We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Hannes Is Amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buddha View Dive Resort
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I just returned home from a wonderful 4 days at Buddha View in Koh Tao, which is in the gulf - by the way. I would say that the lomprayah ferry from Champorn is the easiest and nicest way to go there! My instructor was italian Hannes, but everyone thought he was from Germany - what a funny trick! He grew up with a few goats but then diving got him new friends and he moved to Ko Tao. He is very funny, especially when we saw the rocks near buddha view point. Thank you to all the staff as well at Buddha!

Mark S.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank m17697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

I have been to Koh Tao numerous times and seen various dive schools but Buddha View is the one I always go back to. There is basically two reasons for that.
1) Over the years I got to know the staff working there. I like when things are done the right way and the people there do so. The instructors are very professional and always take their time. And they are always there to help you and fun to hang out with at the shop, the boat or at the restaurant for some post-diving amber fluids.
2) Location of the dive school. The shop is on the beach in Chalok Baan Kao, which is more relaxed and chilled out than e.g. Sairee. In the morning you can go to the Buddha View Cafe and have some really nice breakfast. Regarding the evening there is a daily BBQ with excellent Thai and sea food. After food, you can hang around Buddha View Bar and have some cold drinks while looking out at the ocean. All the people (also non-divers) I met there were really stoked with that.
Regarding accomodation. As always in life it depends on what you want and want to spend. You can have some basic rooms for a couple of hundred Baht (starting at 200 Baht or ap. 4 Euros for divers), but they are "basic". If you want to have something nicer, you have to pay a bit more. I myself stayed in one of their deluxe air con rooms and had no complaints. It was clean with nice furniture and bathroom, hot water, TV, etc.
In summary, I would always recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefan1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed at Buddha View the first week of July. The beach "Chalok Baan Kao" is on the southside, so more secluded from the main area of Sairee - wich we found very nice.

The Diveschool itself seems very busy, but professional, crowd is generally young and the place has a great atmosphere at night, after the busy daily diving activities are over.
To my knowledge Buddha View is the only school on Koh Tao, really doing their Open Water Course in 4 days, not 3, thats another reason, why we booked.

The instructors seem also very professional and after the diving is done, are always up for a joke.

The accomodation is allright, pretty standard from what i've seen.

Koh Tao in general seems to be a place where a lot of people "get their Padi", and the
crowd at buddha view is definitely a young one, where socialising and meeting people is as much part of the whole experience than diving.

My friend and me loved it!!!

Markus

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Definietly don't recommend this place.

They don't let the divers use snorkles since the students have lost too many of them, which is very risky and against the Padi rules.

Also the staff is incredibly rude and kick people out as soon as they have taken their certificate in order to make more money from people diving and staying.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrissySweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Just after getting our PADI with these guys and we loved every minute of it. The instructor James was excellent, professional and a really sound guy. Its a really relaxed vibe with Buddha view.

Our room was nice, wooden floors, decent air conditioning and a shower. The water pressure in the shower was weak though and it was not very hot at times.

People who were doing the PADI with us at Buddha View had a very different experience to us accommodation wise. The booked through the TAT (Tourist Authority Of Thailand) and seemed to have got screwed over. They were put into dingy rooms with no air conditioning, no clean towels and not even some toilet paper! So my advice is beware of the TAT. The actually paid more for their rooms which made no sense to us at all.

The restaurant here was nice and in the evening there was a great BBQ with fresh fish.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Moran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The atmosphere at Buddah view is great, they have a BBQ every night with fab food. The staff were all friendly and the dive courses well organised and highly enjoyable.

The bay itself is beautiful but be carefull if you decide to go in the water as when the water is not very clear it is easy to cut your feet, wearing water shoes would slove this problem.

The only problem with buddah view was the rooms and the noise at night time. We stayed in one of the delux rooms but after 4 days it still hadnt been cleaned, if you ask at reception they will happly send the cleaners round, we just thought it would have been done automatically. (remember to ask if you go!) The toilet seat was broken and electricity kept switching on and off (a problem around the whole island not just buddah view)

Overall the problems with the room did not effect our enjoyment at buddah view, the great atmosphere outweighs any negatives.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JB1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Planned a diving holiday with Buddha view and was happy I did :) The staff were really friendly. Had a great time on the advanced course, they made it lots of fun and the class size was not big. They also ran about 2 dive trips a day (with 2 dives on each) and a night dive every second night so plenty of other chances to go diving after the course. The rooms were pretty reasonably priced and nice. They have a BBQ most nights. The area is lower key than Sairee, but this suited me anyhow and there is still stuff around to do at night if you want (bars, resturants, movies...) The bay is not great for swimming but a short walk away is Shark bay where you can snorkel and may see some reef sharks around. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 50 in Koh Tao
326 reviews
2 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#40 of 50 in Koh Tao
90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#26 of 50 in Koh Tao
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View Dive Resort

Address: 45/1, Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha View Dive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha View Dive Resort is Thailand’s premier PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC Resort and PADI Career Development Centre. With over 20 years of experience in the diving industry, Buddha View provides world-class PADI diving courses, regular and special diving trips and accommodation to suit all budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buddha View Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing