We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own transportation is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lampang River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Lampang
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Do you plan to bring your own car to Lampang or already have a car and driver arranged in advance? If you choose to stay at Lampang River Lodge, you can't expect any reliable transportation, including public transport or privately-owned taxis.

The property is over 8 km from the city center so this hotel is for you if you don't want to be in the heart of Lampang and want nothing else around you. There are no reliable public transport options and the hotel staff, while sweet and friendly, have virutally no resources at their disposal to arrange for transport to and from the city center. This is not due to lack of effort-- in one instance a young staff member spent over 30 minutes trying to get us a taxi and finally resorted to calling one of his personal contacts to assist. The facility has no hotel shuttle vehicle so you are left to chance on whether or not you can get to and from the place each time you venture out. Each trip to the city center averages 400 baht each way (around $12) so bring plenty of cash for transportation.

As for the facility itself, the common grounds on the property are well-maintained and staff seem to be working throughout the day to upkeep the pleasant surroundings and landscape. The bungalow-style rooms were a bit worn and had a musty smell disguised by discenfectant. The shower stall was in desperate need of an upgrade with rusty faucets and bare-pressure shower head.

Overall the experience was not horrible but will agree with others reviewer that the rooms were way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPNY206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip to Lampang. Overall, it was pretty consistent with what other reviewers have said. This seems to be the nicest upscale option, and the setting is really peaceful and nice. But it is overpriced for what you get and very inconvenient for getting around and seeing what Lampang has to offer. In hindsight we would have preferred to stay in town even if at a more basic place. The thing to emphasize is that if you decide to stay here, you really should be aware that unless you have your own transportation already arranged OR you feel like hanging out only on the hotel premises, getting around will be a challenge that you will have to plan around.

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel is in a very pretty, green setting, small bungalow type rooms on little paths amid the trees. The grounds are well maintained, and the rooms are very clean. Beds were comfortable and air con worked fine. Shower was just OK - plenty of hot water supply, which was good, but erratic water pressure which was annoying. Overall, the rooms could use an update and the whole place just seems clean but a bit dated. The rooms have nice small porches in back to sit on although occasionally there are mosquitos. Since the doors don't have screens, you also can't leave them open which was a bit disappointing as the air cooled off at night and it would have been nice.

Did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. Breakfast was OK, buffet style, nothing special but fine. There is a pool that is a good size and seems clean enough, but not really shaped for serious swimming. The pool area is nice and pleasant for sitting and reading for an hour or two.

The hotel is off the highway about a 10 minute taxi ride from town. It's really not all that far, but the hotel management seems to have done little or nothing to try to facilitate transport options for the guests of the hotel. There is a sign at the desk that lists popular destinations and the prices for a round trip taxi. We made the mistake of thinking that this meant that the hotel would be able to actually get us a taxi. In fact the hotel staff always seemed to have a LOT of trouble getting taxis or even tuk tuks to come to the hotel. Inevitably, it took a lot of persistence and patience on our part to get them to help find solutions. They did come through eventually, but generally this seemed to consist of hunting around for friends or relatives with cars. One time we were taken into town by one of the young staff in what was clearly his personal car. It worked out OK in the end, but took a lot of time, and the hotel nevertheless always charged us the full (and not inexpensive) taxi rate whether or not we were in an actual taxi. Hopefully the people driving us around were getting a decent cut of what the hotel was taking in from us for their services. It would make a big difference if the hotel had either a few more taxi drivers on call on evenings and weekends, or some sort of shuttle service to town. It seems like a place this large could easily put in place some better transport options, but the management does not really seem to care.

The staff are the best thing about this hotel. They were always extremely courteous, friendly and clearly working hard. The grounds and cleaning staff were always busy keeping the place neat and tidy, and always ready with a smile or a greeting. The staff at breakfast were really nice and so were the front desk staff. In fact, the staff were the main reason I am even giving 3 stars to this place. They seem to be doing the best they can, but just don't seem very empowered to make the real improvements that this place could use. Basically, the hotel is benefiting, as other reviewers have noted, from lack of competition. Overall, had a nice stay but would not return to this hotel if in Lampang again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Firstly this hotel is not in Lampang, which is around 6km away

When we arrived we were told we couldn't go to Lampang due to distance, strong staff reticence and lack of cabs(!) not your typical Thai help. So we had the blandest buffet you could imagine; take a Thai dish and remove spice, sour, sweet flavourings. Leave uncovered for an hour and you're approaching the Lampang way. Served with traditional French fries.

Room was ok. Nothing special but the scenery was amazing.

The following day we went to Lampang and were bowled over. It is quiet and untouched. Do visit. Do not stay at the 'Lampang' river lodge when you do.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_David_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The things Lampang River Lodge have going for it are: Lush, beautiful,peaceful environment and very little competition.
The moment I arrived I was put at ease by the tranquil environment. I was a bit disappointed by the obvious lack of "love" the rooms/bungalows have been missing for a few years. My room spelled a bit musty and the air conditioning was right in front of the bed. So, I was either cold or hot...hate that.

The breakfast was free with a wonderful view but again, the breakfast area was worn out and tired. So was the menu.

It's too bad that someone has lost their passion for Lampang River Lodge. It has HUGE potential and I suspect could be regenerated into a spectacular stay.

Still it seems the best thing going in town. If your in Lampang for a night or two...give it a shot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akastavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was of the best trip that we had going up to the north of Thailand. The room was spacious and the food was excellent. But after the second night, you could get quite bored since there was not much to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

March 2013. Plane Suvarnabhumi to Lampang ticket at the airport 4115 bht OW. Got a songtoa 0897573933 from Lampang airport 250 bht 15 to 20 minutes to the lodge. Buffet, Thai and Farang food, that night 450 bht + lemon soda 60 bht. About 15 touring visitors that evening. Most evenings less than 5 guests. Big place, nice swimming pool by lake.
Room AC, TV, safe was good with big window shaded by big trees. I stayed several nights with a discount that cost 2380 per night including breakfast. Breakfast, Thai and Farang food, was at the river restaurant the staff showed me photos of the flooded river. The bus songtoa on the main road 25 bht to town, to the bank, it was very hot walking around. All the staff pleased that I could speak Thai and I enjoyed helping them with English. The AC worked best at cool/dry. Each evening that the tour minibuses came there was live Thai folk music which I liked very much as it was not loud and the players obviously enjoyed what they did.
The tour bus troupes were roomed away from my room they came a bit late and went early in the morning. Most of the guests liked the quietness, big shady trees, the lake and swimming pool.
There was a haze all over Thailand which could have kept the temperature down. I was the only farang on the full plane to and from Lampang. Most of the staff were naturally friendly I'd go there again. The buildings sit nicely in the environment it is very Thai in many ways but obviously has western influences. The naturalness of the lodge could be seen as tatty by some visitors it does however have character. The local shop which was down the narrow road toward the town sold the usual stuff the owner is a teacher and speaks good English. All the locals waved and said hello. Phoned the songtoa man to take me back to the airport 250 bht he was waiting for me before 07.25, so I woke him up from the front seats. = big smile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankO713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Nice bungalows in a a large garden setting outside town. The rooms are the best in Lampang, but expensive. It you negotiate directly with the hotel in advance I suspect you can find savings. We stayed here for a week. Every other day a bus load arrives for 1 night stays, eat the evening and morning buffet and leave. Every other day the hotel is in principle emply. When you are (almost) alone there they do not serve the buffets, not even for breakfast even though they should, but I suppose you can live with that. The swimming pool is very nice, so is the pond and the gardens. Staff level of English is very poor, only the manager himself is able to help you.

Room Tip: The pondside villas are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lampang hotels
5.6 mi away
Wienglakor Hotel
Wienglakor Hotel
#6 of 29 in Lampang
150 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Coconut Hotel
The Coconut Hotel
#2 of 29 in Lampang
16 reviews
4.0 mi away
Butnamtong Hotel
Butnamtong Hotel
#8 of 29 in Lampang
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hop Inn Lampang
Hop Inn Lampang
#3 of 29 in Lampang
29 reviews
5.8 mi away
A:Bizz
A:Bizz
#15 of 29 in Lampang
10 reviews
5.5 mi away
B2 Lampang
B2 Lampang
#9 of 29 in Lampang
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lampang River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampang River Lodge

Address: 330 Moo 11,Chompoo, Lampang 52000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Lampang
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lampang River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lampang River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lampang River Hotel Lampang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing