We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean design, fun nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel '69 Koh Tao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Ranked #21 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean design, fun nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a really nice stay there and some fun nights out, although we weren't there during peak season. I liked the simple and clean design of the hostel and the location. Its very close to the pier with plenty of dive shops already. sairee beach is easy to reach. We would go
back there anytime, although Mae Haad isn't one of the most beautiful places on thd island.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Highnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bernese Oberland, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Close to the pier you don't have to bargain, you just walk there. It's about 10 minutes away from Sairee, you can easily walk there along the beacht. I appreciated not to have the buckets drinking tourists having around all the time.
If you're travelling on a low budget, this is a excellent place. An it's not only cheap, it's cosy, clean and nice. The stuff is friendly and helpful. Their English ist good enough to get along very well. And most important, they seem to love, what they do!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The best place on Koh Tao to stay. Location is excellent: everything is close but the crowd is far enough. Looks like a new building, everything is super clean. Staff very friendly and polite. I strongly recommend this place if you are looking for a cheap but good accomodation in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMSZAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

good on your budget, very clean rooms and bath's etc. the staff is superfriendly and can handle any questions.
if u are low on budget, this is the place to go in koh tao! for any backpacker who can't afford the crazy expensive bungalos resort, u'll be happy there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriisi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I must say we were pleasantly surprised with the comfort and hospitality we found at the '69 hostel..The staff was always helpful and everything we needed was close by.. Great location and great value for money too..Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo_Jojo_Jojoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really liked this place.

Very good value for the price. Beds are confy, shower and toilets are clean. location s good too. everything is really close by. (beaches, food, shops and so on) even tho and in my point of view even better its a bit away of sairee beach ( only 10 min walking) so once u got enough of all those idiots... u can chill n realax.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. some of them didnt speak to good english, but we always made it work
... at the end of the day...
they helped me out big time.
In my point of view...
thats what its all about...

can hardly remonad hostel 69....

thank u pun and gae
you guys rule

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0nes1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#25 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
Sleep Inn Hostel Koh Tao
#27 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Koh Tao Central Hostel
#3 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moov Inn Garden Hostel
Moov Inn Garden Hostel
#67 of 136 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#26 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel '69 Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel '69 Koh Tao

Property: Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Address: 2/34 Moo 3, Mae haad, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel '69 Koh Tao is a small and sincere home of international travelers who believe hostels are much more than a cheap place to stay. Our main goal is to provide a safe, open, and easy going environment so everyone can tap into the chill vibes of the Summer of 1969- share laughs, build friendships, and enjoy some sun rays! Enjoy our large court yard with hammocks (and yes, a puppy!) or the chilled-out TV room with hundreds of movies of file. In true Summer fashion we like to periodically host BBQs as a great opportunity to bring guests together for a night of fun and delicious food. We are also in a great location, in Maehaad area, between Sairee beach, Chalok Baankao and Aow Leuk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel '69 Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing