We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms, good dive guides and courses”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buddha View Dive Resort
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic rooms, good dive guides and courses”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I did my PADI Open Water Diver course there and I was very happy with the service. If you book the course online you get free accommodation for the length of the course, which is great as you save some money and you do not have to worry how to get to the resort and back. Of course the rooms are very basic but they are clean and free of charge. There are also some really nice rooms in the front of the hotel right next to the beach, but if you want one of these you of course have to pay for it. The instructors were very nice and knowledgeable, it was all very professional. The dive sites are nice and the prices for the dive courses are rather cheap, so I can definitely recommend it to everyone who wants to start diving!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    62
    36
    25
    30
See reviews for
9
78
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The worst hotel experience iv ever had! The rooms were very dirty, the pillows smelt gross, the showers looked like they had never been cleaned, the one towel I had was dirty and stained and when you ask for a clean towel they never had any as they would send them to Lombok to the Laundry. I ended up buying a new one for the few days we were there. The staff were clueless, they never new the wifi password and when they did it didn't work most of the time. The electricity goes off daily! Sometimes there was no running water in the room at all. The hot water hardly ever worked. The skinny blonde guy who runs the place is so rude and arrogant! iv never dealt with someone so unprofessional in my life!!
the worst part of the whole experience was on our last day, when they tried to scam an extra 50,000 rupiah ($5) for a lost piece of paper!!! After we checked out we returned our hire bikes with their combination locks. We had lost the piece of paper that the combination was written on but wrote it down again so they could use the lock. When we checked out the lady said it was all fine. But then later they sent a guy after us to meet us at the boat. As our boat was about to leave the island they try to stop us from leaving and called island security to demand we pay the 50,000 rupiah debt!!! (even after we had paid and extra $10 unused bike hire). We paid the $5 and got the hell out of there

Gili T is beautiful. But avoid this hotel at all costs!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank giovan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Was so excited to do our first scuba dive for the open water class. Friendly knowledgable staff who made the classroom part fun instead of boring. Roomed at the tropicana very basic, cold water shower, bed, fan, tons of mosquitoes. Things you need to know that are not put on their site. 1 you cannot use a go pro unless instructor allows it, which I was told no instructor would. They conviently sell you a video at 2000 baht that is of your whole class, most of which is getting to boat, on boat and little of the actual dive. 2 no basic rooms have mosquito nets and I would highly suggest bringing your own, no one sells them on the island either. We were eaten alive none of the sprays worked, the nets are a must. 3 the coral is dead on most spots we went..... So sad due to tsunami but be warned, most is dead. I reviewed before I went and surprisingly no one mentioned any of these. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We bought the opendiving course. With the diving course, you have free accommodation. But only the basic one! It's not clear on the webpage, and when you do the inscription and you choose an upper category room, you are not warned that the room will not be free. We did the bad experience :-/
You have a discount of only 10% …

And another thing, if you want to relax, don't go there... There is a lot of rotation of people and quite a lot of traffic due to the diving courses in the morning.
The monitors are nice, but the responsible of the hotel seems to be only interested by the money and not very nice with costumers...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabourg, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Only good thing : they are organized and they know when they have vacancy
Bad things : bathroom is disgusting with no paper towel, NO HOT WATER
no lights in the room
the heavy curtains are probably older than me and have been cleaned less times than the poultry outside.
The way to get to the rooms wasn't large enough to let our bags go through so we had to carry them.
It was kind of disgusting. I was afraid to touch the walls and seats.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Buddha View is an awesome dive resort and they offer Padi courses in multiple languages. They do offer free accommodation with open water course or discount at nearby hotels if they are full (these accommodations are very basic with only fan and bathroom) however for a bit extra you can get a very nice suite at Buddha view also. The location is nice and is located away from the popular/ loud Sariee beach in quite spot of the island called Chalok bay (with prior booking either in Bangkok on koh san rd or other they will pick you up at the pier upon arrival) The beach is beautiful with lots of food options nearby. They have two large dive boats and also do trips to the famous Sail Rock. The best part are there knowledgeable friendly guides who Help you get gear ready, good with briefings before dives and easy to follow in the water. I have dove with Buddha view for 16 dives and brought my girlfriend to do her open water and advance course there as well. I definitely would recommend Buddha View as a dive resort to do your open water or just do some fun dives on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_boarding_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just got our PADI Openwater here and stayed three nights after that we did a couple of fundives. We came here for the divecourse and got free accommodation because we booked via internet. The accommodation is very, very simple but is nicely located next to the beach and clean. They have many instructors working there so you can choose your course in many languages like Japanese, Dutch, English, Spanish and German. The instructors are very cool and helpful and try to get you your license as fast as possible, but if you need more time than that's totally okay. Every dive you go to another spot and that is refreshing. The equipment is mostly in good shape although i had some problems with a cylinder and a reg. Two other points that need improvement are the fact that you have to pay 100B!!!!! for 24 hours of Wifi (restaurants around the corner have free) and also for the 'free accommodation' there is no toilet paper (and towels but that's okay for me) provided. Come on guys what are the costs of toilet paper, it delivers so much more service when it is available when you arrive. Now I needed to go shopping before the toilet visit, no fun! So if you don't want to dive than don't stay here, if you already can because after our course we needed to seek another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubble Bungalow
Bubble Bungalow
#49 of 77 in Koh Tao
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View Dive Resort

Property: Buddha View Dive Resort
Address: 45/1 Moo 3 | Surrthani, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha View Dive Resort is Thailand’s premier PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC Resort and PADI Career Development Centre. With over 20 years of experience in the diving industry, Buddha View provides world-class PADI diving courses, regular and special diving trips and accommodation to suit all budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buddha View Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing