really nice.
Room was big and the bed was comfortable enough.

If you paid by credit card they added a surcharge, which I thought was a bit cheeky. This was the first hotel in Thailand I had encountered that did this.
WiFi signal kept on dropping.
Sockets couldn't hold a travel adaptor so I had to improvise by jamming the plug between the socket TV.
Overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I have been staying with my partner in this hotel for two nights. We booked a room with the sea view, we got a second bungalow from the sea! It had a beautiful view! Location is very good for this hotel, all restaurants, bars, shops are close by! Also, you do need to walk only 2 min to the beautiful sandy beach! However, we been a bit disappointed about the quality of the room. The fridge was not working in the room, it did not have any table, not even a wardrobe! So we felt that it was a bit overpriced!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indriencis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This accommodation appears nice from the outside and has a great reception including very attentive staff however, don't be fooled! We encountered several issues during our 5 day stay including mould on the walls, faulty windows, poor wifi, the pipe on the sink was disconnected so wet feet when in use, the plugs do not support adapters (they were too heavy and kept falling out) and the fridge did not work. Had the room cleaned once during the stay and ran out of toilet roll more than once. However, the hotel is very well located - not directly on the main strip so quieter than most places but very close. You can also book boat transport which was helpful. 1700bht is overpriced...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the bungalow with fan (500b/night), room #8 uphill right next to the road. really noisy at night because all the drunken sailors were walking right past our window. It was incredibly hot and moist inside and lots n lots of mold everywhere. The shower floor was full of water during our whole stay. BUT the staff was amazingly nice and the elderly gentleman at the reception had a smile brighter than the sun. And also there were the cutest kittens in the whole island. After all it was really cheap stay in here and fine accommondation for people having a diving course because of the close distance to the diving shops in sairee beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Artmafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Dont bother going to this place if you dont get a room right next of the beach. The view from the balcony in the closest-to-the-sea room is really great and the sunset has never looked better.
But that was the only good thing about our room, furnitures seemed to be atleast 15 years old, beds felt like waterbeds which they weren't and we didn't get a cleaning in 4 days. I dont mind if there is not a daily cleaning but in 4 days the room will get pretty filled up with trash and sand from the beach.
I'm sure the rooms in the left side will be better at next season as there were major repairs going on every day.
Staff was very polite but for 1700bht our room was a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This accommodation was very reasonably priced and in a great location, very central, lots of good bars and restaurants close by and a beautiful beach! :)

The staff were welcoming and friendly, however the room was dark, small and very run down. If you plugged anything into the wall the lights went out and vice versa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxi1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in a room quite close to the reception. It was right on the seafront with great sunsets. To walk into the main area it took us 5 minutes. The staff here are great and the rooms are fine. They are clean with air con and we had a lovely balcony too. The staff we encountered were so friendly and the location is very quiet.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 mi away
Simple Life Cliff View Resort
1.1 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Earth House
The Earth House
#35 of 139 in Koh Tao
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao View Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao View Cliff Resort

Property: Koh Tao View Cliff Resort
Address: 3 / 2 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Koh Tao View Cliff Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao View Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing