We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isaan best food in Asia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nakhon Pathom Floating Market

Nakhon Pathom Floating Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.50*
and up
Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This market is practically deserted by 8 AM.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Isaan best food in Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My Isaan:
I on YouTube :

http://www.youtube.com/user/neronek1?feature=mhee

http://www.facebook.com/neronek

http://neronek42.blog.onet.pl/
http://neronek.geoblog.pl/podroz/15204/tajlandia-isaan-2011

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Dariusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    13
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“unusual boat trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The floating market is about one hour trip from downtown Bangkok , suggest one goes early as most of the vendors selling their wares normally goes home at about 11am and arrange a tour company to take you there
It is kinder of fun, interesting and unique to visit this place for the first time , most of items sold are for tourists and mostly are sold on a boat winding down a small river way from fruits , clothing , handicrafts, spices, etc, one can even order food to eat while the elderly paddler takes you around the market’s river canal
A boat tour cost Baht 200 for a non motorized , and Baht 600 for a motor outfitted , recommend the former as it is quieter and you can to see more of the items sold at a leisure pace,
Do check it out, this was my first time visit despite been in Bangkok on numerous occasions and found the one hour drive trip and waking up early worth the effort
Regards
Leon

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank leon777SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing shopping on a floating boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I visited floating market with my wife. Actually, it was my second time to visit this market. I was still amazed how many floating boats conduct business in a narrow stream of water. Many sellers on a boat sell fruits, artifacts, paints and many more things without any problem or accidents. Prices are good but I have advise each traveler to bargain hard before buying. Even if you don't purchase, floating on a boat and looking various boats, left and right shop and colorful items is enjoyable. If you happen to be in Bangkok, don't miss this place.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank amha_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent chance to hone your haggling skills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great fun and extremly interesting. save your purchases to close to the end of the trip and you can negotiate some good purchases and it is all done with great humpour and less stress than the Cairo bazaar!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DebandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A chill out day after walking all day, just the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Better than the tourist ones I have been to before, the food was excellent

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulieandPaul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nakhon Pathom Floating Market also viewed

Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Chai Si, Nakhon Pathom Province
 
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
 

Been to Nakhon Pathom Floating Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing