We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def Not Family Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Nakhara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nong Khai
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotels nice on the outside and very new, with very basic smallish rooms with softer beds, air, refrigerator, and TVs. BUT...
1. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 12:30, although we called previously to make sure checkin was 12:00. They told us to wait 30 mins upon arriving. We couldn't wait bc our son was in bad need of nap. We got a room that was ready, but wasn't what we reserved: two twin beds?!?! Obviously as married couple wanted and reserved a queen bed, also a superior room but we received standard. We asked to change and they told us they were full although we passed several rooms on the way to our own with doors wide open and queen beds inside. V frustrated by this.
2. We were promised a "baby cot" for our 21-month old son to sleep in, however what we received was in actuality a baby bassinet that swings back and forth and is made for babies probably up to 9 months old. It was purchased from the Tesco Lotus just around the corner. There was a locking function on the bassinet however it doesn't work well as it still tipped side to side as our son's weight shifted. We overturned two chairs to prevent it from rocking but it didn't hold steady even with this. Indeed even in the middle of the night the locking mechanism came undone and was then swinging back and forth. at one point when he stood up precariously he couldve somersaulted over the top of the bassinet onto the tile floor! The vertical motion also cannot be prevented so no matter how you adjust it it will sway vertically as well. It's not safe or comfortable for a toddler at all but when we asked for a crib they didn't have one. He couldn't sleep with us as we'd been given two twin beds. All in all we had quite a sleepless weekend and it seemed the "cot" was just very uncomfortably small fir a toddler. Obviously they don't have children with their guests normally but we obviously can't stay here again for this reason. They need to have beds for children up to 3 yrs old.
3. The noise inside the hallways of the hotel is horrendous. Although waitstaff, maidstaff, and hotel staff were very friendly and amenable and quick to respond to requests, the hotel walls are paper thin and the hallways echo terribly. All afternoon the maids roll their carts up and down the halls and open and slam doors, and the sound just magnifies. They clanked glass bottles while cleaning rooms and drag furniture over the floors, and being on end of the hallway we could hear them putting things away in a storage closet. At night we could hear the people in the next room talking or perhaps their TV. Although on this point we did ask once for the maids to keep noise level down and it did seem to lessen for an hour or so from that point on.
4. The wifi network was never once available in our room, and when we tried it in the lobby we couldn't connect. The signal is weak...So do not count on having Internet avail here.
5. The breakfast is decent but just be aware there aren't western options such as yogurt, milk or muesli as at other hotels. There was cut fruit, a fresh coffeepot, and white bread for toast and several Thai options like fried rice and some soups. The waitstaff was extremely kind and gave great service. One morning when the food was almost gone and quite picked over by a couple of tour buses that had come thru previously, one waiter offered to have an omelet made for me, which was quite thoughtful and proactive on his part! The restaurant seemed nice and pretty decent in the three times we ate there.
All in all, it's not a family friendly hotel for the above stated reasons but staff was generally helpful and seemed very happy to serve.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebeccathai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel appears impressive from outside but the internal décor especially inside the rooms is not of the same standard.

I found the front desk staff to be somewhat arrogant at times, which confused me as they seemed to have a much more positive attitude towards Thai guests, even cutting off conversations with me to service Thai guests.

The standard room is 1000 baht per night going up to 2400 baht for a VIP room which to many travellers is very affordable but this is the most expensive hotel in Nong Khai and there are just as good hotels offering rooms at 500/600 baht per night so this must be a consideration.

One positive was the outdoor restaurant, had a great selection of food and drinks, live music and some great staff that spoke great English and were working extremely hard attending to the all the customers regardless of there nationality.

Personally I wont be returning to stay at the hotel but definitely will go and enjoy the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

After a 'disastrous' visit to another Nong Khai hotel on a previous weekend we have now stayed at the Royal Nakara Hotel on two occasions and found it to be exceptional. From the welcoming and helpful doorstaff to the reception desk and serving staff. Rooms have been impeccably clean and everything was spotless and just as it should have been. One evening the bar/restaurant was closed for a private function and we were shown to tables outside where we dined 'al fresco' and were entertained by a brilliant Thai solo artist who played numerous Western songs. He was loudly applauded by all in attendance. The food was excellent - so much so I ordered one dish twice.

I cannot fault this hotel and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - take one of the VIP suites at the top of the hotel, but other rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Checked into this hotel after a futile attempt at getting a refund ( non working air con / TV ) from another hotel 500 metres further on down the road = Nong Khai Hotel / Resort.
What a contrast ..... .friendly reception and a great room.Well worth losing my room money at previous hotel to stay here.
A high recommendation from me to anyone looking for a room close to Lao border..... 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here for one night recently en route from Nakhon Phanom to Phu Rua. The location is easy - if you come into town on the 212 just stay on the road towards the Friendship Bridge and it is on your left hand side.

The Hotel seems to be favoured by Thai groups en route to/from Laos, so if Thai Karaoke bothers you, ask for a room away from the restaurant.

The rooms are very nice, the bed is comfortable and there are hot showers to be had.The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was fine, unfortunately no decent coffee and there are no kettles in the room, to brew your own.

Although I had a rental car, the front desk suggested I take a tuk-tuk to the market, as parking is not so easy. The tuk-tuk cost me 50 Baht. I agree it is best to leave the car at the hotel but it isn't that far to walk - it took me 20 minutes to walk back to the hotel. Nong Khai, despite its proximity to the Mekong, isn't as hot and humid as Nakhon Phanom, so its easily walked. There are some lovely little restaurants and coffee shops on the road away from the market.

The market is relatively inexpensive, they have a lot of fakes but also dried fruit etc. There is a coffee shop along the promenade part of the market - the coffee isn't too great but it is served with a great view. They also have some nice silk shirts and skirts in this complex, as well as some very pretty but very expensive jewellery. There is also a lady selling Thai wine - I would refrain from purchasing - any wine, that has been standing outside in that heat, cannot be good anymore.

There is a large Tesco Lotus on the road to Udon Thani, about 2 kms from the hotel - should you wish to stock up on anything.

Nong Khai was a delightful little place to break a longish journey. The ride from Nakhon Phanom to Nong Khai was not all that interesting, the drive the next morning from Nong Khai to Phu Rua, was however scenically beautiful for me. I thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed at Royal Nakhara Hotel in October 2011; it had been opened 3 months at the time.
It was very clean & tidy with about 10% occupancy. I was greeted at reception by 6 staff all eager to perform their job.
The food was good; room service was efficient; bed comfortable.
In Nong Khai, there are not many options for accommodation at this standard.

Room Tip: The passing traffic can be noisy, so if you are a light sleeper, make mention so you get a room not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is located on the highway, outside the centre of town. Not in an attractive location but the hotel has an attractive design(not the usual concrete box architecture you get in small Thai towns) and nice fishponds and plants around the entrance. The hotel looks quite new and has a sparklingly clean lobby. The staff were welcoming on arrival and allowed us to check in early. There are 5 floors and fortunately they have a lift.
The room is a standard size and has a balcony (although it overlooks a derelict building and you hear traffic noise from the highway so no incentive to go out there). The decor is nice. It is quiet inside the rooms. The bathroom is compact but has a big shower , however the basin is awkwardly positioned in the corner, with the towel rack over the top of it (when you put a bath towel on it,it hangs over the tap). The bed is very hard but has excellent lighting overhead so you can read in bed and nice clean bedding. There is an LCD TV but it is very small. There are no tea/cofffee making facilities an although it is advertised on the website there is NO in-room electronic safe. We took our passports to reception but they didn't really seem to have a proper safe-deposit there either. Although they did keep them for us is a sealed bag in a locked drawer-not ideal . It would also be good to have some information in the room about the town/area which tourists would like to know.
We did not eat dinner there but had their breakfast which was average . All the food was cold and they had run out of eggs on both mornings but we eventually got more. They were slow to replenish depleted items.
The hotel is a few kms from town with nothing of interest nearby, but it was easy enough to find a tuk-tuk to take you in. One day we needed a taxi to go sightseeing and the staff were exceptionally helpful in sorting this out for us (especially when the driver decided he would ask for more money on arrival!).
Overall this hotel is a very good option in a town with limited choices. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and there is always someone around who can speak english. It could be even better if they iron out a few small bugs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
0.0 mi away
Busayarin Hotel
Busayarin Hotel
#7 of 19 in Nong Khai
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#5 of 19 in Nong Khai
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amanta Hotel Nongkhai
Amanta Hotel Nongkhai
#2 of 19 in Nong Khai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Asawann Hotel
Asawann Hotel
#11 of 19 in Nong Khai
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#4 of 19 in Nong Khai
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzeno Hotel
Tanzeno Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nong Khai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Nakhara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Nakhara Hotel

Address: 678 Saded Road, Nong Khai 43000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nong Khai
Price Range: £22 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Nakhara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s unique design is a combination of the beautiful Thai classical structure and the elegance conventional modern elements making it one of the most exclusive hotels in Nongkhai.The interiors were designed beautifully with high quality materials to further enhance your stay at Royal Nakhara. The hotel has 80 guest rooms, each with wireless internet and a cable TV. Try our Restaurant & Karaoke for Thai- International cuisine, or the bar for a relaxing nightcap. There is a massage room on site, as well as function rooms and a conference room, ideal for business meetings or weddings. The outside is surrounded with a gorgeous garden which is perfect for an afternoon tea or a laid back cocktail party after sunset. We also have closed circuit TV cameras all over the hotel facility to ensure the safety and privacy of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Nakhara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing