We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little sanctuary”
Review of Aqua Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aqua Resort
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Pai
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful little sanctuary”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and it really made our time in Pai that much better. The bungalows are surrounded by trees and birds. The insects get a little noisey at night so bring earplugs if you're not a deep sleeper, personally I liked the ambience. The owner was so genuine and kind he offered to pick us up and drop us into the town any time of the night free of charge, and dropped us into the town at 5am for our minivan transfer to Chiang Rai. The town is about 3km, so an easy 20km walk, we hired a scooter anyway so it was easy to get around.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

this is the second time I have stayed here the first was 3 years ago. Its basic and great for cutting youself off from the outside world. The rooms are minimal a bed a fan and lots of glass but at no point will you miss no tv. A short walk 20mins and your in Pai town. With Iys night markets and friendly people I have lived In Thailand 4 years now and Pai is my favourite place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_beastxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Great stay at Aqua resort, not the cheapest in the village(still very cheap for someone from UK) but good value when you see the other places on offer. Wonderful grounds and indivial cottages all with hot showers and light and airy feel. Owner Den is a lovely guy who offers free drop off and pick up from Pai if you don't want to take the 15 min walk (quite a nice walk). The staff are very nice and we were invited to join them for traditional Thai dinners on 2 occasions. Lovely place and lovely people. Curtains could do with a wash though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scook84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The owner Den, built this place from the ground up, and though he still (admittedly) has a lot of work he wants to do, this place is amazing. We came during monsoon season, so everything was lush and green, the surroundings are amazing, but the bedrooms get ever so damp due to the gap between the walls and the roof, and mosquitos are a big problem, we found ourselves never wanting to leave our mosquito nets. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, 5 star. Location is not brilliant but Den is so lovely, and everytime it rained (a lot) he offered to pick us up from town, and take us wherever we needed to go for no charge. Lovely place, lovely people!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked a bungalow for one night and ended up staying two. We really enjoyed our stay here: quiet, secluded, our bungalow had great privacy (although we walked around the grounds and found a few others who weren't so lucky).

We liked the mattress and def. needed the mosquito net. Bedding seemed clean as did the towels. Be warned though, they're washed in something that makes them feel eternally damp.

I use the term "accidentally rustic" because, it's marketed as a bit of a romantic get-away - and it is very nice but - could use a face lift. The main light fixture in our bungalow was very stained, one lamp didn't work and, our first night there, I was pooped on by a geko living somewhere in the celling. Whatever critters who live in the bathroom celling are busy little buggers - no matter how much I cleaned the brown debris that covered the bathroom, by the next day, it was back again.

We've stayed in some pretty icky places prior to this so none of the above phased us.

The owners are a very nice Thai couple and there is a pool area too that looked nice (we didn't use due to time and weather).

If you book here, rent a bicycle or moto...you COULD walk it from town, in theory, but it'd be one hell of a long walk. (I'd guess 30 mins).

The grounds are beautiful too. Lots of green plants and tropical flowers.

Room Tip: It seemed the further back you went on the property, the less privacy you got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Den, the owner is incredibly accommodating. He built every part of this gorgeous resort himself. Wonderful place. We booked one weekend and came back for a second. It is a bit from town, although accessible by motorbike easily and walk if you are up to it. Den was kind enough to take us!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katelynnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Aqua Resort is a brilliantly crafted, peacefully relaxing, and wonderfully lazy bungalow-style resort a few minutes drive from the center of Pai social life. The resort is a dream - literally. It's the creation of one man, his dream and his vision. Den, the owner, built practically everything himself, crafting each bungalow, table and hammock down to the last detail.

Bottom line, the place was beautiful - straight out of a romantic novel. The service was unbeatable - Den drove us and picked us up from town, and went as far as inviting us to join he and his friends at the resort in the evening to hangout over food and drinks.

I would highly recommend the Aqua Resort to anyone looking to relax and unwind in Pai.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquibYacoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pai hotels
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.0 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#11 of 31 in Pai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montis Resort
Montis Resort
#10 of 31 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 31 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort

Property: Aqua Resort
Address: Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Pai
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Pai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing