We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful setting, but service was disappointing relative to price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pai Treehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pai Treehouse
Ranked #33 of 165 Pai B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting, but service was disappointing relative to price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just stayed at the Pai Treehouse for two nights, with my three year old. It is a stunning setting with beautiful grounds and nice, comfortable rooms with all amenities. However, the service here is really disappointing for the price. They forgot our booking (even though a Thai person had made it directly by phone) but the place was almost empty so we got rooms without any problem. The restaurant is closed at night and, with a small child, it was rather an effort to get to town to eat. The breakfast is a simple, standard plate of toast, eggs and sausages which would be fine in a 700 baht per night place, but not for 1,500 baht per night. Our rooms were not cleaned or attended during our two day stay. On the second morning, one staff was playing very loud music and singing along right outside our room. The internet didn't work in the rooms. All of this would be pleasantly tolerable if the price was lower, but for 1,500 baht per night, they really should lift their game. The elephants wandering around were nice though. I really thought that somebody needs to just come in a sharpen the service up here and it would be a really stunning place.

Room Tip: Tree house rooms are only suitable for those fit enough to climb up the rustic stairs! Would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked two treehouses by phone, then two days before arriving in Pai we re-confirmed our booking - everything in order. We arrive and they come up with some weird story about a lady calling and cancelling the booking because her husband got sick... Wasn't that us? They had given our rooms away to someone else! They then proceeded to look uncomfortable and started looking through books, papers etc. avoiding us and looking like they hoped we would just vanish and suddenly everybody's English had gotten really bad... After waiting around and arguing with them for 45min they tell us they are going to "upgrade" us to one of their other rooms, which is fine but really the only reason we came to this hotel was to stay in the treehouses :( We were really, very dissapointed.
In the evening when we came to the restaurant to have dinner we were the only people there, up one flight of stairs they had this cool little veranda, we ask if we can have dinner up there as it looks really cosy - but the answer was no. At that point I started to really dislike this place!
Overall the rooms that we did get were nice enough, but they were not treehouses, and the staff was so unhelpful and sully. We were happy to check out early the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laerke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the treehouse room1 (the biggest of three) paid 500 baht a night not inc breakfast. The room unexpectedly had a fridge in it along with a tv, the bed was comfortable and had a mossy net. It was great fun living up a treehouse but it was just us there at the time so the shared toilet/shower was no problem to us.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and they will pick you up/drop you off too town. We ate at the restaurant once, the french toast is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Arrived in Pai and manged to get a room in the tree house which was lucky! We had a great time only staying 2 nights at the tree house. It was well positioned and the facilities exceeded expectations considering your in a tree house. The staff were friendly and a good time was had by me and our group. The atmosphere was as relaxed as the rest of Pai and which made relaxing very easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here for a night in February. We were in the smallest room in the treehouse I believe (there are 3 rooms). It is a novel experience and good fun climbing up to your treehouse. The room had a lot more ammenities than we expected - wifi, a fridge and a tv i think. The bathroom is also up in the tree and is shared between the rooms, but has just enough privacy.

It is beautifully situated by the river and there are a couple of places very nearby where you can go elephant riding (in fact the elephants walk on the grass outside the treehouse). It is not far from town but not within walking distance. I believe they have a shuttle bus but we had bikes.

Criticisms:

Some of the wooden slats in the room were broken, so we were worried about bugs coming in. There was a mosquito net though.

You're definitely not staying here for comfort - I would only recommend one or two nights.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

There are many things we did like about this resort. Its full of great ideas. And we loved the idea of a treehouse. However, on a rainy day it was really unpleasant. The treehouse rooms are very basic and small, and you have a foldable mattress. If you are used to sleeping on a hard woodfloor with just a whimsical thing, then its ok. However, you feel the wetness everywhere, and it has a somewhat dark and depressing feel to it.
They do offer discounts here during low season, and I think on a sunny day this might be fun - but on a rainy day, it is a bad deal.
The staff is very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VivaciousTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

The pai treehouse gives you the impression of a relaxing place outside Pai. To me, it wasn't.

What i missed there: Comfortable chair or armchair or maybe even a sunbed on the (nice!) terrace. There was just a very uncomfortable wooden bench. And there was no sunshade, so you were always fully exposed to the sun and the heat. It is practically impossible to use the terrace.

The "River View" Room indeed had river view. However, it was a pity that from 8am till 6pm there where heavy works with dredgers and fire clearing on the other side of the river....

However, the ultimate reason why I would never go back, is the bed / mattress. It was SO hard, it felt like sleeping on an ironing board. I never experienced this in any other hotel.

Staff however were nice and pleasing, though some of them barely spoke or understood english.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pai hotels
5.4 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 30 in Pai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
3.3 mi away
Breeze of Pai
Breeze of Pai
#13 of 165 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chang Pai  Resort
Chang Pai Resort
#46 of 164 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pai Country Hut
Pai Country Hut
#2 of 165 in Pai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Treehouse

Property: Pai Treehouse
Address: 90 Moo 2, Maeyaenpongrone Rd. | Maehee, Pai 58130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pai Treehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pai Tree House Resort Mae Hong Son is offering an amazing accommodation in Pai for your experience from a choice of the three house which from the heart of Pai Tree House, two tree houses are designed at the main supporting branches level and the third tree house is built above the main central trunk. This extraordinary tree house resort brings you closer to the Pai beautiful nature and surrounding atmosphere and offer you to sit back and relax under the cool breeze flows of the branches and leaves at an expansive terrace on the tree. Located in the quaint town of Pai, the property offers enchanting views of lowlands, tropical landscape, and the beautiful mountain. Guests can experience and indulge in the cool temperature while exploring this serene paradise. A perfect place for eco-tourists, guests can go elephant trekking or rent a bicycle to explore the surrounding areas. Pai Tree house offers comfortable accommodation, boasting traditional. Pai district is 150 kilometres from Chiangmai International Airport. and 5 minutes from Pai international airport and street road. And the resort is close by many interesting places such as hot spring, Chinese village, and even the long neck ladies village(the Kayan tribes), also there are many activities that could bring to new experiences such as riding an elephant and seeing the country side of Thailand. we're willing to service as much as we can do and hoping to see you guys soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Pai Treehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pai Treehouse Hotel Pai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing