We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Agoda.com
£17
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
94
135
37
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
135
37
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking street common areas noise baht fridge floorboards asia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

The Riverside Guesthouse has the 'wow' factor - it's a series of beautiful teak houses set in a wonderful garden area. The view over the river isn't brilliant but there are plenty of other things to look at on the terrace - during the day we found it a great place to relax and unwind after travelling back from Sukhothai on a rented motorbike.

The bedroom was huge and spotlessly clean. We were very impressed by the attention to detail that had been given to decorating the room - it felt very homely.

Unfortunately we didn't have the best nights sleep but that was mainly due to other guests - definitely not the owners fault - we were kept awake at first by a group of people talking till gone midnight. Normally that wouldn't bother us but they were on the terrace close to our room - to their credit, when my partner went out and asked them to keep the noise down they did. But then the 3 guests in the room above us kept us awake for most of the night. The buildings are old, traditional teak houses and the noise travels through the floorboards so we could hear one of them snoring for most of the night and we could also hear their toilet ablutions - I'm sure you get the picture! It didn't help that they were up at 6am - we could hear everything, even the zippers closing on their luggage! Then to top it all off, the kitchen staff started prepping breakfast at 6.10am - our room (no.19) was on the ground floor next to the kitchen. We gave up - got up, showered, dressed, packed and had an earlier breakfast than planned.

My partner did speak to the owner in the morning to voice our concerns - she was hugely apologetic - it really wasn't her fault and I do want to stress to all you TA''s that the owner is extremely pleasant, helpful and understanding - she even discounted our breakfast by way of an apology.

This was our second visit to Lampang (see review of Auangkham Resort) - I'm really sorry to say that if we were to revisit Lampang, which we loved, we wouldn't return to the Riverside Guesthouse. Instead we'd go back to Auangkham Resort.

I can't give the Riverside a bad score as it was in a good location, clean, facilities were very good, the honesty box for drinks was a nice touch and the owners lovely.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were lucky enough to get a room just from walking into the guest house after our overnight bus from Bangkok. Staff were very attentive and made the room up very quickly for us so that we didn't have to wait until afternoon to put our things down. Some staff not the friendliest or most welcoming; but the guest house itself is well appointed with nice rooms and a lovely decking area with good wifi.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Found Riverside though LP on a last minute decision to stop here. V glad we did. Apart from the howling dogs it was incredibly relaxing, great staff, pristine room, no fridge but did get complementary water which after a long day was really nice.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it quiet nice and relaxing. Only thing to complain about is the street noise and thin walls where you can hear your neighbours coming home late night, but nothing a set of ear plugs cant fix. Staff were very helpful with everything and outback area backed onto the river so it gave a nice view also 50m down the road was a great restaurant to eat at offering thai and western foods. Worth while staying here if your in Lampang.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Riverside guest house is a lodging, a homestay style in Lampang. The rooms are decorated based on the original houses in the northern region ("Lanna") style. The location is very convenient. Just next to the walking street area, Kongta street, which is held every Saturday night. The restaurant and shopping areas are in the walking distance.

The rooms are not luxury. They have a feel of northern atmosphere, embedded with a modern style touch. The rooms are based on the structure of the old traditional house styles. There are two typical types, with air con. or no air con. I used to stay there in both types of rooms. The room without air condition is not that bad, if you are not staying in the Summer. The temperature of Lampang is quite comfortable at night. The rooms are small, with local decorations. The bed is fine, but the pillow and blanket is not quite comfortable. The bathrooms are not luxury, quite old and small. But they are clean and sufficient.

The owners are friendly and helpful. They can speak English fluently. So, it's a plus for foreigner travelers. They provide wifi access with no additional cost. The breakfast is lovely. You have to select the breakfast choice, international or Thai style, in advance. The scenes are lovely, the breakfast tables are just next to Wang River.

The best part of this place is price. It's pretty cheap. If the bed amenities are improved, and the bathrooms' conditions are improved, it will be excellent. I think many travelers don't mind to pay a bit more for additional traveling luxury.

Room tip: Don't forget to try omelette with Thai sausage for breakfast....
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444saks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews