We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Pagodas Pass

Three Pagodas Pass
Book In Advance
US$110.00*
and up
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,713 reviews
779 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 865 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

From the previous reviews, it's obvious that many people expect too much from the Three Pagodas Pass. Yes, the pagodas are small; yes, there are the usual collection of tourist shops and restaurants; yes, there are a few hawkers out to make a baht or two. But, the border environment (with all the dubious cross-border trade and activity) is fun to observe, there are always amusing photo opts straddling the border, and the area is beautiful. And, who knows, if you're not careful, you might even learn a bit of history. If you're into wood products, the border shops can set you up with anything from beautiful small boxes to huge tables with solid tops made of slabs of teak a meter and a half wide and 4 meters long.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    39
    48
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Three pimples more like it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well, I guess if you have come as far as Sangkhlaburi, you *have* to go that little bit further to Three Pagodas Pass.

The name evokes mystery; the reality evokes disappointment. Three very small, desultory cement/plaster pagodas in a grassy space surrounded by nondescript stalls. Right at the border and you can take your photo beneath a sign announcing the Union of Myanmar in English and Burmese script, and another to see if you are taller than the pagodas, and that is about it. Best thing was the pans of mouldering black steer heads melting away in a sulphurous looking black liquid - sold in bottles at 100/200 Baht each. Some sort of muscle linament I was told.

But once again, if you are as far as Sangkhlaburi it would be a shame not to go the extra 20 kms or so to this spot, even if just to see the melting cattle heads!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryWhite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too small”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you have only a short period in Sangkhlaburi, I would suggest to skip this place. This place is not much interesting. Only small three pagodas there. Disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jum_ruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I found the 3 pagodas to be a little disappointing they were much smaller than I had imagined, and looked as if they had maybe been cleaned up/ restored which took away from them a little.
Lots of tacky souvenir shops too.
We tried to cross over into Burma, even though we knew we weren't allowed and of course we didn't get across.
Still if you are in Sangkhlaburi (which is beautiful) then it is worth the trip.
Plus if you get a motorbike taxi there that is a really fun (if scary) experience as the area is so hilly and they drive very fast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do NOT go there in Songkran festival, ladies.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

For female travelers who didn't have your own car, Burmish guys out there won't let you come back to Thailand without powder.

Me and my friend are both girls, we went to the border from Sangkla Buri by a green minibus. First minute there and the officer warn us not to risk ourselves walk-in there. The xerox girl who came from Myanmar told us that their hands WON'T just touch you at your cheeks, if you know what I mean.

And they still use colored water playing Songkran, so don't wear white shirt and don't bring your oldies there unless you have a car. Save your trip for next season, please. :-)

The coffee shop there was nice, though.

Note : Border fee 30 Baht.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rujrawee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Pagodas Pass also viewed

Sangkhla Buri, Kanchanaburi Province
Sangkhla Buri, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Sangkhla Buri, Kanchanaburi Province
Sangkhla Buri, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Three Pagodas Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing