We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Hotels.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Agoda.com
US$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
ZenHotels.com
PricelineUS$21
TravelocityUS$66
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
2
24
23
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
24
23
14
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I've slept on several hotels/guesthouses all over the world! This was the most dissapointed one till now and i've seen a lot. I'm not that picky!
First i had to laugh about the room, but then;

-no hot water from the shower
-blood on the fridge (mini bar)
-the airco was more like a heater
-all beds in Thailand were not that comfortable, but this was the worst! It was very hard, if you were sleeping on the ground.
-The hotel was almost empty (like a ghost hotel (that was the nicest part)
-The staff hardly speak English

We asked if they could do something about the hot water. The only thing she said was : there working on it.... Both nights no hot water.

At 1 o'clock in the night, i was through with it, and went downstairs to the reception. They gave us a better room with airco, but also without hot water. The bed was a bit better and we had lot of furniture :D

It's better to stay in a guesthouse!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tilliedwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here as we had been recommended the train as a means of getting up to the ruins of Sukhothai from Bangkok and the nearest town on the train line is Phitsanulok. We did some research into hotel options in the town and we came to the conclusion that we would have to 'rough it' for the two nights we were here. And rough it we did: yellowing and stained (and not clean) headboard, slightly stained (though clean) sheets, badly stained and worn towels, a thin film of dust everywhere, not enough electric points and 'old style', a general 'falling apart' feel to the place... staff often uncommunicative, lift doors with no sensor (just make sure you don't get stuck in them, very painful). Everything is old, out-dated, there is the idea of a past era of glory which is long gone. Catering for tourists arriving in bus loads and leaving early the next day (therefore breakfast and check-out horribly chaotic). They gave us a room with twin beds when we had requested a double, so they had to change it - not a problem as they had lots of empty rooms, just incompentence. There was no in-room safe (which there should have been), we didn't see the pool, no internet access, we had the impression that the door service was only for tips, only Thai TV channels, the shower was over the bath (but at least it drained!) The man at reception was helpful and the laundry service was cheap and efficient, so there were some plus points. I would say if you need to stay in Phitsanulok you'll probably find this is the best value for money, but if you're here to see Sukhothai I would advise against the train/Phitsanulok part. Thai trains are simply a waste of time. Dirty, uncomfortable long journeys where you have no choice regarding 1st/2nd/3rd class - they run according to the time of day. ie, first class at night, 2nd class in the afternoon, 3rd class in the morning. As a result we had to travel third class - it was practically free as we paid the equivalent of 72 cents for the two of us to travel for hours but it really was hours - 11 hours of no air-conditioning, black dust flying through the air, no usable toilet... We met others who'd taken the bus up from Bangkok, which, as long as you travel in the daytime is a great option. Clean, safe, reliable, cheap, air-conditioned, civilised and still full of Thais so not just for Western tourists, and, most importantly, will take you directly to Sukhothai where you can find infinitely better accommodation than in Phitsanulok and be so much closer to the absolutely fantastic historical park of Sukhothai. All round a much better option!

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank English-italiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I stayed at the Pailyn Phitsanulok for a few days in December 2010 during my travels across Thailand. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and thought the staff were just lovely. The hotel is within walking distance of the Nan River, myriad of food stalls and Phitsanulok markets. A very pleasant experience indeed.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki_richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2010

This hotel cost us £25 for a night (breakfast included) via Agodo and for the price I have absolutely nothing to complain about. The building is a bit of a concrete monstrosity and a bit tired inside but our room was large and clean with tv and minibar. The bathroom was clean and functional - quite frankly, to complain at this price would be churlish.

The hotel is withing 15-20 minutes walk of the nightmarket and 15-20 walk to the Wat Phra Si Ratana Temple, Phitsanolok's main tourist attraction so is quite well situated.

We had a fun evening people spotting in the bar drinking not particularly authentic (but cheap) cocktails watching a German tour party doing the Twist, a sales rep reward do and the tourist Tuk Tuk convoys going passed the window - it had a bit of Twin Peaks feel but was highly amusing.

The staff were enthusiastic and pleasant, we were offered free parking without asking and half the staff came out to stop the traffic to allow us to exit the hotel's parking. The breakfast was uninspiring but plentiful. The only downside was that the guy in the room next to us left his tv on all night (we had an adjoining door) but it was the fiery tom yum goong that we had at a riverside restaurant that caused me sleeplessness rather than the tv.

If you have an open mind and an appreciation of value I would recommend both this hotel and Phitsanulok - it is off the beaten tourist track and the people seem to appreciate travelers that actually take the time to look around the town. A leisurely visit to Wat Phra Si Ratana is recommended to really take in the madness surrounding the temple - mostly from Thai tourists.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Date of stay: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews