We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Lagoon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phang Nga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Lagoon
Ranked #6 of 14 Phang Nga B&B and Inns
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Above average but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good price/quality ratio but nothing special in terms of service. Rooms ok, but not the cleanest you would find. Air conditioning very noisy and leaking during our 4-night stay, however the staff wouldn't care less - not even to bring us a bucket... Very nice little garden that adds up to the hotel atmosphere, though full of rats... Quite indifferent if not rude reception staff. Food in the hotel-adjacent restaurant is excellent (and very reasonably priced - if not cheap)!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazzzarakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We rent a bungalow in that place because all other places was full.
The location is good and the bungalows are big but there very bad maintained.

The staff unfriendly, made us feel like we are not welcome like we killed them mother or something.

lol!!!!

Never had this experience in Thailand before.

I think is not the place someone wanna be in his vacations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedorian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was probably an excellent place 5 years ago. Now it is a little tired, bathrooms are aging. Most important, the managers seem unhappy with life in general, and guests in particular. However, the related Happy Lagoon Travel service is excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaDil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trincomalee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stay here when I am in Khao Lak, the location is excellent for the beach and the main road and a great place to build up to a trip on the Similan's and to get your land legs back afterwards.
The rooms are surprisingly big and well maintained. Cleaned daily and everything was replenished. The staff are generally smiling and helpful. Free wifi....although to varying strengths depending on where your room is. I took a fan room, huge double bed, shower room and another small room and paid on 500baht......bargain. And the banana shakes are delicious :o)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john-o-bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. Moved because the first room had a very strong urine smell. The rooms are good value and very clean. Location is excellent. Breakfast is good. Unfortunately the staff in my experience was unfriendly, probably not very used to work in hospitality profession.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Located three minutes from the beach, and three minutes to the main road, this was a great find! We paid 1000 Baht per night (new years high season) which at the time was 25 Euros, which for us was 12.50 each. Our bungalow had a double bed, refrigerator, air conditioning, safe and balcony. The gardens were nice and well maintained. The staff was friendly enough. The restaurant was just ok - we usually just ate breakfast there and used the free internet - which worked in the restaurant but not in the rooms.

We were very happy with the price / comfort ratio.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Room was excellent and cheap. 500 thb for a nicely furnished double. Howevere the manager and staff just couldn't care less. Wrong breakfasts delivered, not interested in changeing it and then charged the extra for what they'd brought. Extremely rude all round. Another couple also booked out that morning due to the attitude. Maybe they were trying to close down so that the staff could be laid off for the quiet months ahead!

Room Tip: Be wary and be clear. Double check everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phang Nga
0.0 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#43 of 66 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krathom Khaolak Resort
Krathom Khaolak Resort
#63 of 66 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leaf Oceanside
The Leaf Oceanside
#2 of 7 in Khuk Khak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Bungalows
Poseidon Bungalows
#6 of 59 in Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Phang Nga Guesthouse
Home Phang Nga Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Phang Nga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Lagoon

Property: Happy Lagoon
Address: 13/3 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takuapa, Phang Nga 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Phang Nga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Phang Nga
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing