We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bomoh
Mount Gambier, Australia

Not worth the price premium.

Review of The Quarter Pai
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2013via mobile
Western tourists have pushed up prices here to some of the highest in northern thailand. The rooms look nice but have the usual wonky plumbing and the walls and.ceiling have zero sound insulation so we are disturbed by fellow guests. Breakfast was better than the usual in thai hotels. Overall the place is just not worth twice the price of other hotels in this area. Pai itself may have been ok 30 years ago but now is approaching farang tourist hell with cheap food, burgers and motorbikes wobbling everywhere. Give this place a miss.
Date of stay: January 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £44
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £12
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
The entrance and reception area where breakfast is taken
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £109
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £19
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £20
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £12
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £30
  • Booking.com
2.3 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Safari Villa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from The Quarter Pai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pai
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
85
124
63
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
124
63
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking street short stay two nights town centre pool privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Lovely place but it looked as if they are in the process of tiling the bathroom or just forgot to do our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the shower was open aired!! The breakfast was adequate. All in all a nice place to stay for the night. Cost 2500 thb.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We rented a car from Chiang Mai and drove up to Pai intending to stay a night or two, and ended up staying for 5! We got a pretty good deal, as it was off-season (I think about 1500 THB p/nt). The hotel is really nice - decent rooms, well decorated, great bathroom, terrace etc. There is a lovely pool, which we were the only people in half the time. Breakfast was pretty average, but fine most days. Service was mostly good, but sometimes it was hard to find anyone that spoke OK English and we had to ask a few times for more shower gel etc. Having said that, we stayed 5 nights and loved it.

We looked at quite a few other places before choosing, and this was by far the best of the ones we saw.

Pai is lovely. So relaxing. We did white water rafting and pirhana fishing while we were there. Both highly recommended, depending on how active you want to be.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A great little hotel in a great little town. The Quarter is small but spot on, a great pool and spa, the rooms are small but with the open plan they don't feel cramped. I loved the kinda open bathroom, you felt you were showering in the jungle. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean, each has a little terrace. Very nice boutique feel to this place, recommended.

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jimn274
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We've stayed there for 2 nights, as part of our plan. Pai city is very very small, and the hotel is about 10 min walk from the main street. But if you wish they have a free transportation to the city and back (you just call them to pick you up). The breakfast is minimal but enough: different kind of eggs, sliced bread, vegetebles, sausage, fruits, drinks(hot & cold).
The room was amazing at first sight, spacious, looked clean, lots of space for clothes with balcony. But as we had a partly open shower, Insects could come in.. I'm very pedant about cleanliness and sterility even in Thailand so it was bothering me. But overall really nice and warm room and all the area outside: the pool is beautiful, the dining hall is a unique open space. They also have a small library and a small gallery.
Notice, the rooms are in a form of cottages so they have 2 floors, if you have a problem climbing some staircase, ask for the first floor. And also pay attention, the pass to everywhere is in open air so if it's raining (alot) you can get wet :)
We want to highlight their most personal treatment; we had tickets for transportation from Pai to Chiang rai at 5:30 am (as it's the only one for day with aya service) so we had informed a guy in the reception a day before so we could chek out and also asked for somebody to take us with the lagguge. At the morning at 5am we came to the front desk and it was dark, the only one who saw us was a bell boy who was at his night shift not speaking english. He called on the phone to the girl from the reception and after some explanation she came in 5 min from her home in her p.j's, she apologized and their took us to the station, even though she clearly didn't drive manual gear, we couldn't stop laughing!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veraissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Wanted to stay in this resort during my last stay in Pai as there are ads everywhere in the village as well the pretention to be the best in town.
We decided to make a kind of site inspection before to decide.
No greetings from the reception at our arrival and we had the clear feeling that we were disturbing them, more than 3 staff chatting between them and we waited quite for a while before one of them realised we were in the lobby...
Their english was quite limited and quite unexpected when you pretend to be the best in town and especialluy when we know Pai targets foreigner tourists.
We asked to visit a room and got the reply that it will be difficult as they are fully booked, quite more amazing when it was less than 2 weeks ago and we are in low season and can see clearly the resort was simply... empty
After insisting, we visit a twin room, not so far from the reception villa, absolutely note ready to be visited, strong mold smell, dust on the floo and full of calcium/limestone in the bathroom shower...
When we asked for the price of the room, the receptionist was not able to confirm any price and when we asked also to visit another room style, he just replied "no, no another room style"...
In front of such negative points, we decided to stay in another resort where we feel welcome..
Pity as the design is not bad at all.. however there is something wrong wiith the pool too.

In conclusionn, do not waist your time there... they do not need us!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews