We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If carlsberg made hotels....”
Review of Pura Vida Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pura Vida Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked through agoda and travelled up by bus from chiang Mai, so arrived a bit disorientated after 762 bends! We enquired after a taxi in Pai and the guy at the office called Noi (hotel owner) who came right out to Pai (4+km) pick us up! That would never happened elsewhere without prior arrangement. Noi felt like a friend from the start, she gave us a refreshing drink when we arrived at beautiful Pura Vida and asked if we wanted her to order us some dinner from a local restaurant as it was getting late. Noi's husband Add joined us for a beer after dinner and they're both great people. Helped sort a moped, hire car, everything! The cabin itself was perfect, exactly like the pictures and we had the one overlooking the pond with a back drop of mountains - amazing! Water Lillys came into bloom while we were there. Air con in the cabins which was great till we acclimatised to the temp. Breakfast fantastic, plenty of choice, freshly cooked and healthy. Cleaning was also spot on. There's even a cool cat called Lion (who thinks he's a kitten) who loves kids and a fuss and is entertainment in himself! It was so lovely that we decided to stay an extra 5 days but this hotel is pretty popular so for one night we were out of luck. No problem for super-Noi! She found us another hotel and arranged a lift for us as well as looking after our bag while we were away from what was beginning to feel like home! We stayed 10 days in all and it was the perfect chill time. Noi gave us advice on where to visit etc and by the time we left I truly felt I was leaving a friend behind - it was a bit emotional to be honest. Noi if you're reading this my invitation to come to England and stay with us stands, you will always be welcome in my home as I felt in yours. If you are considering this hotel consider no longer - just do it and please treat these lovely people with the kindness and respect that they'll show you. Enjoy it, we'll be back, suwadeeka

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobytkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A getaway out of town.
A bit far away from town but the owners make up for the distance with golden local helpful tips which mad our two days trip to pie, efficient and full of local secrets. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sefi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Pura Vida - one word....WOW!
This place is so beautiful we don't want to leave, however did extend our stay. Pura Vida is found 6km or so from Pai on a lovely quiet road overlooking mountains and rice fields. The small but beautiful Pura Vida is run by Noi and her husband along with a few staff including Lion the friendly cat. There are around 9 identical huts that are beautifully made/ lovely decor/ wonderful lighting (windows all sides) and each with there own balcony touching the garden and it's nature. We have both spent hours on our balcony listening to birds and looking at the view.
The service includes breakfast and what a breakfast it is - you choose one of 4 dishes. All are very good portions. Noi makes sure you are looked after and loves to chat to guests which makes you feel part of the family.
She also sorts out any issues straight away - we wanted a scooter (which you need here ideally to explore) and that day the bike arrived for only 150bht a day.
Room tip - if the hut is available at the front over the beautiful pond I recommend as it's secluded, over looking the pond and it's wildlife - it is simply in the most beautiful of settings!
We can't stress how great this slice of heaven is - after 5 months of traveling around asia we certainly know what is good and what isn't!! This place is the best. I you love tranquility, scenery and peace with a touch of love then come here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichGill31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

When my girlfriend and I first arrived in Pai it was dark and we had flown from Koh Samui to Chiang Mai and had just driven the 140km and 762 bends with only one minor fall and a lot of baggage on our bikes. We had no idea that Pura Vida, and Noi our hostess, would be so friendly and helpful. We arrived with no bookings, just turned up and asked to stay for 10 nights, which for us was exactly how long we needed to fully explore Pai and it's surrounding countryside. Pura Vida was our third hotel in Thailand, we had just come from Koh Tao where we stayed 4 weeks in Tropicana resort, which was basic at best, dirty at worst. From there we spent one night in some cheap hotel on Koh Samui, this was a mistake and so as we were spending 10 days in Pai we decided to spend a little bit more, 800 Baht between us a night and we were so lucky we did. Our room had all the modern essentials that other hotels lack, air con with a variety of settings and modes, hot water shower (much needed in the cooler climate of Pai) a flushing toilet and breakfast included, a very worthwhile package for us! Although Pura Vida is approximately 10 mins out of Pai by motorbike this was nice as it was always peaceful, I would highly recommend that if you are staying in Pura Vida you rent some form of transport for the duration of your stay, if you do not Noi the ever helpful host will organise taxis for you, and many day trips also include pickup/drop off for free.
I would just like to thank Noi again for helping us make the most of our stay in Pai, and I would highly recommend staying here to anyone who wants to visit Pai.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JParkin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Pura Vida for 2 nights with our hosts Noi and Aad. We were picked up from our minibus depot and Aad arranged for us to hire a motor scooter from Northern Wheels which was delivered to Pura Vida before we arrived! The accomodation is bungalow style and we had to change rooms due to an aircon malfunction and both rooms were similar, clean, neat and nicely appointed. Breakfast by Noi was delicious and she was quite happy to spend some morning time chatting while we looked out over the scenery. Peaceful, relaxing and very much recommended.

Room Tip: Take care if you hire a motor scooter when in Pai. There are lots of tourists in this quirky village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pura Vida for 2 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. The location in the countryside was perfect, and the beautiful resort was a relaxing getaway from the craziness Thailand can offer. It took only 10 minutes on a bike to get to the centre of Pai, a very easy ride.

The real benefit to staying at Pura Vida are it's gracious owners Noi and Aad. Very helpful, great advice and great conversations.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dworndl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A piece of Eden in the middle of a wonderful countryside. Hosts Noi and Aad were extremely helpful and fun - they gave us a bunch of good advise where to go in Pai.
We slept like babies in the cozy and well equipped bungalows. Breakfast was included and it was tasteful. After our one month trip in Thailand, this place is the first thing to remember!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiljammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pai hotels
2.4 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
3.1 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
2.3 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#9 of 31 in Pai
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 31 in Pai
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phu Pai Art Resort
6 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Resort

Address: 65 Moo 3 | Viengnuea, Pai 58130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pai
Price Range: £19 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pura Vida Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pura Vida Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing