We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old City Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 50 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a great price”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The location of this guesthouse is just perfect. Right next to the UNESCO heritage park, near some nice restaurants and the market.
The room was good enough. Our bathroom door had a small problem with the lock. But the owner pointed at that problem, and I agreed that it was fine for us for that night. It was a private bathroom.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pgosliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
48
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We only stayed here for one night and chose this hotel because of the proximity to the ruins. The location is perfect! Next door you can hire some bikes and the entrance of the parc is right across the street. Couldn't be better.
We had a room with aircon. Very nice room, spacious enough, nice bathroom. Nothing to complain about, except that the walls are extremely thin, so you can basically hear everything. But we were quite content with the room.
BUT.... The owner is something else. We arrived there in the morning and asked for a free room. He pretended we didn't exist and kept watching the tv. When we asked again, he let out a groan and finally turned to us. He said there were some rooms available and asked which one we wanted. We just wanted to know which one were available, but suddenly (probably because we asked to much questions) he said there weren't any free rooms for us. We were quite shocked because never, never had we been treated like that! My boyfriend became a bit angry and asked what his problem was; the only thing we wanted was a place to sleep. Reluctantly he finally gave us a room.
A good place to stay, cheap, nice rooms, close to the parc, but just watch out for the owner's temper. Also if you are afraid of dogs, you might want to avoid this place. He has a lot of them walking around freely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We opted for the cheapest rooms, double bed with fan and shared bathroom. The room was the tiniest I've seen in a hostel but we figured it would be fine for just one night. After paying we noticed there were holes in the sheets, dirty pillows (pillow cases were clean though) and massive spiders in 2 of the 4 ceiling corners as well as mice droppings. The shared bathroom also had a stray dog lounging in it all afternoon. 200 baht should have gotten me a lot more. At least the location is perfect. Follow others advice and opt for the higher priced rooms!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitforbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Having looked online and tried to book some of the more expensive places in Sukhothai, I was not disappointed by this less popular guesthouse. The service is a little slow, but lets face it, it's stinky hot, who wouldn't be snail paced!

The guesthouse is in a perfect location to hire bikes and visit the ruins, without having to cycle kilometres down the main road. The rooms are basic, but spacious and clean with an amazing shower - great power. All in all well worth the price. If you're travelling on a budget this is the place to stay. It's near to the main restaurants too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I really liked this hotel so it was a shame we only needed to stay one night. We paid 250B for a nice big double room (fan) with attached bathroom which was the biggest, nicest bathroom I've seen in a Thai hostel yet. (Room #7). The shower was really nice and everything was clean. Strong WiFi signal even though we were towards the back of the property. The only thing I didn't like was the fan is one of those rotating deals on the ceiling so you can't have constant air. Very convenient location as the historical park is just across the street. Many cheap and tasty restaurants very nearby as well.

Room Tip: Room #7 is great if you don't need a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

There are many trains of thoughts when it comes to where to stay when visiting Sukhothai. The Old City is tiny, the new is a bit bland, and Phitsanulok (one hour away) has the Buddha and the food. We chose Old City Guesthouse in the Old City because of its proximity to the ruins. At 300B per night, our private room had a large bathroom but no AC (rooms with AC cost 100B more per night but weren't available). The major ruins were a 3 minute bike ride away, which meant we didn't need to deal with the ordeal of getting a bus from New Sukhothai. We think it was worth it.

Also, if you get there on a Saturday, the ruins are all lit up and you can walk there from the guesthouse. Some photos and info here: http://erohisms.com/thailand-in-ruins-ayutthaya-and-sukhothai/

You can also get a bus directly to Chiang Mai right outside the guesthouse, so no need to trek back to the bus station.

Room Tip: If you can get an AC room, do it. It was soooo hot, and the fan just didn't cut it.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob and Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
470 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I arrived late in the evening without a booking and managed to get a very spacious room en-suite for 400B (Room number 6). It came with a TV with Thai Channels, Air-Condition, toilet and hot shower in perfect running condition. In opposite to some of the previous write-ups I also had a strong Wifi signal inside the room in both nights that I stayed there and there were NO Bed Bugs or mosquitoes too (outside there were, however you would find them everywhere in a tropical country)!
The staff of the place had quite different characters. The guy on the first evening didn’t even look at me, when I greeted him; he just passed me the pricelist for the rooms without any comment, which I found very rude and unfriendly. When I asked to have a look at two or three rooms he just laughed... but finally took some of the keys to show me the rooms. The next day there was a lady and another guy, they didn’t speak much English but both of them were friendly, smiling and helpful.
The location is perfect as the guest house is situated very close to Sukhothai Historical Park. So you can enter the park really early in the morning before it gets crowded and bigger tour groups arrive by bus. You need to pay an entrance fee of 100B per adult & 10B per bicycle. Audio guides are available for 150B, which will help you to learn more about the history of the ancient capital and all the Wats in the area.
I would highly recommend rent a bicycle (30B per day) to make your way around the site since the ruins are quite spread out and it’s just a fun experience. One of the highlights of the central part is the Wat Mahamat which was really beautiful in the light of the morning sun – don’t forget your camera! (-:

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.0 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sila Resort
Sila Resort
#12 of 50 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Thai Sukhothai Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tawan Sukhothai Guesthouse by Thai Thai
0.0 mi away
Orchid Hibiscus Guest House
Orchid Hibiscus Guest House
#15 of 50 in Sukhothai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Guesthouse

Property: Old City Guesthouse
Address: 28/7 moo 3, Tmuang kao, Sukhothai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old City Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Old City Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old City Guesthouse Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing