We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to dive with friendly knowledgeable guides/ staff.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buddha View Dive Resort
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to dive with friendly knowledgeable guides/ staff.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Buddha View is an awesome dive resort and they offer Padi courses in multiple languages. They do offer free accommodation with open water course or discount at nearby hotels if they are full (these accommodations are very basic with only fan and bathroom) however for a bit extra you can get a very nice suite at Buddha view also. The location is nice and is located away from the popular/ loud Sariee beach in quite spot of the island called Chalok bay (with prior booking either in Bangkok on koh san rd or other they will pick you up at the pier upon arrival) The beach is beautiful with lots of food options nearby. They have two large dive boats and also do trips to the famous Sail Rock. The best part are there knowledgeable friendly guides who Help you get gear ready, good with briefings before dives and easy to follow in the water. I have dove with Buddha view for 16 dives and brought my girlfriend to do her open water and advance course there as well. I definitely would recommend Buddha View as a dive resort to do your open water or just do some fun dives on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_boarding_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    62
    36
    25
    30
See reviews for
9
78
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just got our PADI Openwater here and stayed three nights after that we did a couple of fundives. We came here for the divecourse and got free accommodation because we booked via internet. The accommodation is very, very simple but is nicely located next to the beach and clean. They have many instructors working there so you can choose your course in many languages like Japanese, Dutch, English, Spanish and German. The instructors are very cool and helpful and try to get you your license as fast as possible, but if you need more time than that's totally okay. Every dive you go to another spot and that is refreshing. The equipment is mostly in good shape although i had some problems with a cylinder and a reg. Two other points that need improvement are the fact that you have to pay 100B!!!!! for 24 hours of Wifi (restaurants around the corner have free) and also for the 'free accommodation' there is no toilet paper (and towels but that's okay for me) provided. Come on guys what are the costs of toilet paper, it delivers so much more service when it is available when you arrive. Now I needed to go shopping before the toilet visit, no fun! So if you don't want to dive than don't stay here, if you already can because after our course we needed to seek another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Buddha View was a decent place to stay overall. The views were amazing, and the location is right on the beach, with a few cocktail bars next door to keep things interesting. Our room was clean and had a nice balcony overlooking the resort. One drawback was that the room did not have air conditioning, though the sea breeze made things managable. Overall, if you're not diving, then stay elsewhere closer to Sairee Beach, where more of the backpacker scene is located.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChronicMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My partner and I completed our Open Water Diver course at Buddha View. We did our theory online, consisting of reading the Padi e-book and completing the Knowledge Reviiews. This meant that we had the mornings off while the rest of our group was in the classroom. Our instructors, Jesper and Cecil were fantastic and made us feel safe and comfortable throughout the course. The equipment and boats were great too.

Although we did not stay at the Buddha View, I would definitely recommend diving with the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceMHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Buddha view is at large diving operation. So in the morning when you get ready and at lunch when the morning trip comes home, and the afternoon trip is getting ready, things can be a little chaotic. However, they quickly find you, and pair you up with your divemaster and dive buddies, and the divemasters are good at keeping the personal feeling in the mist of chaos.

I had 12 dives with them during my stay, at it was a great experience.

Good point:
Mostly english speakers
A very social diveresort (people often join for a beer in the bar afterwards)
Several boats, so you sometimes have a option on where to go, at they don't have to push people with different preferences onto a compromise divesite.
Very organized once on the boat.
Nice people

Less good points:
Sometimes the groups get rather large (in my experience up to 7 people, but mostly 2-3)
Frequent changes in destination after departure (which could also be viewed as something good, since they took into account visibility on site and such)

..and one last point.... even though i saw it written several places the restaurant does not close when the BBQ stars, so it is still possible for vegetarians to get food in the evening. In top of that, the portions are large and rather cheap (60-80 bath for a pad thai).

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sune-KBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Where to begin in reviewing Buddha View Dive Resort? The water in the toilet, sink, and shower was brownish yellow all four days we stayed there. The bedding and towels were torn and stained. The stairs going up to our room on the 3rd floor were treacherous with no rails, especially considering the rain. The service at the front desk was less than warm. At one point, we were asked to leave, even though we had reservations for more days to make room for new guests. How does that make sense? Only the sweet man at the restaurant made our stay in the hotel worthwhile at all. I give it a miss! There are plenty of other places to stay of better quality with far superior customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked Buddha View dive resort 2 days before getting there & had my open water course included in the 5 nights accommodation.
They were very welcoming & good hosts at all times. The room we had (a double ensuite with fan) was very basic but suited us being backpackers just fine. The only thing I found a problem was no towels, sheets/covers for the bed. Although it was so hot at night it still was uncomfortable without covers.
The whole place is such a nice atmosphere to be involved in. The restaurants food is great & even has a bbq every night with fresh fish & meat.
It is the other side of the island being a lot less busy in comparison but still got a range of restaurants to go to.
We wanted to stay longer to complete a further dive course but unfortunately couldn't.

Room Tip: If your looking for something comfortable, maybe pay slightly more for an air con room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ko Tao Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
JP Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bubble Bungalow
#49 of 77 in Koh Tao
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Beach Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View Dive Resort

Property: Buddha View Dive Resort
Address: 45/1 Moo 3 | Surrthani, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha View Dive Resort is Thailand’s premier PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC Resort and PADI Career Development Centre. With over 20 years of experience in the diving industry, Buddha View provides world-class PADI diving courses, regular and special diving trips and accommodation to suit all budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buddha View Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing