We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money budget accommodation located in town”
Review of Charlie's House

Charlie's House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlie's House
Ranked #102 of 167 Pai B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Value for money budget accommodation located in town”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you're not fussed for staying in a bamboo hut by the river then Charlie's House will suit fine. Our double room with fan and en suite was 300 bhat per night, which was some 200 bhat cheaper than any riverside properties we enquired about. We turned up in Pai with nowhere booked and found Charlie's House less than 50 metres from the market area where the minibus dropped us. Our room could've been cleaned a bit better, with some cobwebs around the ceiling (but no big spiders!) and hanging from the fan when we turned it on, but overall the standard was good. The mosquito nets on all the windows were good. The property is conveniently right across from a 7 Eleven and is right at the outer reaches of the night market. It is also well located on the main street in town so good for accessing the afternoon market too (although Pai itself is tiny and everywhere is walkable). Staff were helpful and friendly enough, if not the most communicative. There was strong and fast WiFi in our room (fast enough for Skype video calling with a clear picture and sound). Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We chose Charlies House from Lonely Plante.

We did not reserve in advance and upon our arrival they only had the more expensive rooms.
As those were out of our budget the owner kindly let us sleep by ourselves (we were 3) in a 5 bed from at 100 baht per person. This was our cheapest stay in whole thailand, the rooms were VERY simple but clean and the guesthouse is located in the center of Pai, which means we did not have to walk far.

Definately a good option for low-budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

They offered me a double room (shared bathroom) for 150 Baht per night and i assumed this was very cheap during the peak season. Though, i moved to another guest house on the next day.

Pros:
Within 5mins walk from AYA service. Although it is on the night market street, you will not face noise disturbance and they will close the gate at night. Food stalls are just near and open quite early in the morning. some stone tables and chairs are available at outside the room and suitable for guests to hang around or may be drinks.

Cons:
The room was simple equipped but with smell. Blood stain was found on bed sheet and spider web was in most corner. Wifi did not work during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choonhong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have often looked for this place so I could tell others the tale of woe I had here but only now have I found it. I stayed here 3 years ago but feel I should mention what happened as I know it is still run by the same crooks.

It was my first visit to Thailand and I was a little wet behind the ears. I hired a motorcycle from them the first day and leaving my large back-pack in the room went for a short 1 hour drive the morning after I had checked in. In my backback right at the bottom and hidden in some dirty laundry I left my wallet with 3000 danish krona ($550) when i went to get it after coming back it was gone, I told them and they maintained no one had been in the room for about an hour, finally I blew up and pointed to the ashtray which had been full and was now empty, they then changed the story and said the cleaner had been in but, (this made me laugh) she was a hilltribe woman who had no ID so could not have changed the money, at the time I was foolish enough to think that getting the tourist police would help, when they came they just confirmed the cleaner no I.D rubbish and said nothing could be done, all the while the owner stood smirking as if to say ha-ha there is nothing you can do, I checked out with a two finger salute, 3000 kr worse of.

Avoid and tell other's to do likewise.

Room Tip: none of them are safe, they steal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davie_p78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This is a normal guesthouse, cheap for the prices of Pai. The room was basic but spacious, clean enough and with a big bathroom with hot water.
Located in the middle of the city center and run by a very nice family.
This is more than enough if you do not look for luxury.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pai hotels
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
0.0 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chang Pai  Resort
Chang Pai Resort
#63 of 179 in Pai
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#9 of 31 in Pai
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie's House

Property: Charlie's House
Address: 9 Rungsiyanon Road, Pai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Pai
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Charlie`s House Hotel Pai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing