We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
a-fair-deal
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Lovely riverside setting

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2020
We spent three pleasant nights at the Riverside Guest House in February. We had a three-person room with a balcony overlooking the river, but at a two-person rate.

The setting was atmospheric and tranquil. Breakfasts were excellent. The owner Lorenza is very customer-service-focused and extremely helpful - she made our stay a joy.

The location is great - on a street with a number of landmark teak houses, and close to most things you'd want to see.

The only downside for us was a really really hard double bed, and this is why I give 4 stars only, as a good night's sleep is obviously crucial to any stay.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.1 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.4 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.2 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free parking
Pool
£14
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£15
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
1.1 miles from Riverside Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lampang
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
94
135
37
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
135
37
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking street common areas noise baht fridge floorboards asia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

This guesthouse is particularly pretty: the interior design is carefully chosen and reflects the owners good taste in decoration. The rooms and the public spaces are tastefully decorated in carved wood, pieces of art, china, and ponds. Every corner offers new inspiration.
The lication right by the river is quiet and beautiful. A local market is held every Saturday in the street leading to the house.
Sights are in walking distance.
The rooms offer aircon or fan, toiletries are available in the bathroom, 2 bottles of water per day are included.
The breakfast is included in the room price and can be chosen from a variety of European & Asian choices (served with coffee/tea & juice). The restaurant section is overlooking the river and offers light dishes in daytime. A fridge with sodas and beer is installed for self-service.
The proprietress speaks a couple of lsnguages and is very helpful and kind. Also the other staff is extremely kind and professional.
Everything was kept neat, tidy and clean.
I loved my stay here!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Nina_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Riverside Guest House in Lampang. Owner and daily operator was Lorenza, a cheerful Italian expat who had been in Lampang many years. She had a lovely riverfront traditional teak house property with lots of unusual decor and character. Great common area for breakfast and many unique settings for lounging by the river. Breakfast was very nice with many made to order options. We requested and received an upstairs room with a nice deck overlooking the river. The main bed, unfortunately was way too firm. It was hard as a gym mat and only suitable for wrestling or tumbling. Fortunately, this room had an alternate bed which allowed for comfortable sleep. Also, water pressure in the shower was insufficient for a great shower. I would recommend this place to a friend, but I would have to warn them about the bed.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LeftCoastSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

We arrived after a 3 day tour of the far North of Thailand and Riverside Guesthouse is a lovely oasis of calm. We had room 3 which has a lovely spacious balcony overlooking the river. The bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. There are lots of different seating areas in the garden to while away the time.

The choice at breakfast is perfect and the homemade banana and ginger jam was delicious.

There is an honesty bar in operation and it was a real pleasure to have a glass of wine and beer on the balcony watching the world go by.

Just one street back and you are in the busy area with lots of great restaurants and coffee cafes.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank barryh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at the Riverside in late October, and especially appreciated the warmth, graciousness, and assistance of Lorenza, whom I believe is the owner of this charming, character-filled property. The teak house has all sorts of fun nooks and crannies and riverside lounging, and the breakfasts were delicious. They also had a fridge and honor system were you could get snacks and homemade goodies -- very nice touch! But Lorenza really made our stay with her warm hospitality, and her tips, suggestions, and assistance coordinating restaurants, transportation, and entertainment. We loved our carriage ride around town and to the great kicak restaurant, Aroy Baht One. Our carriage driver was a wonderful man whom, we felt, treated his horse as a good friend. Lorenza blew us a kiss as we got into the taxi to leave -- that's the kind of warm hospitality you'll feel when you stay here. Thank-you for everything, Lorenza!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Service
3  Thank Nihvfduddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2019

This guesthouse is very nice located on the river, with a close walk to restaurants. Its a charming old thai house, nice to visit and with a very pleasant owner and staff, but extremely uncomfortable.
The bed and the pillows are so hard so its almost more comfortable to sleep on the floor. Your room door is locked with a padlock, very unhandy if you want to get out in the morning and your partner is still sleeping.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenthagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews