We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving - nice and relaxed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha View Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buddha View Dive Resort
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great diving - nice and relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Buddha view is at large diving operation. So in the morning when you get ready and at lunch when the morning trip comes home, and the afternoon trip is getting ready, things can be a little chaotic. However, they quickly find you, and pair you up with your divemaster and dive buddies, and the divemasters are good at keeping the personal feeling in the mist of chaos.

I had 12 dives with them during my stay, at it was a great experience.

Good point:
Mostly english speakers
A very social diveresort (people often join for a beer in the bar afterwards)
Several boats, so you sometimes have a option on where to go, at they don't have to push people with different preferences onto a compromise divesite.
Very organized once on the boat.
Nice people

Less good points:
Sometimes the groups get rather large (in my experience up to 7 people, but mostly 2-3)
Frequent changes in destination after departure (which could also be viewed as something good, since they took into account visibility on site and such)

..and one last point.... even though i saw it written several places the restaurant does not close when the BBQ stars, so it is still possible for vegetarians to get food in the evening. In top of that, the portions are large and rather cheap (60-80 bath for a pad thai).

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sune-KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    62
    36
    24
    30
See reviews for
9
77
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Where to begin in reviewing Buddha View Dive Resort? The water in the toilet, sink, and shower was brownish yellow all four days we stayed there. The bedding and towels were torn and stained. The stairs going up to our room on the 3rd floor were treacherous with no rails, especially considering the rain. The service at the front desk was less than warm. At one point, we were asked to leave, even though we had reservations for more days to make room for new guests. How does that make sense? Only the sweet man at the restaurant made our stay in the hotel worthwhile at all. I give it a miss! There are plenty of other places to stay of better quality with far superior customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked Buddha View dive resort 2 days before getting there & had my open water course included in the 5 nights accommodation.
They were very welcoming & good hosts at all times. The room we had (a double ensuite with fan) was very basic but suited us being backpackers just fine. The only thing I found a problem was no towels, sheets/covers for the bed. Although it was so hot at night it still was uncomfortable without covers.
The whole place is such a nice atmosphere to be involved in. The restaurants food is great & even has a bbq every night with fresh fish & meat.
It is the other side of the island being a lot less busy in comparison but still got a range of restaurants to go to.
We wanted to stay longer to complete a further dive course but unfortunately couldn't.

Room Tip: If your looking for something comfortable, maybe pay slightly more for an air con room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

All courses are covered, instructors are competent. Prices are good for value and multiple languages - German, French, Korean, Japanese, pick your flavor of language. Not in party district of the island, but to get to business of learning how to properly scuba at a good value then you have found your dive center.

Rooms have your bare essentials. Having to buy your own toilet paper could be a literal pain in the other hole with Thai food. The beds you can definitely feel the springs. Upgrade to their nicer rooms if you stay here for minimal cost/comfort.

Great value!! Decently sized classes when compared to Ban's Diving Resort. I would personally rent a scooter or ATV stay at a resort that has better sleeping facilities like Ban's if you want to drink and party. I did like the fact that Buddha View was closer to Shark Bay for scuba diving, which was pretty awesome. Inexperienced scooter riders then get the ATV for the winding up hill sometimes narrow ride.

Met a lot of new friends doing free dives at Buddha View, at Ban's was typical to get lost in the sea of people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

All courses are covered, instructors are competent. Prices are good for value and multiple languages - German, French, Korean, Japanese, pick your flavor of language. Not in party district of the island, but to get to business of learning how to properly scuba at a good value then you have found your dive center.

Rooms have your bare essentials. Having to buy your own toilet paper could be a literal pain in the other hole with Thai food.

Great value!! Ask for Freddie and look for his blog online. Reasonable and resembles could be the Asian Santa Claus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Arriving from the ferry the staff was there to pick us up. it is slightly out of town, so you need a motorcycle or taxi to get to town. There are two restaurants, the main restaurant was of so so quality and I can not recommend it but the place that is open for breakfast and lunch serves great food. I am a pussy when it comes to heat so had booked the deluxe room (1200 bath vs 900 for a regular one). It helped me get a good night sleep and the room was cleaned (once every two days). The place is quiet and perfectly located on the beach. I did not bother with internet as a phone SIM is 300 bath which includes internet and phone credit, offering much more flexibility.

The staff was great and helpful. if you plan to learn to dive here I can certainly recommend the place. If you want to buy gear, don't use their shop. It is pricy and they do not offer tax refund (despite the fact they say they do).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this resort while doing the PADI open water course. At first it was nice. You can take hot water/tea whenever you like (but before 7pm) and the staff is friendly. We got the accomodation included in the course. We got a normal room with a fan and a private bathroom. The bathroom was a bit dirty, and we didn't got towels or toilet paper, because that is for deluxe rooms only. The place is rather noisy, but it didn't bother us, because we had to get up early for the course anyway. You have to pay for the internet, 100 bath per 24h. The people in the restaurant were nice, but the food wasn't. We tried three different dishes, but they weren't very tasty. We wanted to extend our stay in the resort, because we were out of free nights and still had a night to go to finish the course. We couldn't stay, unless we paid 800 bath for the same room. We thought the room wasn't worth the price. Then when we left to go to the mainland again, we were told we could get a ride to the pier. We were ready to go, but were told that we couldn't ride along, unless we paid. They only offer a free ride, when you book the boat at their travelagency.

Our advise would be, stay next door. The sunshine resort is much more quiet and peacefull and way cheaper (the wifi is also free there).

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Toscana
Koh Tao Toscana
#30 of 72 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubble Bungalow
Bubble Bungalow
#41 of 72 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View Dive Resort

Property: Buddha View Dive Resort
Address: 45/1 Moo 3 | Surrthani, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Buddha View Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing