We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£59
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£65
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£52
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
b0bib0y
Budva, Montenegro

Really nice Hotel/Scuba diving school in Koh Tao

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2024
Hotel is really nice and well located (10mn driving from pier, 10mn walking/2mn driving from restaurants and nightlife).
Calm atmosphere, nice view, easy shuttle to pier or town.
Strengh of the place is however the scuba diving school. Hotel has a dedicated 3.5m deep pool to practice. Not sure I could have found a better place to do my Open Water certification. Johnny was the perfect teacher. humanly and technically skilled as well as really friendly and funny. I don't see how I could have had a better trainer.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£40
  • Priceline
    £40
  • Hotels.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £55
0.7 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Priceline
£29
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Trip.com
0.6 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£101
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £120
2.2 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£100
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £125
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Priceline
    £81
2.2 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
breakfast in our room
Booking.com
£262
  • Priceline
    £200
  • Agoda.com
    £182
  • Vio.com
    £234
2.5 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
Booking.com
£77
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Agoda.com
    £71
  • Hotels.com
    £79
2.2 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£60
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £64
2.1 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Cape Shark
Booking.com
£99
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
    £124
2.2 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Booking.com
£33
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £48
  • Agoda.com
    £28
  • Expedia.com
    £48
1.0 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£41
  • Priceline
    £41
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Expedia.com
    £41
1.1 miles from The Tarna Align Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
621
144
47
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
144
47
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access room sairee beach wonderful stay an upgrade free shuttle service aligned pools hill diving pier island sunset toilet tao relaxation ferry koh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

The service at the Tarna Align resort is impeccable. They keep you in touch via Whatsapp and are incredibly welcoming and helpful.
Golf buggies take you anywhere you want to go into Sairee and then bigger vans for the pier.
They provide good amenities eg toothpaste.

We stayed in a Villa Sea View room which had absolutely stunning views and a great balcony.

It was a short trip into Sairee for walks in the day or for night time activities.

The only downside was the room.
1. It was incredibly dark with all the lights on at night with no option to have brighter lights on.
2. The bedside table is a small floating shelf next to the bed and sloped downwards so in the night things would fall off onto the floor.
3. The only way to control lighting and air con was by a panel on one side of the bed which meant if one person fell asleep the other person had to try and get out to get to the panel.
4. Beware of the glass door to the toilet- we both walked into it and bruised ourselves as it was so clean and see through. Could benefit from stickers on it to prevent this.
5. The fridge is right behind the bed and very noisy so we had to unplug it at night to sleep

Room tip: Sairee is party central for young people at night but by day is a great walkabout. Do visit The Queen’s Cabaret one night
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

Excellent hotel, staff was so friendly that helped us feel like home during our honeymoon vacation at Tarna. The girl from a front desk helped us so much and we are so appreciated: we had a scooter accident one day and she helped us to get to the hospital and was very attentive throught the whole stay. The breakfast was amazing. The hotel has a good shuttle service to Sairee beach which is helpful. We would like to thank once again for all the staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joosep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023 via mobile

Staff was friendly and helped us what every we needed. Communication with whatsapp with reception was great! Receptionist were super good customer services. Shuttle drives were friendly too and that shuttle includet to room price was nice! We also take scooter from hotel (250baht/day) because needed to go on our own schedule.

Breakfast was ok. There was chef who makes you eggs on order and coffee was good :) There was continental and Asian items in buffet. If breakfast would be little better in choices we would rate this 5/5.

Room with own pool is excellent and worth of money! Recommend to get that! When we come back to Koh Tao, we would pick same hotel again :)

Room tip: Get room with pool. Common pool is not so good.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joonashyyrylainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

We absolutely adored our stay at the Tarna Hotel. Nestled in one of their charming cabins perched high on the hill, we were treated to a jaw-dropping panoramic view. From the double doors at the end of our bed to the private balcony, the scenery was nothing short of breathtaking. The tranquillity of the hotel was a true highlight.

While the uphill walk to our cabin was quite steep, the convenient golf buggy service was a lifesaver, providing us with hassle-free transportation whenever we desired. The staff's warm and welcoming demeanor added to the overall positive experience.

Breakfast, although offering a somewhat limited selection, was still quite pleasant. However, the rooftop bar fell short of our expectations, lacking the desired atmosphere, and the artificial grass gave it a slightly tacky feel. Nonetheless, this minor detail in no way overshadowed the overall fantastic experience.

If you seek a cabin-style room with a splendid view of lush greenery and the mesmerizing ocean, complete with a balcony to soak it all in, then the Tarna Hotel is undoubtedly the place for you. It's simply stunning.

Room tip: Use the golf buggy service to avoid breaking a sweat! Lots of beautiful places to eat and drink within a 20 minute walk.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank db281281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023 via mobile

Overall we had a fantastic experience at the Tarna Align hotel. If you are wondering whether to spend a little extra money than the typical hotels in the area, I would recommend you do so as this is clearly one of the better ones on the island that won’t cost an arm and a leg.

Check in and out very smooth, they offer a shuttle service at various points throughout the day down to the beach. This is basically a requirement for a guest as the walk up and down the hill is probably a good 50 minutes (probably longer in all honesty but we never tested it) and in the 30 degree heat I guarantee you will not want to do this.

Breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious and catered to all tastes and preferences. The pool area is great and has a fully equipped bar to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

The main standing out point of this hotel is the staff. Every person we encountered at this hotel smiled and was very polite, and all were very receptive to any guests’ request, which made our stay so pleasant. WhatsApp communication is available through to the reception staff so very easy to arrange pickup to the hotel from the beach and message reception staff while in the rooms.

The only downside we had was that when we were by the pool, the pool attendant was playing music via Bluetooth when the connection was awful and stuttered every 30 seconds and wouldn’t play a song properly. I asked him at the bar if he could stop this and didn’t really understand what I said. I had to ask the reception staff afterwards to stop this in future as it was really quite irritating to listen to and ruined the ambiance by the pool so we had to listen to our earphones. This was acknowledged by the staff and they apologised profusely so all good. Don’t really understand how he wasn’t irritated by it because we didn’t listen to a song the full way through in 3 hours we sat by the pool.

Apart from this, we had an amazing time while staying at this hotel and was some of the best night’s sleeps we’ve had in a month in Thailand.

Room tip: You cannot walk to and from the beach from this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jsp977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews