We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkelling Heaven”

Blue Guru Dive Centre
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Used Blu Guru to research trip to Koh Phra Thong. Very helpful and efficient with good informative website & links.Stayed on KPT at Koh Phra Thong nature resort and snorkelled & kyakad from beach, good to be able to explore at own pace,but as Christopher at Blue Guru suggested the trip to Surin produced excellent snorkelling.
Thought about going for 3 days but didn't work on times so took the day trip. Full day but very well planned & run so we had an interesting boat trip & 3 superb snorkelling spots. Saftey was high on their list so there were longtail boats to help at the sites if we needed.
Lots of sightings we saw a 5ft reef shark someone else a whale shark & turtle. Lots of good coral and masses of fish, all in water with a good visibility.
Trip had a mix of divers & snorkellers all were catered for. Lunch was good & plenty of snacks & drinks all day.
Staff brilliant .
Most important we were taken to sites which were quiet only 1 other boat seen. We had heard tales from others that it could be busy but Blue Guru know the area & selected excellent & quiet locations.
Thanks to everyone for an excellent trip.

Thank CornwallClinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked a diving holiday with Blue Guru over Chinese New Year this spring and had an excellent experience. From the planning stage (with unlimited patience of Helen and Chris to answer all our questions), to the actual trip and the dive courses, everything went perfectly well. On top, we had an extremely pleasant time on the magic Island of Koh Phra Tong (where the dive center is located). The dive center with its outstanding crew, Ilona, Richard and Daniel (Snippy), did everything to make this one of our most memorable trips. The quality of the courses and the dedication of the instructors were outstanding. From bubble maker for our youngest, open water for our 12-year old and advanced for Dad, everybody's expectations were exceeded. Passion, fun and competence meet in a magic place - what more can you ask for?

Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We found Chris, the owner, to be very inflexible and unhelpful. He has established himself as the island spokesman, so it is very confusing when you are booking at other places on the island. We canceled a service (due to a medical emergency) well in advance and he charged us anyways because he claims he didn't see the email in time. More likely that he cancelled the service and then pocketed the money.

If you go to Koh Phra Thong, get in contact with Karen at Koh Phra Thong Nature Resort. She was very helpful!

1  Thank SalkantayTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurinBoy, General Manager at Blue Guru Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

This review does not correspond with any of Blue Guru's customer details for this season and definitely not for the month of February - the time period for which the reviewer alleges they used Blue Guru's services. Blue Guru Diving is a small operation catering to approximately 80 customers a month for a short 6 month season, so a client with such a specific set of circumstances would normally be readily identifiable and I could reply accordingly.

Consequently, on receiving such a scathing and slanderous review, I tried to identify the customer in question so that I could gain a context by which I could offer an appropriate response on TA. There was only one who vaguely fit the bill based on the reviewer's location and cancellation of a boat transfer. However, in this case they did not use any Blue Guru snorkeling or diving services, I only assisted them in an independent role by helping them book accommodation & transfers with an external provider. They did not have a medical emergency and we flexibly gave them a full refund for the cancelled transfer. They actually wanted to stay longer on Koh Phra Thong, then proceed direct to another island, so this doesn't seem like someone experiencing a "medical emergency". I did write to this particular customer to check whether they had written this review but they shared my dismay and categorically denied any TA submission relating to Blue Guru. Of course, I also wrote to the anonymous reviewer directly through the Trip Advisor message service to gain further insight into what had caused this review to be given but they did not reply.

This means that we are left completely in the dark as to why a false and slanderous review was written and by whom. As such, I have asked Trip Advisor to remove this fraudulent review but apparently it 'complies' with their submission guidelines and they have merely suggested that I tell ‘my side of the story’. Given this reported situation did NOT happen, it is hard to give my side of the story. It is sad that someone can anonymously write defamatory lies about us without justification or accountability.

All I can say is that Blue Guru is a highly professional diving business and customer service & welfare are paramount. On the rare occasions over the past 6 years that customers have had medical emergencies and needed to leave the island immediately, we have always arranged all their transportation at whatever time of day or night it was required. We have also provided staff to personally escort them to the nearest hospital in Kuraburi and ensure they are well looked after. Whether sick or well, we pride ourselves on providing a helpful service, so it is extremely upsetting that someone has posted this fictitious review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Blue Guru Divers are very professional, friendly and reasonably priced. We arranged a trip in december 2013 to Surin Islands - 8 adults and 8 children with Blue Guru Divers. only 4 of us were diving - the rest snorkeling. The brought extra staff to guide the children snorkeling, which made the trip so great. Lunch on board was great, very service minded staff and good safe diving.

Thank Trine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurinBoy, General Manager at Blue Guru Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback to let us know that you had an 'awesome' trip to the Surin Islands. I am very glad that you did.

Thanks for also noticing that we did indeed staff according to your particular group that day. Thankfully we have a large boat and low numbers for the combined snorkeling & diving day trip. This allows us to be more family friendly than many other operators as we know that children often require more space to remain comfortable throughout a full day trip.

Further, we recognise that children may require additional supervision so when we do have more families onboard then we increase our staffing levels to account for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a Surin multi day snorkel safari :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We found blue guru from searching for best snorkelling sites in Thailand and wished to combine with a relaxing time on a beach location with other travels in the Far East. We contacted Chris and everything was organised in a professional and efficient manner even as we changed our requirements.

We undertook the 3 days 2 night snorkelling trip to Surin and spent another 18 days relaxing at the Horizon beach huts, where the dive centre is now located.

The trip to Surin involves a 50 kilometre boat trip and the snorkelling trips are normally piggy backing on the dive trips. The benefit of going for 3 days is that you are transferred onto the island and are taken to the snorkelling sites by longtail boat according to tide and currents. We were escorted by Cookie and had a great time, The accommodation on Surin is predominately tents on the beach which are fine but if you need proper beds there are bungalows but you need to book these with Chris early.

The Horizon Beach resort is run by a thai couple and their relatives and was very clean and the comfortable. The bar serves fresh thai food made to order for under £4 per head however you need to remember this place is somewhat remote so sometime there is unavailability of some food and drink. If you order in advance you can also get some excellent fish dishes. The beach is wonderful here with the high tidal movement helping to change the view constantly. There are a couple of reasonable snorkelling sites around the headland and off the small islands in the bay and if available the longtail boat will take you out or use the Kayaks.
There is limited electric supply but this adds to the charm of the location.
There are a small number of alternative bars and food available within one mile walk and everyone you meet on Koh Phra Thong is friendly.

Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurinBoy, General Manager at Blue Guru Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review about Blue Guru and other services on Koh Phra Thong.

I am pleased that you consider our booking process professional and efficient. I have spent a number of seasons refining our approach to Blue Guru Tailor Made Holidays such that we discover our clients’ interests in an effective way, offer a selection of appropriate services and, through e-mail & skype correspondence, refine such services until we have bespoke solution.

Thanks also for highlighting a couple of the most important details of Surin Islands 3d2n trip. Yes. I agree going for 3+ days is the best way to do it as this allows more exploration of the snorkel sites by private longtail. Yes. The bungalows are definitely a superior option and should be booked well in advance to avoid disappointment.

With regards to the part of your review about Horizon Beach Resort on Koh Phra Thong. I would be glad to pass on your comments to Pinu, the owner of Horizon Beach Resort. Such feedback is also important to allow him to see which things he is doing well and which parts of his service require some improvement. As you correctly point out, the supply chain to our remote island can be irregular leading to shortages of certain food & drinks. I am sure he will be keen to find a solution for the future.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Guru Dive Centre also viewed

Phang Nga, Phang Nga Province
Phang Nga, Phang Nga Province
 
Phang Nga, Phang Nga Province
Phang Nga, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Blue Guru Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing