We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no go - don't book it --” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao View Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao View Cliff Resort
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Bremen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no go - don't book it --”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

outlook great all other BAD, simple but true.

don't waste your time and money with tha hotel!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolek1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

My family of four stayed in one of the motel type rooms above the restaurant. They would not let us into our room until we paid the balance of our bill. So we had to walk to an ATM and get more cash before we could settle in. There was mouse dropping on the pillows. Several things in the bathroom were not working. There was not one towel rack and the walls were water-stained plywood. The double beds had a bottom sheet and a single comforter. This didn't work well if there are two people in the bed. We asked for another comforter for each bed, but they didn't have any, so they gave us a sheet for each bed which worked ok.
The walls are very thin, so three nights we went to sleep to the sound of someone wretching in the next room. Lovely!
All of this would have not been so bad if we were paying $20 or $30 a night, but we paid nearly $70 a night. Our sheets were stained as well, and the towels were stained and shredded!
Stay Away!!
The only good thing about this place is the location - near both Sairee and Mae Head town/beaches.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unpleasant room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

North England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Good location - v.quiet beach but only 10 minutes walk to busier port. Accommodation not good value for money compared to other places we had stayed in Thailand. Spacious room with balcony BUT not impressed with cleanliness. Sheets and towels heavily stained so much so that I slept under my own towel as was worried about the germs lurking!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LKG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

The photos of this resort on the internet are very enticing, the reality is very different. The owners live in Bangkok and are developing new accommodation units, but not maintaining the existing units. There is 3 options available, Hotel view, Paradise view and Sea view. We chose the Sea view units with air conditioning, and the views were fantastic, however the rooms were obviously built many years ago and everything was very worn and tired, linen was grey and torn, furniture and fixtures needed replacing, and the bed and pillows were so hard it was llike sleeping on wood. The outdoor plastic furniture was broken, and the showers are cold water only, plus they are wet showers with very poor drainage, so the bathroom floor is continually wet.
However the staff were fantastic, helpful and friendly, good internet access and a fully stocked shop, plus all travel and diving/snorkelling can be booked on site.

  • Liked — The fantastic ocean view
  • Disliked — old, tired and dirty decor
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank basil&betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#26 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa SeaViewGarden
Villa SeaViewGarden
#74 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao View Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao View Cliff Resort

Property: Koh Tao View Cliff Resort
Address: 3 / 2 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Koh Tao View Cliff Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing