We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but good value”
Review of Asia Lampang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Asia Lampang Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Lampang
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old but good value”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Asia Lampang Hotel is a little old and dated, but we paid just under 500 baht a night for a room, which included a new air con, fridge, cable TV, free internet, breakfast, which we thought was excellent value. The room was of a decent size, clean, including dazzling white bed linen and towels. Bathroom clean but in need of upgrade. Breakfast was basic Asian style, rice soup, curry, coffee, toast and fruit. Staff friendly and helpful but little English spoken. Huge car park with 24 hour security.

Building work on the new restaurant nearly complete, with further plans to renovate or rebuild the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The exterior entry way is being upgraded, but the rooms are in dire need of renovation. They were clean and the linens were changed during our 4 night stay. Desk staff and maids were very friendly, but breakfast staff apparently hadn't had enough coffee to get motivated. Free breakfast is nothing more than what you can expect for about 4 - 600 baht per night. Rice, congie, basil chicken type dish, fruit and cardboard bread for toast. Coffee is passable. It is only a 5 -10 minute walk to Central plaza, and in the other direction to Long Jims Pizza. A farang hangout with fabulous pizza.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IslandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a single standard room (490B/day and 100B deposit) with air conditioning, a fridge (2 bottles of free water inside), a clean bathroom with hot shower (even in the midnight), a TV, and free wifi (though my guidebook said it's 50B/5hours). And even a breakfast was included. The reception guy understood basic English.
Certainly better than services you get in a guesthouse with the same range of price. Stay here when visiting Lampang.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ichiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were pleased with everything at this hotel. The service was pleasant and very helpful, and it was a little cheaper than our previous hotel, in Phetchabun, even though the cost here included breakfast. The refurbishment must have caused some inconvenience to the staff, with chunks of the building out of use and blocked off, but we never had any problems and the staff were careful to make sure that guests were inconvenienced as little as possible. We will go back to this hotel and stay there in future - we like Lampang - so long as we can find it again (even our GPS got lost, so that we had to ask the way).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy-J591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phitsanulok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have checked out several Lampang hotels and stayed at 3 different ones. All in all, Lampang does not offer as much value for your money as Chiangmai and other cities. Most Lampang hotels are at least a decade old. Unlike many other older Thai hotels this one is very clean and odor free. While the exterior looks a little worn the interior has been well maintained. The decor and furnishings are a bit dated, but it is a friendly place. There is an elevator. We had a triple room at 700 baht, including breakfast for 3. The room was very large and included a sofa sitting area. Everything worked fine,. Lots of hot water and relatively quiet air conditioning. The restaurant is currently under renovation but the spacious lobby has been converted into a dinning area. The included breakfast is a Thai style breakfast, including rice soup, rice, a stir fry, toast, coffee and fruit. I f we are in Lampang again the Asia would be my first choice, It's probably a good idea to call ahead as they are oftern full.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falangsabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The old town flavor was still there in this northern city of Thailand . We actually enjoyed it more than Chiangmai. The hotel was locally run but offered adequate service and facities for the price you paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yankchiangmai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, and when I think of Lampang, it is always Hotel Asia that comes to mind. Very convenient location, a pleasant place, and very reasonable rates.
I am always quite comfortable staying there. If only more thai
hotels in this price range were as nice...........

Kent A,, Chiang Mai

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank yankchiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lampang hotels
0.1 mi away
Khelang Nakorn Hotel
Khelang Nakorn Hotel
#15 of 28 in Lampang
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hop Inn Lampang
Hop Inn Lampang
#4 of 28 in Lampang
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coconut Hotel
The Coconut Hotel
#2 of 28 in Lampang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pin Hotel Lampang
Pin Hotel Lampang
#6 of 28 in Lampang
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
B2 Lampang
B2 Lampang
#7 of 28 in Lampang
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wienglakor Hotel
Wienglakor Hotel
#3 of 28 in Lampang
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Lampang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Lampang Hotel

Property: Asia Lampang Hotel
Address: 229 Boonyawat Rd., Lampang 52100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Lampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asia Lampang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Asia Lampang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing